Seven cities of delhi


Published on

Delhi is an ancient city .It is said that after Rome ,Delhi has the largest number of 500 years old buildings.

Published in: Travel

Seven cities of delhi

  1. 1. Seven Cities Of Delhi Indraprasth Of Mahabharat• Delhi is an ancient city .It is said that after Rome ,Delhi has the largest number of 500 years old buildings.• The oldest reference to Delhi is in Mahabharat when lord Krishna asks for five villages for Pandavas ie Indrapat, Bagpat,Sonipat , Tilpat & Panipat(Current names). Indraprasth is the ancient name of Delhi and possibly the oldest name of the city.• ASI excavations have revealed a three thousand year old inhabitation at Purana Quila area . Village Indrapat finds a mention in old British time records in same area till new Delhi started getting constructed .• Curiously Delhi government website does not recognise it as the first Delhi . We do call it the first Delhi. Mahabharat and Dhritrashtra
  2. 2. Seven Cities Of Delhi -2 Dhilli , Dilli or Delhi• The present name Delhi is believed to be derived from the story of Raja Anang Pal who had driven a pillar in earth . Brahmins told him not to see its end as it was resting on Shesh Nag . The king , out of uncontrolled curiosity , took out the pillar and it had blood stains at bottom as it had gone into the hood of Shesh Nag .• When the king drove the Pillar again it became loose i.e. Dheeli ( ) .The name Dilli is derived from this word . Some believe that iron pillar at Mehrauli is the same pillar . Iron Pillar of Mehrauli
  3. 3. Seven Cities of Delhi – 3 AnangPal &Maurayan Period Inscription• The iron pillar of Mehrauli is having some inscription of Gupta period.• In 1966 an Ashokan rock edict was discovered in Sriniwaspuri area.• The next mention of Delhi is of a fort named ‘ Lal Kot’ made by Inscriptions Prithvi Raj Chauhan Anangpal (731-36 AD) . Suraj Kund was made by another Tomar King.Lalkot was extended and renamed by Prithvi Raj Chauhan as ‘ Quila Rai Pithora’.• This is generally believed to be the second Delhi. Thick walls of both the the fort are still left intact near Lado Sarai in Delhi. Lalkot Wall Site Quila Rai Pithora
  4. 4. Seven Cities of Delhi Qutub Minar & Slave Dynasty• After Prithvi Raj Chauhan ,the city went into the control of Islamic invaders for more than seven hundred years who made several important buildings which have survived the passage of time .• Mohammed Ghauri left a slave Qutubuddin Aibak in charge of Qutub Minar Two Views Delhi.He used art work of some old Jain and hindu temples and with some new materials made Qutab Minar at Mehrauli in the year 1193 A.D.• Allauddin Khilji tried making another copy of Qutub Minar just near by but left it unfinished . It can also be seen near Qutab Minar Unfinished Qutub Broken Temple Remains
  5. 5. Seven Cities of Delhi – 5 Allauddin Khilji’s Delhi• Alauddin Khilji ( 1296AD) is the next big name in Delhi’s history . His tomb is at Hauzkhas lake made by him.• The Siri fort is supposed to have eight thousand severed heads of invading Mongols burried under it by Allauddin. Siri is a word derived from hindi word Allauddins Makbara Hauz khas lake• Chor Minar is a small tower on which severed heads of thieves , criminals and invaders were hung.• Alluddin Khilji’s Delhi is generally called the third city of Delhi. Madarsa at Hauz Khas Chor Minar
  6. 6. Seven Cities Of Delhi – 6 Tughlaq Era• Ghiasuddin Tughlak (1326 AD), the founder of Tughlak Dynasty , made the Tughlakabad fort .His tomb is also near by . There is a big water reservoir called Baoli there .• It is said that when his fort was being made, the labour used to work at night for Hazrat Nizamuddin to Ghiassuddin’s Makbara Tughlakabad Fort make a baoli under the light of oil lamps l. Tughlak took away the oil but lamps were lit by water and baoli was completed .Chirag Dilli derives its name from this story.• Another welknown Tughlak was the maveric Mohammed Bin Tughlak ( 1351 AD)who tried and failed in shifting his Sultanet HQ to Daultabad in Maharashtra .• Tughlak’s Delhi is generally Considered as the fourth City of Mausoleum of Ghiasuddin Baoli at Nizamuddin Delhi.
  7. 7. Seven Cities of Delhi – 7 Firoz Shah• Firoz Shah ( 1351AD) was the next Sultan ( Tughlaq Dynasty)to make a new city at Delhi . The present Cricket Stadium of Delhi called Kotla Grounds area has many stone edicts of his time. Top pictures are of his fort’s now destroyed gate and his tomb at Firozabad West Gate Lodhi Garden Area Hauz Khas. now demolished• He carried the forty feet long stone pillar of Ashoka’s time intact from Ambala and installed it in the area .His Delhi is generally called the Fifth city of Delhi .• The last picture is of Lodhi Tomb another landmark in Delhi in Lodhi Garden. Ashoka Pillar Kotla Lodhi Garden Area
  8. 8. Seven Cities of Delhi – 8 Sher Shah Suri & Humayun Era• Sher Sha Suri (1540-45) was a gifted General and Founder of Sher Garh city in Delhi .• Humayun , the son of Babar had a checkered career . He lost battle to Sher Shah Suri, an Afghan and fled to Iran.He regained his kingdom in the year Purana Quila Sher Garh 1546 .• He completed /remade the Purana Qila at Delhi . Excavations at Purana Qila .Some people call his Delhi as Din Panah .• Humayun tomb is an outstanding World heritage building .It also has the headless corpse of Dara Shikoha burried there . Humayun Makbara Humayun Tomb
  9. 9. Seven Cities of Delhi -9 Shahjahanabad• Before New Delhi was made Shahjahan (1628-59) was the greatest builder who made Red Fort and Jama Masjid . The main road in Chandini Chowk was a canal. Lal Quila Ajmeri Gate Delhi had fourteen gates out of which Turkman Gate, Kashmiri Gate , Delhi Gate, Ajmeri Gate and Nigam bodh gate have survived . Shahjahanabad was the Kashmiri Gate Jama Masjid seventh old city of Delhi.
  10. 10. Seven Cities of Delhi -10 New Delhi of British Era• British decided to shift capital of India to New Delhi in 1911.• Construction of Parliament , India Gate, Rashtrapati Bhavan etc. started in 1911 but took seventeen years instead of estimated four Rashtrapati Bhawan Parliament years. It was inaugurated in 1931 .• Governor General used to work from the now Delhi university building and shifted into Rashtrapati Bhavan later• Photographs show Rashtrapati Bhavan, Parliament ,Central Secretariat and India Gate. Central Secretariat India Gate