Erickson’S 8 Stages Of Development Fixed


Published on

Erickson's 8 Stages of Development Powerpoint

Published in: Education, Technology
1 Comment
No Downloads
Total views
On SlideShare
From Embeds
Number of Embeds
Embeds 0
No embeds

No notes for slide

Erickson’S 8 Stages Of Development Fixed

  1. 1. Erickson’s 8 Stages of Development<br />by Danielle Stefanic<br />
  2. 2. This lesson discusses the 8 stages of development psychologist Erik Erickson studied and developed.<br />Introduction<br />
  3. 3. Erickson was born in Frankfurt, Germany on June 15, 1902.<br />Erickson’s father abandoned his mother before he was born.<br />Erickson’s mother then married Dr. Theodor Homberger, who was Erickson’s doctor.<br />When Erickson graduated high school, he wandered the streets of London, hoping to become an artist.<br />When he was 25, one of his friends suggested he apply for a teaching position at an American school that was run by Dorothy Burlingham. <br />It was here that Erickson began learning about pshychology.<br />A Little About Erickson…<br />
  4. 4. While he worked at this schoo, Erickson was psychoanalyzed by Anna Freud.<br />He then met his wife here and had three children with her.<br />Because of the Nazi’s coming into power, Erickson and his family were forced to leave Vienna and they went to Copenhagen. <br />After that move, they left for Boston and Erickson was offered a job at Harvard Medical School. <br />Background continued<br />
  5. 5. Erickson began practicing child psychoanalysis.<br />Erickson then moved onto teaching at Yale.<br />After his time at Yale he began teaching at University of California Berkeley. <br />It was while he was at Berkeley that he did his studies that are now famous.<br />Erickson died in 1994.<br />Background continued<br />
  6. 6. Infant (birth – 18 mos)<br /><ul><li>At this stage, an infant develops their sense of trust. With proper care and attention, the child will be able to trust. However, if this does not happen, it leads to mistrust in the child’s life.
  7. 7. Important events: Feeding
  8. 8. Basic conflict: Trust vs. Mistrust</li></ul>Erickson’s First Stage<br />
  9. 9. Early Childhood (2 – 3 years)<br /><ul><li>Child needs to develop a certain level of independence through exploration.
  10. 10. Important Events: Toilet training
  11. 11. Basic Conflict: Autonomy vs. Shame and Doubt</li></ul>Erickson’s Second Stage<br />
  12. 12. Preschool (3 – 5 years)<br /><ul><li>A sense of control and power is important in a child’s life at this stage. They feel a sense of purpose if they succeed in this.
  13. 13. Important Events: Exploration
  14. 14. Basic Conflict: Initiative vs. Guilt</li></ul>Erickson’s Third Stage<br />
  15. 15. School Age (6 – 11 years)<br /><ul><li>Children are forced to cope with school and other social demands.
  16. 16. Important Events: School
  17. 17. Basic Conflict: Industry vs. Inferiority</li></ul>Erickson’s Fourth Stage<br />
  18. 18. Adolescence (12 – 18 years)<br /><ul><li>Teens develop a sense of self. If they accomplish this, they can stay true to themselves and what they believe.
  19. 19. Important Events: Social Relationships
  20. 20. Basic Conflict: Identity vs. Role Confusion</li></ul>Erickson’s Fifth Stage<br />
  21. 21. Young Adulthood (19 – 40 years)<br /><ul><li>Intimate, loving relationships need to form in this stage. If this fails to happen, people feel alone and isolated.
  22. 22. Important Events: Relationships
  23. 23. Basic Conflict: Intimacy vs. Isolation</li></ul>Erickson’s Sixth Stage<br />
  24. 24. Middle Adulthood (40 – 65 years)<br /><ul><li>Adults need to create things that they can nurture that will outlast them; generally, children. If they do not accomplish this, they will feel as though they did nothing good for the world.
  25. 25. Important Events: Work and Parenthood
  26. 26. Basic Conflict: Generativity vs. Stagnation</li></ul>Erickson’s Seventh Stage<br />
  27. 27. Maturity (65 – death)<br /><ul><li>Adults look back onto their life and need to be able to feel fulfilled. If they do not feel this, they will feel bitter and defeated.
  28. 28. Important Events: Reflection on Life
  29. 29. Basic Conflict: Ego Integrity vs. Despair</li></ul>Erickson’s Eighth Stage<br />
  30. 30.<br /> Dr. George C. Boeree, 2006<br />Citations<br />