Kundalini And Chakras


Published on

Published in: Health & Medicine, Spiritual
1 Comment
  • Where is the audio recording?
    Are you sure you want to  Yes  No
    Your message goes here
No Downloads
Total views
On SlideShare
From Embeds
Number of Embeds
Embeds 0
No embeds

No notes for slide

Kundalini And Chakras

  1. 1. Kundalini and Chakras Part 1: Kundalini, Nadis Subhash Mittal Integral Yoga Studio www.integralyogastudio.com 919-926-9717 subhashmittal@gmail.com
  2. 2. Overview • What is Kundalini? • Kundalini and Yoga • Chakras • Nadi system • Methods of Awakening Kundalini • Koshas and Chakras • Chakra/element cleansing practice • Summing Up 10/10/2008 Kundalini and Nadis 2
  3. 3. What is Kundalini? • From ‘kundal’ (coiled) • Shakti, after creating the 36 elements (tattvas), finally rests dormant at the lowest element, earth (muladhara chakra) • Resides at base of spinal column • Coiled 3.5 times like a sanke • Three coils = 3 gunas (rajas, sattva, tamas) or three states (waking, dreaming, deep sleep); half coil = state of transcendence • Tantric origins – Shiva (Purusha/Consciousness) and Shakti (Prakriti/Energy) 10/10/2008 Kundalini and Nadis 3
  4. 4. Kundalini and Yoga • Kundalini has origins in the Tantric philosophy • No mention of kundalini in Patanjali’s Yoga Sutras • Hatha Yoga integrates kundalini with other yoga disciplines • Hatha = ‘ha’ (moon/ida) + ‘tha’ (sun/pingala) • Hatha yoga: balance the two streams of energy so shakti can flow in sushumna • In Hatha Yoga Pradeepika, Kundalini forms a major part of yoga 10/10/2008 Kundalini and Nadis 4
  5. 5. Chakras • In Sanskrit, chakra translates as quot;wheel.” • Center of activity that receives, assimilates, and expresses life force energy (prana) • Spinning sphere of bioenergetic activity emanating from the major nerve centers • seven main chakras aligned in an ascending column from the base of the spine to the top of the head 10/10/2008 Kundalini and Nadis 5
  6. 6. Chakras (cont.) • Muladhara (Root) • Svadhisthana (Sacral) • Manipura (Navel) • Anahata (Heart) • Vishuddhi (Throat) • Ajna (Third Eye) • Sahasrara (Thousand Petaled Lotus) 10/10/2008 Kundalini and Nadis 6
  7. 7. Chakras and Glands Sahasrara Pituitary Ajna Pineal Thyroid Vishuddha Parathyroid Thymus Anahata Manipura Pancreas Adrenals Svadhishthana Ovaries Muladhara Testes 10/10/2008 7 Kundalini and Nadis
  8. 8. The ‘Nadi’ System • Channels for the flow of subtle energy • 72,000 nadis; 3 most important: Sushumna, Ida, Pingala • Ida: moon/mental energy/female/left nostril/right hemisphere of brain • Pingala: sun/vital energy/male/right nostril/left hemisphere of brain • Sushumna: spiritual awakening/central channel along the spinal column • Nadis start at Mooladhara, crossing over chakras, terminating at Ajna chakra • Connected with ‘Svara Yoga’ (yoga of breath) 10/10/2008 Kundalini and Nadis 8
  9. 9. ‘Granthis’ (Psychic Knots) • Brahma Granthi –Muladhara/Tamas: attachment to physical pleasure thru the senses, material objects and selfishness; negativity, ignorance • Vishnu Granthi –Anahata/Rajas: bondage of emotional attachment; passion, assertiveness • Rudra Granthi – Ajna/Sattva: attachment to siddhis, ego 10/10/2008 Kundalini and Nadis 9
  10. 10. Kundalini Awakening • Methods of awakening: birth, mantra, austerities (tapah), herbs, purification of body and mind, samadhi, pranayama, kriya yoga, mudras and bandhas, tantric initiation, shaktipat, self-surrender • When awakened, travels up through Sushumna nadi, crossing the six chakras on way, merging finally with Shiva, supreme consciousness at Sahasrara chakra • Awakening results in greater sensitivity, control of senses, slower aging, a greater sense of calm, increased intuitive wisdom, and a more palpable experience of spirituality • Important to be aware of risks and precautions – proper guidance is needed 10/10/2008 Kundalini and Nadis 10
  11. 11. Koshas and Chakras • Annamaya (physical sheath formed by food) – Muladhara (earth), Svadhishthana (water), Manipura (fire) • Pranamaya (universal life force- circulating vital air) – Anahata (air), Vishuddhi (ether ) • Manomaya (cognitive) - Ajna • Vijnanamaya (discriminative/intuitive) – Ajna • Anandamaya – Sahasrara 10/10/2008 Kundalini and Nadis 11
  12. 12. Koshas 10/10/2008 Kundalini and Nadis 12
  13. 13. Chakra/Element Cleansing • A simple routine that will guide you through the various chakras, purifying the chakras and the associated elements in the process • Prepare you for a deeper meditative experience • Follow along with the audio recording 10/10/2008 Kundalini and Nadis 13