Ilf fort wayneinnovation

1,194 views

Published on

Published in: Education
0 Comments
1 Like
Statistics
Notes
  • Be the first to comment

No Downloads
Views
Total views
1,194
On SlideShare
0
From Embeds
0
Number of Embeds
525
Actions
Shares
0
Downloads
6
Comments
0
Likes
1
Embeds 0
No embeds

No notes for slide

Ilf fort wayneinnovation

  1. 1. SpottingTrends andOpportunities:Innovationin an Ageof Limits
  2. 2. Stephen Abram, MLSIndiana Library FederationFort Wayne, INNov. 15, 2011
  3. 3. News FlashNews FlashTech Shift HappensPeople Shift Follows
  4. 4. What has changed academically?• Recognize key shifts:1. Library at the center of academic settings – NOT.2. Serials versus Books3. Non-fiction versus fiction4. Teens versus the rest5. Administration and Faculty Shift6. Discipline versus inter-disciplinary7. Technology as a tool, not the goal
  5. 5. Focus on the Shifts And Innovate THERE Incremental improvements of pastsuccesses and platforms will not get us to where we need to be
  6. 6. Sensemaking
  7. 7. Grocery Stores
  8. 8. Grocery Stores
  9. 9. Grocery Stores
  10. 10. Cookbooks, Chefs . . .
  11. 11. Cookbooks, Chefs . . .
  12. 12. Meals
  13. 13. The newbibliography and collection development KNOWLEDGE PORTALS KNOWLEDGE, LEARNING, INFORMATION & RESEARCH COMMONS
  14. 14. You have the tools.
  15. 15. Stop Making it so Hard!
  16. 16. Trans-Literacy: Measure the Impact(s) Reading literacy  News literacy Numeracy  Technology literacy Critical literacy  Information literacy Social literacy  Media literacy Computer literacy  Adaptive literacy Web literacy  Research literacy Content literacy  Academic literacy Written literacy  Reputation, Etc.
  17. 17. List of content farms and general spammy user generated content sites: All Experts (allexperts.com)  Experts Exchange (experts-exchange.com) Answers (answers.com)  eZine Articles (ezinearticles.com) Answer Bag (answerbag.com)  Find Articles (findarticles.com) Articles Base (articlesbase.com)  FixYa (fixya.com Helium (helium.com) Ask (ask.com)  Hub Pages (hubpages.com) Associated Content (associatedcontent.com)  InfoBarrel (infobarrel.com) BizRate (bizrate.com)  Livestrong (livestrong.com) Buzle (buzzle.com)  Mahalo (mahalo.com) Brothersoft (brothersoft.com)  Mail Archive (mail-archive.com) Bytes (bytes.com) ChaCha (chacha.com)  Question Hub (questionhub.com) eFreedom (efreedom.com)  Squidoo (squidoo.com) eHow (ehow.com)  Suite101 (suite101.com) Essortment (essortment.com)  Twenga (twenga.com) Examiner (examiner.com)  WiseGeek (wisegeek.com) Expert Village (expertvillage.com)  Wonder How To (wonderhowto.com)  Yahoo! Answers (answers.yahoo.com)  Xomba (xomba.com)
  18. 18. The nasty facts about Google & Bing andconsumer search: SEO / SMO Content FarmsAdvertiser-driven Geotagging
  19. 19. StrategicAnalytics
  20. 20. What We Never Really Knew Before (US/Canada) 27% of our users are under 18. 59% are female. We often 29% are college students. believe a lot 5% are professors and 6% are teachers.isn’t that true. On any given day, 35% of our users are there for the very first time! Only 29% found the databases via the library website. 59% found what they were looking for on their first search. 72% trusted our content more than Google. But, 81% still use Google.
  21. 21. 2010 Eduventures Research on Investments 58% of instructors believe that technology in courses positively impacts student engagement. 71% of instructors that rated student engagement levels as “high” as a result of using technology in courses. 71% of students who are employed full-time and 77% of students who are employed part-time prefer more technology-based tools in the classroom. 79% of instructors and 86 percent of students have seen the average level of engagement improve over the last year as they have increased their use of digital educational tools. 87% of students believe online libraries and databases have had the most significant impact on their overall learning. 62% identify blogs, wikis, and other online authoring tools while 59% identify YouTube and recorded lectures. E-books and e-textbooks impact overall learning among 50% of students surveyed, while 42% of students identify online portals. 44% of instructors believe that online libraries and databases will have the greatest impact on student engagement. 32% of instructors identify e-textbooks and 30% identify interactive homework solutions as having the potential to improve engagement and learning outcomes. (e-readers was 11%) 49% of students believe that online libraries and databases will have the greatest impact on student engagement. Students are more optimistic about the potential for technology.
  22. 22. What do we need to know? How do library databases and virtual services compare with other web experiences? Who are our core virtual users? Are there gaps? Does learning happen? How about discovery? What are user expectations for true satisfaction? How does library search compare to consumer search like Google and retail or government? How do people find and connect with library virtual services? Are end users being successful in their POV? Are they happy? Will they come back? Tell a friend?
  23. 23. Take backtheStrategy:Rebalance
  24. 24. Summary Focus on the Questions (Needs, CRM) Build or Buy Knowledge Portals (Meals) Emphasize Content Quality (not books) Expand Programs on Information Literacy Become Truly Format Agnostic Invest in Strategic Analytics – Measurements of Impact, ROI and Value Be Lesson-centric
  25. 25. A Third Path
  26. 26. Emboldened Librarians hold the key
  27. 27. Stephen Abram, MLS, FSLAVP strategic partnerships and markets Cengage Learning (Gale) Cel: 416-669-4855 stephen.abram@cengage.com Stephen’s Lighthouse Blog http://stephenslighthouse.com Facebook: Stephen Abram LinkedIn / Plaxo: Stephen Abram Twitter: sabram SlideShare: StephenAbram1

×