SlideShare a Scribd company logo
SEO Summit
2015
I’m Sam Nam
VP Marketing at Digital Room Inc.
@samnamiam | samnamiam.com
Hello!
Efficient SEO
How to be an
Not Intelligent
Industrious
Industrious Lazy
IntelligentNotIntelligent
Intelligent
Industrious
Not Intelligent
Lazy
Intelligent
Lazy
Give me six hours
to chop down a
tree and I will
spend the first
four sharpening
the axe.
- Abraham Lincoln
A sharp axe means less
work… makes sense.
A sharp axe means less
work… makes sense.
But How does this relate
to SEO?
Not All Ranking Factors
are Created Equal
Not All Ranking Factors
are Created Equal
Probably MORE important
Probably LESS Important
Not All Keywords are
Created Equal
Not All Keywords are
Created Equal
MORE Valuable
LESS Valuable
High Value = Sharp Axe
Low Value = Dull Axe
Bite-Sized Projects
Break Opportunities Into
1. Rough idea of how long it will take
Bite-Sized Projects
Break Opportunities Into
Bite-Sized Projects
Break Opportunities Into
1. Rough idea of how long it will take
2. Generate results independent of other
projects
Investment and Return
How To Quantify
Investment and Return
How To Quantify
Investment
= [man hours x rate] + Misc. Expenses
Investment and Return
How To Quantify
Investment
= [man hours x rate] + Misc. Expenses
Return
= increase traffic x per visit value ($)
Low-Hanging Fruit
Calculate ROI to Identify
Simple ROI Formula
Opportunity Type Description
Days of
Labor
Daily Rate
Labor
Investment
Misc.
Investment
Total
Investment
Est. 6x Month
Return
ROI
Striking Distance
Keyword Group
brochure printing (avg postion 20)
brochure printing services (avg position 21)
print brochures online (avg position 24)
print brochures (avg position 14)
printing brochures (avg position 9.3)
5 $80 $400 $150 $550 $6,700 1118%
Striking Distance
Keyword Group
cheap stickers (avg position 9.8)
cheap sticker printing (avg position 13)
5 $80 $400 $50 $450 $4,800 967%
Site Wide
Improvement
Implement SSL security across domain 10 $80 $800 $500 $1,300 $12,800 885%
Keyword Expansion
Group
canvas prints
canvas printiin
30 $80 $2,400 $1,000 $3,400 $10,000 194%
Stack Rank in Excel by ROI
Ordered by ROI Greatest to Least
Days of
Labor
Daily Rate
Labor
Investment
Misc.
Investment
Total
Investment
Est. 6x Month
Return
ROI
5 $80 $400 $150 $550 $6,700 1118%
5 $80 $400 $50 $450 $4,800 967%
10 $80 $800 $500 $1,300 $12,800 885%
Calculate ROI in Excel
Days of
Labor
Daily Rate
Labor
Investment
Misc.
Investment
Total
Investment
Est. 6x Month
Return
ROI
5 $80 $400 $150 $550 $6,700 1118%
5 $80 $400 $50 $450 $4,800 967%
10 $80 $800 $500 $1,300 $12,800 885%
Calculate ROI in Excel
x
x
x
=
=
=
=
=
=
+
+
+
Consistent Growth
Schedule Projects for
Little Projects With Short Term Impact Generate Tangible
Results to Satisfy Clients and Business Stakeholders
Week1
Week2
Week3
Week4
Week5
Week6
Week7
Week8
Week9
Week10
Week11
Week12
Week13
Week14
Week15
Week16
Week17
Week18
Week19
Week20
Little Project
Little Project
Big Project
Big Project
Little Project
Little Project
METHODOLOGY OVERVIEW
1. Break Opportunities into Bite Sized Projects
2. Try to Quantify Investment and Return
3. Calculate ROI to Identify Low Hanging Fruit
4. Schedule Projects for Consistent Growth
Analytic Guesstimate
Analytic Guesstimate
verb
Combining data with basic
assumptions to calculate an
expected value otherwise
unknown
EXAMPLE:
ANALYTIC GUESSTIMATING
FOR “CHEAP STICKERS”
PAGE AND KEYWORDS
LOGIN TO SEARCH CONSOLE AND
GO TO SEARH ANALYTICS
FILTER FOR QUERIES CONTAINING
KEYWORD PHRASE FOR A PAGE
EXPORT CSV FILE OF
SEARCH QUERY DATA TO EXCEL
ESTIMATE CTR CURVE USING
LOGARITHMIC TREND LINE IN EXCEL
COMPARE PAGE RANKING SIGNALS
VS. TOP 5 COMPETITOR PAGES
COMPARE PAGE RANKING SIGNALS
VS. TOP 5 COMPETITOR PAGES
COMPARE PAGE RANKING SIGNALS
VS. TOP 5 COMPETITOR PAGES
SPEND MORE TIME ON RANKING
FACTORS WITH HIGH CORRELATION
EVALUATE AND QUANTIFY
OPTIMIZATION EFFORTS
SUMMARIZE
INVESTMENT & RETURN
Investment:
Labor is 11 x $80 = $880
Design and Promotion = $250 + $250 = $500
BEFORE OPTIMIZATION
POSITION AND CTR
74 Clicks Before and 235 Clicks after = 161 More Clicks!
GUESSTIMATE +2 POS. FOR FIRST
PAGE KW AND POS 10 FOR OTHERS
74 Clicks Before and 235 Clicks after = 161 More Clicks!
AFTER OPTIMIZATION
POSITION AND CTR
74 Clicks Before and 235 Clicks after = 161 More Clicks!
ESTIMATE IMPROVEMENT
IN TRAFFIC USING CTR CURVE
74 Clicks Before and 235 Clicks after = 161 More Clicks!
161
CONVERT RETURN VALUE INTO
DOLLARS
161 Clicks x 5% Conv. Rate = 8 Conversions
8 Conversions x $200 AOV = $1,600 Sales
$1,600 Sales x 6 Months = $9,600
SUMMARIZE
INVESTMENT & RETURN
Investment:
Labor is 11 x $80 = $880
Design and Promotion = $250 + $250 = $500
Return:
$9,600
ROI:
($9,600 - $1,380) / $1,380 = 596%
THANK YOU

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