Five kingdom Classification System


Published on

This is a presentation about the five kingdom system given by Robert Whittaker in 1969. The 5 kingdoms are :- Monera, Protista, Fungi, Plantae and Animalia.

Published in: Education, Technology
  • Be the first to comment

  • Be the first to like this

No Downloads
Total views
On SlideShare
From Embeds
Number of Embeds
Embeds 0
No embeds

No notes for slide

Five kingdom Classification System

  1. 1. Diversity of Living Organisms This presentation is about the five kingdom system of classification of organisms. It was first proposed by Robert Whittaker in 1969.
  2. 2. Five-Kingdom System • Once upon a time, all living things were lumped together into two kingdoms, namely plants and animals. • Animals included every living thing that moved, ate, and grew to a certain size and stopped growing. Plants included every living thing that did not move or eat and that continued to grow throughout life. • It became very difficult to group some living things into one or the other, so early in the past century the two kingdoms were expanded into five kingdoms: Protista (the single-celled eukaryotes); Fungi (fungus and related organisms); Plantae (the plants); Animalia (the animals); Monera (the prokaryotes). • Many biologists now recognize six distinct
  3. 3. • Monera is a kingdom that contains unicellular organisms without a nucleus (i.e., a prokaryotic cell organization), such as bacteria. • Monera is further divided into two subkingdoms: Archaebacteria and the Eubacteria by Carl Woese. 1. Archaebacteria:- Most archaebacteria are autotrophs and only a few, photosynthesize. They derive their energy from their metabolic activities, from the oxidization of chemical energy sources such as the reduced gases – Ammonia (NHO₃) , hydrogen sulphide (H₂S), etc. 2. Eubacteria:- Bacteria constitute a large domain or kingdom of prokaryotic microorganisms Typically a few micrometeres in length, bacteria have a wide range of shapes, ranging from spheres to rods and spirals. Bacteria were among the first life forms to appear on Earth.
  4. 4. Protista (Protocista) • This group includes many kinds of unicellular eukaryotic organisms such as unicellular algae, protozoans and unicellular fungi. Some of these organisms use appendages, such as hair-like cilia or whip like flagellum. Their mode of nutrition can be autotrophic or heterotrophic. • Examples:-
  5. 5. Fungi • • • Kingdom, Fungi, is separate from plants, animals, protis ts and bacteria. One major difference is that fungal cells have cell walls that contain chitin, unlike the cell walls of plants and some protists, which contain cellulose, and unlike the cell walls of bacteria. Their body is filamentous and multicellular and is called mycelium and the thread like structure is called hyphae. They include lichens too.
  6. 6. Plantae • Plantae includes all heterotrophic multicellular organisms. • They are eukaryotes ie their each cell has a well defined nucleus. • Reserve food for plants is starch and and lipids. • Growth in plants is generally indefinite due to presence of growing points. • Body form of the plants is irregular due to presence of branches.
  7. 7. Animalia • They are eukaryotic and multicellular organisms. • The cell wall is absent. • They are heterotrophic and hunt for their own food. • The locomotion is with the help of special organs like foot.