A Step-by-step Guide 
to Calculating 
Customer Lifetime 
Value (CLV) 
Prepared by: Geoff Fripp, Adjunct Marketing Lecturer 
The University of Sydney 
http://www.clv-calculator.com/
What is Customer Lifetime Value? 
• Customer lifetime value is a measure of customer 
profitability over time 
• CLV can be defined as “a measure of a customer’s 
aggregate profit to the firm over the total time that the 
customer deals with the firm” 
• CLV is calculated as a single dollar number, which 
summarizes the net profit/loss position of the customer’s 
total relationship with the firm 
• It is calculated on per customer basis, but is more usually 
determined for an the average customer within a 
particular market segment 
• A firm will calculate multiple CLV’s for different customer 
segments
Two calculation methods
The Simple CLV Formula 
THE FORMULA 
Annual profit contribution per customer X 
Average number of years that they remain a customer 
Less the initial cost of customer acquisition 
WHAT INFORMATION DO WE NEED? 
1. Initial cost of customer acquisition 
2. Annual profit contribution per customer 
3. Average customer retention rate
The CLV Calculation 
We start with this 
information 
We need to calculate 
this information
CLV Calculation: Step One 
Average Acquisition Cost 500 
Average Customer Profit pa 1000 
Customer Retention Rate 75% 
Customer Churn Rate 25% 
Average Lifetime in Years ??? 
Simple CLV ??? 
Churn rate is 1 – 
retention rate 
NOTE: Retention rate and churn 
(loss) rate always add to 100%
CLV Calculation: Step Two 
SIMPLE CLV 
Average Acquisition Cost 500 
Average Customer Profit pa 1000 
Customer Retention Rate 75% 
Customer Churn Rate 25% 
Average Lifetime in Years 4 
Simple CLV ??? 
Average lifetime in 
years is 1 / churn rate 
That is, the number of times 
the churn rate goes into 100%
CLV Calculation: Step Three 
CLV is time/years X 
annual profit – 
acquisition cost 
SIMPLE CLV 
Average Acquisition Cost 500 
Average Customer Profit pa 1000 
Customer Retention Rate 75% 
Customer Churn Rate 25% 
Average Lifetime in Years 4 
Simple CLV 3,500 
EXAMPLE: 4 X $1,000 - $500
The Complete CLV Formula 
THE FORMULA 
Annual profit contribution per customer (for each year) X 
The customer retention rate (for each year) less 
The initial cost of customer acquisition 
With each year adjusted by an appropriate discount rate 
WHAT INFORMATION DO WE NEED? 
1. Initial cost of customer acquisition 
2. Annual revenue contribution per customer 
3. Annual direct costs per customer 
4. Annual customer retention rate 
5. The discount rate to be used
Full CLV Calculation: Start 
COMPLETE CLV Year 0 1 2 3 4 5 
Average Acquisition Cost 500 
Average Customer Revenue 500 1,000 1,500 2,000 2,500 
Average Customer Costs 300 600 900 1,200 1,500 
Average Customer Profit ??? ??? ??? ??? ??? 
Customer Retention Rate 100% 60% 65% 70% 75% 
Cumulative Retention Rate ??? ??? ??? ??? ??? 
Likely Customer Profit ??? ??? ??? ??? ??? 
Discount Rate 1 1.10 ??? ??? ??? ??? 
CLV - per year ??? ??? ??? ??? ??? ??? 
Cumulative CLV ??? ??? ??? ??? ??? ??? 
We need to START with the figures in BLUE and we need to 
CALCULATE the figures in YELLOW 
Customer Lifetime Value will be in the bottom-right GOLD cell
Full CLV Calculation: Step One 
COMPLETE CLV Year 0 1 2 3 4 5 
Average Acquisition Cost 500 
Average Customer Revenue 500 1,000 1,500 2,000 2,500 
Average Customer Costs 300 600 900 1,200 1,500 
Average Customer Profit 200 400 600 800 1,000 
Customer Retention Rate 100% 60% 65% 70% 75% 
Cumulative Retention Rate ??? ??? ??? ??? ??? 
Likely Customer Profit ??? ??? ??? ??? ??? 
Discount Rate 1 1.10 ??? ??? ??? ??? 
CLV - per year ??? ??? ??? ??? ??? ??? 
Cumulative CLV ??? ??? ??? ??? ??? ??? 
Average customer profit each year is simply average customer 
REVENUE less average customer COSTS
Full CLV Calculation: Step Two 
COMPLETE CLV Year 0 1 2 3 4 5 
Average Acquisition Cost 500 
Average Customer Revenue 500 1,000 1,500 2,000 2,500 
Average Customer Costs 300 600 900 1,200 1,500 
Average Customer Profit 200 400 600 800 1,000 
Customer Retention Rate 100% 60% 65% 70% 75% 
Cumulative Retention Rate 100% 60% 39% 27% 20% 
Cumulative retention rate is the compounding effect of losing customers 
We start with 100% of customers and we keep 60% in year 2. In year 3 we 
Likely Customer Profit ??? ??? ??? ??? ??? 
Discount Rate 1 1.10 ??? ??? ??? ??? 
keep 65% of those remaining, which is 65% of the 60% = 39% 
CLV - per year ??? ??? ??? ??? ??? ??? 
Cumulative CLV ??? ??? ??? ??? ??? ??? 
Cumulative retention rate indicates the % probability of receiving the 
customer’s business (revenues and costs) in future years
Full CLV Calculation: Step Three 
COMPLETE CLV Year 0 1 2 3 4 5 
Average Acquisition Cost 500 
Average Customer Revenue 500 1,000 1,500 2,000 2,500 
Average Customer Costs 300 600 900 1,200 1,500 
Average Customer Profit 200 400 600 800 1,000 
Customer Retention Rate 100% 60% 65% 70% 75% 
Cumulative Retention Rate 100% 60% 39% 27% 20% 
Likely Customer Profit 200 240 234 218 205 
Discount Rate 1 1.10 ??? ??? ??? ??? 
CLV - per year ??? ??? ??? ??? ??? ??? 
Cumulative CLV ??? ??? ??? ??? ??? ??? 
Likely customer profit each year = Average Customer Profit (in 
row 3) X Cumulative Retention Rate (% probability of the 
customer still buying from our firm) 
Example for Year 3: $600 X 39% = $234
Full CLV Calculation: Step Four 
COMPLETE CLV Year 0 1 2 3 4 5 
Average Acquisition Cost 500 
Average Customer Revenue 500 1,000 1,500 2,000 2,500 
Average Customer Costs 300 600 900 1,200 1,500 
Average Customer Profit 200 400 600 800 1,000 
Customer Retention Rate 100% 60% 65% 70% 75% 
Cumulative Retention Rate 100% 60% 39% 27% 20% 
Likely Customer Profit 200 240 234 218 205 
Discount Rate 1 1.10 1.21 1.33 1.46 1.61 
CLV - per year ??? ??? ??? ??? ??? ??? 
Cumulative CLV ??? ??? ??? ??? ??? ??? 
Future discount rates are compounded on a yearly basis 
In this case, the discount rate is 10% 
Future years are 1.1 X 1.1 = 1.21 X 1.1 = 1.33, and so on
Full CLV Calculation: Step Five 
COMPLETE CLV Year 0 1 2 3 4 5 
Average Acquisition Cost 500 
Average Customer Revenue 500 1,000 1,500 2,000 2,500 
Average Customer Costs 300 600 900 1,200 1,500 
Average Customer Profit 200 400 600 800 1,000 
Customer Retention Rate 100% 60% 65% 70% 75% 
Cumulative Retention Rate 100% 60% 39% 27% 20% 
Likely Customer Profit 200 240 234 218 205 
Discount Rate 1 1.10 1.21 1.33 1.46 1.61 
CLV - per year -500 182 198 176 149 127 
Cumulative CLV ??? ??? ??? ??? ??? ??? 
Contribution to CLV on a yearly basis is the “likely customer 
profit” divided by the discount rate 
For example, in year 3: profit = $234 / 1.33 = $176
Full CLV Calculation: Step Six 
COMPLETE CLV Year 0 1 2 3 4 5 
Average Acquisition Cost 500 
Average Customer Revenue 500 1,000 1,500 2,000 2,500 
Average Customer Costs 300 600 900 1,200 1,500 
Average Customer Profit 200 400 600 800 1,000 
Customer Retention Rate 100% 60% 65% 70% 75% 
Cumulative Retention Rate 100% 60% 39% 27% 20% 
Likely Customer Profit 200 240 234 218 205 
Discount Rate 1 1.10 1.21 1.33 1.46 1.61 
CLV - per year -500 182 198 176 149 127 
Cumulative CLV -500 -318 -120 56 205 332 
Cumulative CLV is the running total of CLV per year 
Our key CLV figure is in the GOLD cell = $332
Full CLV Calculation: Outcomes 
COMPLETE CLV Year 0 1 2 3 4 5 
Average Acquisition Cost 500 
Average Customer Revenue 500 1,000 1,500 2,000 2,500 
Average Customer Costs 300 600 900 1,200 1,500 
Average Customer Profit 200 400 600 800 1,000 
Customer Retention Rate 100% 60% 65% 70% 75% 
Cumulative Retention Rate 100% 60% 39% 27% 20% 
Likely Customer Profit 200 240 234 218 205 
Discount Rate 1 1.10 1.21 1.33 1.46 1.61 
CLV - per year -500 182 198 176 149 127 
Cumulative CLV -500 -318 -120 56 205 332 
CLV = $332 – which is a positive number – which is great 
This means that the $500 acquisition cost has generated good profits 
for the firm 
As a 10% discount rate has been used, the ROI on the marketing 
investment is MORE than a 10% return 
Payback on customer acquisition costs is delivered in Year 3
For lots more information… 
Please visit www.clv-calculator.com 
On this website you will find: 
• A free Excel spreadsheet for calculating 
CLV as shown in this presentation 
• Quick CLV calculators 
• Lots of CLV information and examples 
• Plus instructional videos 
http://www.clv-calculator.com/

A step by-step guide to calculating customer lifetime value

  • 1.
    A Step-by-step Guide to Calculating Customer Lifetime Value (CLV) Prepared by: Geoff Fripp, Adjunct Marketing Lecturer The University of Sydney http://www.clv-calculator.com/
  • 2.
    What is CustomerLifetime Value? • Customer lifetime value is a measure of customer profitability over time • CLV can be defined as “a measure of a customer’s aggregate profit to the firm over the total time that the customer deals with the firm” • CLV is calculated as a single dollar number, which summarizes the net profit/loss position of the customer’s total relationship with the firm • It is calculated on per customer basis, but is more usually determined for an the average customer within a particular market segment • A firm will calculate multiple CLV’s for different customer segments
  • 3.
  • 4.
    The Simple CLVFormula THE FORMULA Annual profit contribution per customer X Average number of years that they remain a customer Less the initial cost of customer acquisition WHAT INFORMATION DO WE NEED? 1. Initial cost of customer acquisition 2. Annual profit contribution per customer 3. Average customer retention rate
  • 5.
    The CLV Calculation We start with this information We need to calculate this information
  • 6.
    CLV Calculation: StepOne Average Acquisition Cost 500 Average Customer Profit pa 1000 Customer Retention Rate 75% Customer Churn Rate 25% Average Lifetime in Years ??? Simple CLV ??? Churn rate is 1 – retention rate NOTE: Retention rate and churn (loss) rate always add to 100%
  • 7.
    CLV Calculation: StepTwo SIMPLE CLV Average Acquisition Cost 500 Average Customer Profit pa 1000 Customer Retention Rate 75% Customer Churn Rate 25% Average Lifetime in Years 4 Simple CLV ??? Average lifetime in years is 1 / churn rate That is, the number of times the churn rate goes into 100%
  • 8.
    CLV Calculation: StepThree CLV is time/years X annual profit – acquisition cost SIMPLE CLV Average Acquisition Cost 500 Average Customer Profit pa 1000 Customer Retention Rate 75% Customer Churn Rate 25% Average Lifetime in Years 4 Simple CLV 3,500 EXAMPLE: 4 X $1,000 - $500
  • 9.
    The Complete CLVFormula THE FORMULA Annual profit contribution per customer (for each year) X The customer retention rate (for each year) less The initial cost of customer acquisition With each year adjusted by an appropriate discount rate WHAT INFORMATION DO WE NEED? 1. Initial cost of customer acquisition 2. Annual revenue contribution per customer 3. Annual direct costs per customer 4. Annual customer retention rate 5. The discount rate to be used
  • 10.
    Full CLV Calculation:Start COMPLETE CLV Year 0 1 2 3 4 5 Average Acquisition Cost 500 Average Customer Revenue 500 1,000 1,500 2,000 2,500 Average Customer Costs 300 600 900 1,200 1,500 Average Customer Profit ??? ??? ??? ??? ??? Customer Retention Rate 100% 60% 65% 70% 75% Cumulative Retention Rate ??? ??? ??? ??? ??? Likely Customer Profit ??? ??? ??? ??? ??? Discount Rate 1 1.10 ??? ??? ??? ??? CLV - per year ??? ??? ??? ??? ??? ??? Cumulative CLV ??? ??? ??? ??? ??? ??? We need to START with the figures in BLUE and we need to CALCULATE the figures in YELLOW Customer Lifetime Value will be in the bottom-right GOLD cell
  • 11.
    Full CLV Calculation:Step One COMPLETE CLV Year 0 1 2 3 4 5 Average Acquisition Cost 500 Average Customer Revenue 500 1,000 1,500 2,000 2,500 Average Customer Costs 300 600 900 1,200 1,500 Average Customer Profit 200 400 600 800 1,000 Customer Retention Rate 100% 60% 65% 70% 75% Cumulative Retention Rate ??? ??? ??? ??? ??? Likely Customer Profit ??? ??? ??? ??? ??? Discount Rate 1 1.10 ??? ??? ??? ??? CLV - per year ??? ??? ??? ??? ??? ??? Cumulative CLV ??? ??? ??? ??? ??? ??? Average customer profit each year is simply average customer REVENUE less average customer COSTS
  • 12.
    Full CLV Calculation:Step Two COMPLETE CLV Year 0 1 2 3 4 5 Average Acquisition Cost 500 Average Customer Revenue 500 1,000 1,500 2,000 2,500 Average Customer Costs 300 600 900 1,200 1,500 Average Customer Profit 200 400 600 800 1,000 Customer Retention Rate 100% 60% 65% 70% 75% Cumulative Retention Rate 100% 60% 39% 27% 20% Cumulative retention rate is the compounding effect of losing customers We start with 100% of customers and we keep 60% in year 2. In year 3 we Likely Customer Profit ??? ??? ??? ??? ??? Discount Rate 1 1.10 ??? ??? ??? ??? keep 65% of those remaining, which is 65% of the 60% = 39% CLV - per year ??? ??? ??? ??? ??? ??? Cumulative CLV ??? ??? ??? ??? ??? ??? Cumulative retention rate indicates the % probability of receiving the customer’s business (revenues and costs) in future years
  • 13.
    Full CLV Calculation:Step Three COMPLETE CLV Year 0 1 2 3 4 5 Average Acquisition Cost 500 Average Customer Revenue 500 1,000 1,500 2,000 2,500 Average Customer Costs 300 600 900 1,200 1,500 Average Customer Profit 200 400 600 800 1,000 Customer Retention Rate 100% 60% 65% 70% 75% Cumulative Retention Rate 100% 60% 39% 27% 20% Likely Customer Profit 200 240 234 218 205 Discount Rate 1 1.10 ??? ??? ??? ??? CLV - per year ??? ??? ??? ??? ??? ??? Cumulative CLV ??? ??? ??? ??? ??? ??? Likely customer profit each year = Average Customer Profit (in row 3) X Cumulative Retention Rate (% probability of the customer still buying from our firm) Example for Year 3: $600 X 39% = $234
  • 14.
    Full CLV Calculation:Step Four COMPLETE CLV Year 0 1 2 3 4 5 Average Acquisition Cost 500 Average Customer Revenue 500 1,000 1,500 2,000 2,500 Average Customer Costs 300 600 900 1,200 1,500 Average Customer Profit 200 400 600 800 1,000 Customer Retention Rate 100% 60% 65% 70% 75% Cumulative Retention Rate 100% 60% 39% 27% 20% Likely Customer Profit 200 240 234 218 205 Discount Rate 1 1.10 1.21 1.33 1.46 1.61 CLV - per year ??? ??? ??? ??? ??? ??? Cumulative CLV ??? ??? ??? ??? ??? ??? Future discount rates are compounded on a yearly basis In this case, the discount rate is 10% Future years are 1.1 X 1.1 = 1.21 X 1.1 = 1.33, and so on
  • 15.
    Full CLV Calculation:Step Five COMPLETE CLV Year 0 1 2 3 4 5 Average Acquisition Cost 500 Average Customer Revenue 500 1,000 1,500 2,000 2,500 Average Customer Costs 300 600 900 1,200 1,500 Average Customer Profit 200 400 600 800 1,000 Customer Retention Rate 100% 60% 65% 70% 75% Cumulative Retention Rate 100% 60% 39% 27% 20% Likely Customer Profit 200 240 234 218 205 Discount Rate 1 1.10 1.21 1.33 1.46 1.61 CLV - per year -500 182 198 176 149 127 Cumulative CLV ??? ??? ??? ??? ??? ??? Contribution to CLV on a yearly basis is the “likely customer profit” divided by the discount rate For example, in year 3: profit = $234 / 1.33 = $176
  • 16.
    Full CLV Calculation:Step Six COMPLETE CLV Year 0 1 2 3 4 5 Average Acquisition Cost 500 Average Customer Revenue 500 1,000 1,500 2,000 2,500 Average Customer Costs 300 600 900 1,200 1,500 Average Customer Profit 200 400 600 800 1,000 Customer Retention Rate 100% 60% 65% 70% 75% Cumulative Retention Rate 100% 60% 39% 27% 20% Likely Customer Profit 200 240 234 218 205 Discount Rate 1 1.10 1.21 1.33 1.46 1.61 CLV - per year -500 182 198 176 149 127 Cumulative CLV -500 -318 -120 56 205 332 Cumulative CLV is the running total of CLV per year Our key CLV figure is in the GOLD cell = $332
  • 17.
    Full CLV Calculation:Outcomes COMPLETE CLV Year 0 1 2 3 4 5 Average Acquisition Cost 500 Average Customer Revenue 500 1,000 1,500 2,000 2,500 Average Customer Costs 300 600 900 1,200 1,500 Average Customer Profit 200 400 600 800 1,000 Customer Retention Rate 100% 60% 65% 70% 75% Cumulative Retention Rate 100% 60% 39% 27% 20% Likely Customer Profit 200 240 234 218 205 Discount Rate 1 1.10 1.21 1.33 1.46 1.61 CLV - per year -500 182 198 176 149 127 Cumulative CLV -500 -318 -120 56 205 332 CLV = $332 – which is a positive number – which is great This means that the $500 acquisition cost has generated good profits for the firm As a 10% discount rate has been used, the ROI on the marketing investment is MORE than a 10% return Payback on customer acquisition costs is delivered in Year 3
  • 18.
    For lots moreinformation… Please visit www.clv-calculator.com On this website you will find: • A free Excel spreadsheet for calculating CLV as shown in this presentation • Quick CLV calculators • Lots of CLV information and examples • Plus instructional videos http://www.clv-calculator.com/