Nc judicial system


Published on

North Carolina Judicial System. PPT created from resources found at (the NC Civics Education Consortium)

Published in: Education
  • Be the first to comment

  • Be the first to like this

No Downloads
Total views
On SlideShare
From Embeds
Number of Embeds
Embeds 0
No embeds

No notes for slide

Nc judicial system

  1. 1. NC Judicial System<br />
  2. 2. How does the NC Judicial System operate? <br />The NC Constitution outlines our Judicial Power in Article IV. <br />North Carolina runs a statewide court system, so while some employees of the court may be elected in their local jurisdictions, they are all state employees. <br />The court system is also state funded, and the state incurs all expenses except for facilities and security. <br />
  3. 3. General Court of Justice<br />The General Court of Justice contains three parts: an Appellate Division, a Superior Court Division, and a District Court Division. <br />
  4. 4. The Appellate Division is made up of the Supreme Court and the Court of Appeals. <br />
  5. 5. The Supreme Court has a Chief Justice and six associate justices. <br />1. The Court hears cases appealed from the Court of Appeals and some cases that bypass the Court of Appeals, such as death sentence cases, which must be heard by the Supreme Court. <br />2. Parties must petition the Supreme Court to hear their case, and in most cases, the Supreme Court can decide whether or not it will hear the case. The exceptions to this rule are death sentence cases, Utilities Commission cases, and Court of Appeals decisions with one dissent, all of which are automatically heard by the Supreme Court. <br />3. The role of the Supreme Court is to determine legal error or interpretation of the law; the Court does not hear cases to determine fact. <br />4. The Supreme Court does not have a jury. <br />5. Supreme Court Judges are elected to eight-year terms. <br />
  6. 6. The Court of Appeals has 15 judges who sit in rotating panels of three.<br />This Court hears cases appealed from Superior and District Courts and decides cases on questions of law ranging from parking tickets to murder cases. <br />The Court of Appeals mostly reviews matters decided by trial courts to determine if there are legal errors in the trial; it does not have a jury. <br />Court of Appeals Judges are elected to eight-year terms. <br />
  7. 7. Superior Court<br />The Superior Court is a Trial Court; it is currently divided into eight divisions and 46 judicial districts, and elections of one or more Superior Court Judges are held in each district. <br />Every six months, Superior Court Judges rotate among the districts in their division, i.e., they move to a new district. <br />The Superior Court tries “felony criminal cases, civil cases involving more than $10,000, and misdemeanor and infraction appeals from district court.” <br />The Superior Court does employ a jury in criminal cases. <br />Superior Court Judges are elected to eight-year terms. <br />
  8. 8. District Courts<br />The District Court is a Trial Court; it is currently divided into 41 districts, and elections of one or more District Court Judges are held in each district. <br />District Courts are divided into four categories: criminal, civil, juvenile, and magistrate. <br />District Courts hear criminal cases involving misdemeanors and infractions; criminal cases are the most common of the four categories and are heard without a jury. <br />District Courts hear civil cases involving less than $10,000. <br />District judges are elected to four-year terms. <br />
  9. 9. Family Court is part of the District Courts<br />Family Court is a special kind of civil court. <br />Family Courts hear all cases involving juvenile delinquency, neglect and abuse, termination of parental rights, adoption, domestic violence, custody, divorce, and child support, among other family-related matters. <br />In these courts, children sixteen years and younger who are considered delinquents are designated as juveniles, and children who are eighteen years and younger who are considered “undisciplined, neglected, or abused” are designated as juveniles. <br />Mediation is often used in Family Court before cases go to trial. <br />
  10. 10. Clerks of Court<br />Clerks of Court are elected in every county in North Carolina and are responsible for all clerical and record-keeping functions of the Superior and District Courts. <br />The Clerk also acts as a Probate Judge, which means he/she deals with wills and estates; decides guardianship for minors; and determines incompetence. <br />Clerks have the power to issues arrest and search warrants and to accept guilty pleas and payments for minor offenses. <br />Clerks are elected in their county to four-year terms. <br />
  11. 11. Magistrates<br />Magistrates are judicial officials who work at the District Court level to handle certain criminal and civil cases. They do not usually conduct trials, but they do handle many preliminary matters in criminal cases. They are not judges, even though they do possess the limited judicial powers listed on the next slide. <br />
  12. 12. Powers of Magistrates<br />In criminal cases, magistrates issue warrants and set bail. <br />Magistrates also accept guilty pleas and payments of fines for traffic violations and minor misdemeanors. <br />Magistrates are the only judicial officials who can perform marriage ceremonies. <br />Magistrates are appointed by the Senior Resident Superior Court Judge; their terms are initially two-years, followed by four-year terms. <br />
  13. 13. Jurors<br />Jurors are citizens who listen to cases and determine a person’s right to property, right to freedom, or, in capital cases, right to life. <br />To be eligible to serve as a juror in North Carolina, one must fulfill the following requirements: <br />Citizen of the state and a resident of the county <br />18 or older (no upper age limit) <br />Able to speak and to understand the English language <br />Physically and mentally competent <br />No felony conviction <br />Generated lists of jurors come from voter registration lists and drivers’ license lists. <br />