Successfully reported this slideshow.
We use your LinkedIn profile and activity data to personalize ads and to show you more relevant ads. You can change your ad preferences anytime.

The judiciary


Published on

Published in: Education
  • Be the first to comment

The judiciary

  1. 1. TheJudiciary
  2. 2. Composition The Chief Justiceheads the SupremeCourt. A maximumof 30 judges assist him.
  3. 3. Appointment
  4. 4. EligibilityTo qualify for the appointment as a judge of the Supreme Court, the person mustBe a citizen of IndiaHave experience of at least five years as an advocate of a High Court, or be a distinguished jurist in the Presidents opinion.
  5. 5. There is no fixed term of officefor the Supreme Court Judges.They served till the age of 65.Supreme Court Judges can beremoved by the President ongrounds of misuse ofoffice, proven misbehavior or incapacity. The process ofremoving the Supreme CourtJudges is called impeachment.The process involves a motionwhich contain the chargesagainst the Judge. This motionmust was be passed by a two-thirds majority of the memberspresent and voting in both thehouses of Parliament.
  6. 6. Jurisdiction Jurisdiction refers to the scope of authority of theSupreme Court to carry out Judgment and enforce Laws. The Supreme Court enjoys the following jurisdiction.
  7. 7. Original Jurisdiction
  8. 8. Appellate Jurisdiction The Appellate Jurisdiction includes appeals against the judgments of the High Courts. The Supreme Court being the highest judicial authority has the power to review the decisions of the high Courts and give its own judgments in matters of civil and criminal cases.
  9. 9. Advisory Jurisdiction The Advisory Jurisdiction empowers the Supreme Court to advise the President on constitutional issues when asked for. However, the President is not bound to follow its advice. The Supreme Court records and prints all its proceedings and judgments. Thus, its also junction as the Court of Record. These judgments served as laws and can be cited by the Subordinate Courts throughout the country.
  10. 10. Hierarchy of India of judicial system
  11. 11. Judicial Review Judicial Review is the power of the Supreme Court to examine the validity of the Laws passed by the Unionand the States. A law can also be annulled if found incompatible with the constitution.