Successfully reported this slideshow.
We use your LinkedIn profile and activity data to personalize ads and to show you more relevant ads. You can change your ad preferences anytime.

Emerging Library Technologies

288 views

Published on

Smart phones, Q-R codes and econtent in the public library.

Published in: Education
  • Be the first to comment

  • Be the first to like this

Emerging Library Technologies

  1. 1. Shauna BorgerNortheastern Regional Coordinator
  2. 2.  Overview Library cards and smartphones QR codes eContent overview
  3. 3.  93% of all 12-17 year olds access the internet 75% own a cell phone 69% own a computer 79% own an iPod or an MP3 player 80% own a gaming console 51% own a portable gaming device 27% use their cell to access the internet
  4. 4.  78% of all adults access the internet 83% own a cell phone 57% own a desktop computer and 56% own a laptop computer 44% own an iPod or an MP3 player 42% own a gaming console 12% own an e-book reader 8% own a tablet
  5. 5.  Download an app ◦ KeyRing ◦ CardStar ◦ CardKing Type in barcode number Barcode now stored in app!
  6. 6.  Not all barcode scanners work with new technology ◦ charged-couple device scanner (CCD) Cards can be shared, stolen, etc. Vendor concerns
  7. 7.  Customer service Cost savings?
  8. 8.  Technology Staff Training Patron Training Backup
  9. 9.  Quick-Response Code Created by Toyota in 1994 2-dimensional Designed for mobile devices Becoming more popular in the U.S. ◦ During the month of June 2011, according to one study, 14 million mobile users scanned a QR Code or a barcode. 58% of those users scanned a QR or bar code from their home, while 39% scanned from retail stores. 60% of the 14 million users were men between the age of 18-34.
  10. 10.  Open application Point camera to QR code Voila!
  11. 11.  Download a QR scanner ◦ Barcode scanner ◦ QR Droid ◦ Nigma ◦ Lynkee ◦ NeoReader ◦ QR Reader ◦ Google Goggles ◦ RedLaser
  12. 12.  Go to a QR generator ◦ http://qrcode.kaywa.com/ ◦ Phone number, text, URL
  13. 13.  Readalikes for Jodi Picoult ◦ http://webrary.org/rs/flbklists/jodipicoult.html Copy URL and type into QR code generator ◦ http://qrcode.kaywa.com/ Copy the QR code into document and put it by the Jodi Picoult books with a heading that says “If you like Jodi Picoult, you might also like these authors …”
  14. 14.  QR code scavenger hunt ◦ http://lgdata.s3-website-us-east- 1.amazonaws.com/docs/163/147086/QR_Scaveng er_Hunt_10_copy.pdf Educate patrons ◦ http://www.lawrence.edu/library/qr.shtml Recommend further reading ◦ http://guides.ccclib.org/content.php?pid=105914& sid=797175#4638359 Carmen Sandiego ◦ http://library.lafayette.edu/carmensandiego
  15. 15. What ideas do you have for QR codes at Marion Public Library?
  16. 16.  QR code security risks ◦ Rogue QR codes ◦ Tracking Good Internet connection in area Links kept up to date
  17. 17.  Money Time Space Expanded access Marketing
  18. 18.  Format Readers/Players End user learning curve DRM/Publisher restrictions ◦ Retail model ◦ Agency model ◦ Library model
  19. 19.  Subscriptions or circulating devices? eReader or device sometimes limits vendor options for eContent Training for downloading library-provided eContent onto different devices
  20. 20. Articles http://www.708media.com/qrcode/qr-code-readers-iphone- android-blackberry-windows-phone-7/ http://notixtech.com/blog/5-ways-you-should-never-use-qr- codes http://www.swissarmylibrarian.net/2011/02/08/scanning-library- cards-on-smartphones/ http://www.libraryjournal.com/lj/home/889495- 264/library_cards_on_smartphones_the.html.csp http://www.libsuccess.org/index.php?title=QR_CodesQR code generator http://qrcode.kaywa.com/
  21. 21. Indiana State Library eResources webpage http://www.in.gov/library/4367.htm
  22. 22. Shauna BorgerProfessional Development Office – ISL sborger@library.in.gov 317-605-4518

×