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EB5
Investments

Trusted advisory service for foreign investors
to get a Greencard
Te a m 1 8 : Mu h s in Sh a h id , D a ve L in c o ln , A d a m
Nathu

Customers Discovered:

Day 1
+ 10

Day 2
+ 10

Day 3
+ 10

Day 4
+6

Total
= 36
“O Foreign Investor,
Foreign Investor,
Where art thou? ”
TEAM 18: EB-5 INVESTMENTS
Day 1 –
What we thought…
o IDEA:
Create an online marketplace to
connect foreign investors to EB-5
Investment Projects in the USA
o SOLVE:
Fragmented industry with lack of
transparency
TEAM 18: EB-5 INVESTMENTS
Key partners
Strategic
Alliances:
•
Lawyers
•
Developers
•
Business
seeking
financing
•
Coopetition Strategic
Partnerships
(from
competitors)
-EB5 Brokers

Value
proposition

Key activities
Platform / Network:
• Matchmaking –
stakeholders &
key partners
• Continuously
develop &
maintain platform
• Promotion of
website &
platform

Key resources
•

Intellectual
resources Partner
Relationships

Risk Reduction
• Transparency
• Better Analysis /
Tools for making
Investment
Decisions
Convenience &
Usability
• Centralization /
aggregation of a
fragmented
marketplace
• Accessibility /
Visibility
(Multiplatform)

Day 1
Focus on Cost-Driven Business Model
Customer Acquisition
Developing Partner relations
Developing/Maintaining Web portal

Self-service
• Trusted Broker
Personal Assistant
•
Trusted Advisor
Co-creation
•
Enable users to
rate & give
feedback on
counterparties
(lawyers,
developers)

Channels
•
•

•

•

Multi-sided
platform
• Foreign
Investors
• Business
seeking
financing
• EB5 Broker
• Lawyers

Internet
Trade
Advocacy
Groups
Partner
Relationships

Revenue streams

Cost structure
•
•
•
•

Customer
segments

Customer
relationships

•
•
•
•

Placement fees on investments (Brokerage) –
Fixed Pricing (% Investment)
Application fees (direct) – Dynamic Pricing
(Lawyers)
Subscription / Membership fee (lawyers)
Advertising / Service Directory fee (Projects)
Day 1 –
What we assessed...
oIs there any interest for our marketplace?
◦ Spoke to prospective investors
◦ Spoke to immigration lawyers
◦ Spoke to EB-5 regional centers

oWould you use our platform to select an
investment project?
oHow much would you pay for us to list your
investment project and get you an investor?
TEAM 18: EB-5 INVESTMENTS
Day 1 –
What we learned…
Hypothesis

Result

Takeaway

• Investors would prefer a
centralized listing of all projects

True

But quality / security of project
is more of a concern than
aggregation

• Businesses seeking financing
will want to advertise their
projects on our platform

True

They will pay a premium to
avoid having to deal with extra
agents and brokers

• Can we sell directly to EB5
Brokers

False

No real interest in coopetition

• Website is quickest way to reach
target HNW foreign investors

False

Developing foreign
partnerships is the quickest way

TEAM 18: EB-5 INVESTMENTS
Key partners
Strategic
Alliances:
•
Lawyers
•
Developers
•
Business
seeking
financing
•
Coopetition Strategic
Partnerships
(from
competitors)
-EB5 Brokers

Key activities
• Relationship
building
• Developing
platform
• Promotion of
platform

Key resources
•
•

Day 2

Partner
Relationships
Foreign
HNWI
network

Value
proposition
HNWI
foreigners:
• Risk
Reduction
• Convenience
• Transparency
Business seeking
financing:
• Access to
low-cost
capital
• Increased
visibility of
projects
Immigration
Lawyers:
• New client
business

•
•

Customer Acquisition
• Advertising – Adsense
• Presales services
Developing Partner relations
Developing Web Portal

• GET:
Trusted Broker
• KEEP:
Trusted Advisor
• GROW:
Referrals, Affiliate
Program
Channels
Website
Partnerships
•
Trade Advocacy
Groups
•
Schools /
Colleges
•
Foreign
Agencies

Customer
segments
HNWI foreigners
• $2million + Net
Worth
• Age 40-60
• Child studying in
the US

Business seeking
financing
• Regional Centers
• Real estate
Developers
Immigration Lawyers
EB5 Broker

Revenue streams

Cost structure
•

Customer
relationships

•
•

•
•

Placement fees on investments (Brokerage) –
Fixed Pricing (% Investment)
Application fees (direct) – Dynamic Pricing
(Lawyers)
Subscription / Membership fee (lawyers)
Advertising / Service Directory fee (Projects)
Day 2 –
What we assessed...
o How do we get, keep, and grow new
clients?
o How do we define our key partnerships?
o How do we define our revenue structure
in light of our new customer segments?

TEAM 18: EB-5 INVESTMENTS
Day 2 –
What we learned…
Hypothesis

Result

Takeaway

• Focusing on new foreign
partnerships will penetrate the
multiple layers in front of
foreign investors

True

Foreign lawyers, private
banks, trade advocacy
groups all are useful
channels to help get to
different foreign investors

• Focusing on businesses seeking
financing and charging them
more will be more profitable

True

Can make money on the
placement fees as well as
featured advertisement fees

TEAM 18: EB-5 INVESTMENTS
Day 3
Key partners

Value
proposition

Key activities
• Create Project Database

Strategic Alliances:

Customer
segments

Customer
relationships

Foreign Investors:

PRODUCT

-

MARKET

-

FIT

Foreign Investors:

GET: Direct Sales, Partnerships

• Develop Analysis Tool-pack

•

Risk Reduction

Real Estate
Developers

• Implement Investor Due
Diligence

•

Convenience –
1 stop shop

GROW: Referrals, Affiliates

•

Regional Centres

• Promotion of Platform

•

Legitimacy /
Transparency

GET: Direct Sales

•

Angel Investment
Groups

• Build “Key Partners”

•

•
•

Foreign Trade
Agencies
Schools/Colleges

Co-opetition:
•

Immigration Lawyers

Businesses Seeking
Finance:

•

•
•

IP – Partnership
Network (domestic)

Foreign Investor
Network
(international)

Access to Low Cost
Capital
Increased Visibility
of Projects
MVP:

Net Worth: $2-50M

•

Age: 27– 60

•

Origin:
Emerging Market

•

KEEP: Ongoing Relations

Key resources
•

•

KEEP: Trusted Advisor

Married / Family in
U.S.

GROW: Referrals

Businesses Seeking
Finance:

Channels
Website

•

• Foreign Lawyers & Agents

Real Estate
Investments

•

• Foreign Trade Agencies

Seek $5M+ funds

•

Partnerships:

Distressed Businesses

EB5 Brokers

Qualified Project Listings

• Private Banks

•

Project Comparative
Analysis Reports

• Chambers of Commerce

EB5 Brokers

•

•

•

Investor Due Diligence

• Angel Investment Groups

Immigration Lawyers

Revenue streams

Cost structure
Customer Acquisition:
•

Google Adsense

• Due diligence costs
on HNWIs & Projects

Recurring:
• Site Development &
Maintenance
• Development of Foreign
partnerships

Businesses Seeking
Finance:

Foreign Investors:
•

Free membership to
website

•

% Investment placement

•

Advertising – “Featured
Projects” fee
Day 3 –
What we assessed...
oWhat relationship exists between attorneys
and Regional Centers?
◦ Spoke to immigration lawyers
◦ Spoke to EB-5 regional centers

oWould attorneys use our platform to select
an investment project?

oWhat is the fee structure currently in place?
TEAM 18: EB-5 INVESTMENTS
Day 3 –
What we learned…
Hypothesis

Result

Takeaway

• Attorneys will source deals
through us

False

They earn more fees from
Regional Centers

• Our portal reduces risk and
increases transparency

True

Primary need for HNWIs

• Attorneys will align with us

False

We are viewed as their
competition

• We can earn more revenue via
both transaction and finders
fees

True

We can undercut attorneys and
brokers with lower fees

TEAM 18: EB-5 INVESTMENTS
Key
Activities

Key Partners

• Operate as a niche
Investment Advisor

Strategic
Alliances:
•

Private Banks

•

Chambers of
Commerce

Immigration
Lawyers

Risk Reduction

•

Convenience

•

Transparency

•
•

IP – Partnership
Network
(domestic)

•

Google AdSense

•

Lawyers & Advisors:
Due diligence costs
on HNWIs &
Projects

•

•

Net Worth:
$2-50M

•

Age: 27– 60

•

Origin:
Emerging Market

•

KEEP: Trusted Advisor

KEEP: Ongoing Relations

Married / Family
in U.S.

Businesses Seeking
Finance:

Channels
•

Increased Visibility
of Projects

• In person

Real Estate
Investments

•

• Web Portal

Seek $5M+ funds

•

Direct:

Access to Low Cost
Capital

Distressed
Businesses

MVP:
•

List of vetted clients

Revenue Streams

Cost Structure
•

Foreign Investors:

GET: Direct Sales

Businesses Seeking
Finance:

Foreign Investor
Network
(international)

Day 4
Customer Acquisition:

GET: Viral Loop,
Partnerships

GROW: Referrals

Key
Resources

Customer
Segments

Customer
Relationships

GROW: Referrals, Affiliates

• Build “Key Partners”

Co-opetition:

•

•

• Implement Investor
Due Diligence

Foreign Trade
Agencies

•

Foreign Investors:

• Create Database of
Investors & lawyers

Angel
Investment
Groups

•

Value
Proposition

Recurring:
• Registering as Broker-Dealer
•

Site Development &
Maintenance

•

Development of Foreign
partnerships

Businesses Seeking
Finance:

Foreign Investors:
•

Management &
Performance Fees

•

% Investment placement

•

Advertising – “Featured

EB5 Investments - fee 18
Projects” Team

TEAM 18: EB-5 INVESTMENTS
Day 4 –
What we assessed...
o How many channels are necessary?
o What partnerships are worthwhile?
o What are the underlying investor
concerns?

TEAM 18: EB-5 INVESTMENTS
Day 4 –
What we learned…
Hypothesis

Result

Takeaway

• Investors only care about lowest
capital investment

False

Investors valued capital
preservation over lowest
capital investment

• Regional centers is a great
business model to copy

False

Regional centers are not that
profitable and no real value
add from certification

• Investors are open to any
business investment type

False

Certain investors are not
interested in any arbitrary
business but would rather
use their funds to create
their own business

TEAM 18: EB-5 INVESTMENTS
Pivot:
o Focus on Direct Investments - $1MM
◦ Higher approval rate for greencard
◦ Higher return on investment for investors

o Focus on New Business Opportunities
o Offer Investment Advisory Services
◦ Sticky customer relationships

TEAM 18: EB-5 INVESTMENTS
Day 5
Key Partners

• Operate as a niche
Investment Advisor

Strategic
Alliances:
•

• Create Database of
Investors & lawyers

Angel
Investment
Groups

•
•

•

Transparency

Resources
•

Chambers of
Commerce

•

Co-opetition:
•

IP – Partnership
Network
(domestic)
Foreign Investor
Network

Attorneys

•

Google AdSense

•

Attorneys &
Advisors: Due
diligence costs

Recurring:
•
Compliance
•

Website

•

Foreign partnerships

•

Net Worth:
$2-50M

•

Age: 27– 60

•

Married / Family
in U.S.

GROW: Referrals

Channels
Direct:

Project Visibility

Businesses:

• Website
•

List of vetted
clients and projects

•

• In person

MVP:

Seek $5M+ funds

•

Real Estate

• Attorneys

•

Distressed
Businesses

Revenue Streams

Cost Structure
Customer Acquisition:

Chinese,
Korean, British

KEEP: Trusted Partner

Businesses:
•

•

GET: Direct Sales,
Conferences

Convenience

• Build “Key
Partners”

Foreign Investors:

KEEP: Trusted Advisor
GROW: Referrals, Affiliates

Risk
Reduction

•

Private Banks

•

•

Customer
Segments

GET: Referrals,
Partnerships

Foreign Investors:

• Due Diligence

Foreign Trade
Agencies

Customer
Relationships

Value
Proposition

Key Activities

•

Admin &
Management
Fees

•

Placement
Fees

EB5 Investments - Team 18

TEAM 18: EB-5 INVESTMENTS
Market Size
Total
Addressable
Market:

$8.5Bn
Served Market:

$3.25Bn

• Total Market = 10,000 EB5
visas p/a (3000 reserved for
Regional Centres)
• Served Market = Last year
6,517 applications received
THEREFORE significant unutilized
Capacity
Targeted Opportunity :

Opportunity:

$5.25Bn

• 1% of unutilized capacity +
served capacity @ $45,000 per
customer
= $3.15MM REVENUE
TEAM 18: EB-5 INVESTMENTS
EB-5 Market Analysis
Attorney
Delivered
Clients

Foreign
Investor

$45,000

$15,000

EB-5
Invest.

$20,000

Direct
Investment

$1,000,000 min investment

LTV = $140,000* > (CAC = 15,000 + COGS = 12,000)
*$45k Admin Fee + $15k annual 1.5% Management Fees + $20k Placement Fee

TEAM 18: EB-5 INVESTMENTS
Timeline:
4 Months – TARGET Close 8 Sales
3 Months – Strategic Management of
Projects, Talent Management, Continue Offline
Alliances
2 Months – Relationship building, Buy client list,
Work on Referrals
1 Month – Acquire licenses, Attend conferences, Develop
Blog, Promote Website + Services
Today – Finalise Current Deal 1, Find
Investor for 2nd project , Develop
Website, Secure Relations with
Foreign Lawyers & Agencies

TEAM 18: EB-5 INVESTMENTS
Key Takeaways:
Customer Development
•
•
•
•

Who are the right customers?
What is the right value proposition?
Which is the right revenue model?
GET OUT OF THE BUILDING!

Business Model Design
• It’s an iterative process.
• The Big Picture – There are patterns – We saw from class teams
presenting.

Team Dynamics
• It’s stressful! It’s hard work! It has it’s Ups and Downs!
• We Survived!
TEAM 18: EB-5 INVESTMENTS
Is this a viable business?
o We have signed up 2 business projects
o We have signed up 1 Foreign Investor
o More referrals coming
o YES! We will continue the search..

TEAM 18: EB-5 INVESTMENTS

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Eb5 investments columbia univ jan 2014

  • 1. EB5 Investments Trusted advisory service for foreign investors to get a Greencard Te a m 1 8 : Mu h s in Sh a h id , D a ve L in c o ln , A d a m Nathu Customers Discovered: Day 1 + 10 Day 2 + 10 Day 3 + 10 Day 4 +6 Total = 36
  • 2. “O Foreign Investor, Foreign Investor, Where art thou? ” TEAM 18: EB-5 INVESTMENTS
  • 3. Day 1 – What we thought… o IDEA: Create an online marketplace to connect foreign investors to EB-5 Investment Projects in the USA o SOLVE: Fragmented industry with lack of transparency TEAM 18: EB-5 INVESTMENTS
  • 4. Key partners Strategic Alliances: • Lawyers • Developers • Business seeking financing • Coopetition Strategic Partnerships (from competitors) -EB5 Brokers Value proposition Key activities Platform / Network: • Matchmaking – stakeholders & key partners • Continuously develop & maintain platform • Promotion of website & platform Key resources • Intellectual resources Partner Relationships Risk Reduction • Transparency • Better Analysis / Tools for making Investment Decisions Convenience & Usability • Centralization / aggregation of a fragmented marketplace • Accessibility / Visibility (Multiplatform) Day 1 Focus on Cost-Driven Business Model Customer Acquisition Developing Partner relations Developing/Maintaining Web portal Self-service • Trusted Broker Personal Assistant • Trusted Advisor Co-creation • Enable users to rate & give feedback on counterparties (lawyers, developers) Channels • • • • Multi-sided platform • Foreign Investors • Business seeking financing • EB5 Broker • Lawyers Internet Trade Advocacy Groups Partner Relationships Revenue streams Cost structure • • • • Customer segments Customer relationships • • • • Placement fees on investments (Brokerage) – Fixed Pricing (% Investment) Application fees (direct) – Dynamic Pricing (Lawyers) Subscription / Membership fee (lawyers) Advertising / Service Directory fee (Projects)
  • 5. Day 1 – What we assessed... oIs there any interest for our marketplace? ◦ Spoke to prospective investors ◦ Spoke to immigration lawyers ◦ Spoke to EB-5 regional centers oWould you use our platform to select an investment project? oHow much would you pay for us to list your investment project and get you an investor? TEAM 18: EB-5 INVESTMENTS
  • 6. Day 1 – What we learned… Hypothesis Result Takeaway • Investors would prefer a centralized listing of all projects True But quality / security of project is more of a concern than aggregation • Businesses seeking financing will want to advertise their projects on our platform True They will pay a premium to avoid having to deal with extra agents and brokers • Can we sell directly to EB5 Brokers False No real interest in coopetition • Website is quickest way to reach target HNW foreign investors False Developing foreign partnerships is the quickest way TEAM 18: EB-5 INVESTMENTS
  • 7. Key partners Strategic Alliances: • Lawyers • Developers • Business seeking financing • Coopetition Strategic Partnerships (from competitors) -EB5 Brokers Key activities • Relationship building • Developing platform • Promotion of platform Key resources • • Day 2 Partner Relationships Foreign HNWI network Value proposition HNWI foreigners: • Risk Reduction • Convenience • Transparency Business seeking financing: • Access to low-cost capital • Increased visibility of projects Immigration Lawyers: • New client business • • Customer Acquisition • Advertising – Adsense • Presales services Developing Partner relations Developing Web Portal • GET: Trusted Broker • KEEP: Trusted Advisor • GROW: Referrals, Affiliate Program Channels Website Partnerships • Trade Advocacy Groups • Schools / Colleges • Foreign Agencies Customer segments HNWI foreigners • $2million + Net Worth • Age 40-60 • Child studying in the US Business seeking financing • Regional Centers • Real estate Developers Immigration Lawyers EB5 Broker Revenue streams Cost structure • Customer relationships • • • • Placement fees on investments (Brokerage) – Fixed Pricing (% Investment) Application fees (direct) – Dynamic Pricing (Lawyers) Subscription / Membership fee (lawyers) Advertising / Service Directory fee (Projects)
  • 8. Day 2 – What we assessed... o How do we get, keep, and grow new clients? o How do we define our key partnerships? o How do we define our revenue structure in light of our new customer segments? TEAM 18: EB-5 INVESTMENTS
  • 9. Day 2 – What we learned… Hypothesis Result Takeaway • Focusing on new foreign partnerships will penetrate the multiple layers in front of foreign investors True Foreign lawyers, private banks, trade advocacy groups all are useful channels to help get to different foreign investors • Focusing on businesses seeking financing and charging them more will be more profitable True Can make money on the placement fees as well as featured advertisement fees TEAM 18: EB-5 INVESTMENTS
  • 10. Day 3 Key partners Value proposition Key activities • Create Project Database Strategic Alliances: Customer segments Customer relationships Foreign Investors: PRODUCT - MARKET - FIT Foreign Investors: GET: Direct Sales, Partnerships • Develop Analysis Tool-pack • Risk Reduction Real Estate Developers • Implement Investor Due Diligence • Convenience – 1 stop shop GROW: Referrals, Affiliates • Regional Centres • Promotion of Platform • Legitimacy / Transparency GET: Direct Sales • Angel Investment Groups • Build “Key Partners” • • • Foreign Trade Agencies Schools/Colleges Co-opetition: • Immigration Lawyers Businesses Seeking Finance: • • • IP – Partnership Network (domestic) Foreign Investor Network (international) Access to Low Cost Capital Increased Visibility of Projects MVP: Net Worth: $2-50M • Age: 27– 60 • Origin: Emerging Market • KEEP: Ongoing Relations Key resources • • KEEP: Trusted Advisor Married / Family in U.S. GROW: Referrals Businesses Seeking Finance: Channels Website • • Foreign Lawyers & Agents Real Estate Investments • • Foreign Trade Agencies Seek $5M+ funds • Partnerships: Distressed Businesses EB5 Brokers Qualified Project Listings • Private Banks • Project Comparative Analysis Reports • Chambers of Commerce EB5 Brokers • • • Investor Due Diligence • Angel Investment Groups Immigration Lawyers Revenue streams Cost structure Customer Acquisition: • Google Adsense • Due diligence costs on HNWIs & Projects Recurring: • Site Development & Maintenance • Development of Foreign partnerships Businesses Seeking Finance: Foreign Investors: • Free membership to website • % Investment placement • Advertising – “Featured Projects” fee
  • 11. Day 3 – What we assessed... oWhat relationship exists between attorneys and Regional Centers? ◦ Spoke to immigration lawyers ◦ Spoke to EB-5 regional centers oWould attorneys use our platform to select an investment project? oWhat is the fee structure currently in place? TEAM 18: EB-5 INVESTMENTS
  • 12. Day 3 – What we learned… Hypothesis Result Takeaway • Attorneys will source deals through us False They earn more fees from Regional Centers • Our portal reduces risk and increases transparency True Primary need for HNWIs • Attorneys will align with us False We are viewed as their competition • We can earn more revenue via both transaction and finders fees True We can undercut attorneys and brokers with lower fees TEAM 18: EB-5 INVESTMENTS
  • 13. Key Activities Key Partners • Operate as a niche Investment Advisor Strategic Alliances: • Private Banks • Chambers of Commerce Immigration Lawyers Risk Reduction • Convenience • Transparency • • IP – Partnership Network (domestic) • Google AdSense • Lawyers & Advisors: Due diligence costs on HNWIs & Projects • • Net Worth: $2-50M • Age: 27– 60 • Origin: Emerging Market • KEEP: Trusted Advisor KEEP: Ongoing Relations Married / Family in U.S. Businesses Seeking Finance: Channels • Increased Visibility of Projects • In person Real Estate Investments • • Web Portal Seek $5M+ funds • Direct: Access to Low Cost Capital Distressed Businesses MVP: • List of vetted clients Revenue Streams Cost Structure • Foreign Investors: GET: Direct Sales Businesses Seeking Finance: Foreign Investor Network (international) Day 4 Customer Acquisition: GET: Viral Loop, Partnerships GROW: Referrals Key Resources Customer Segments Customer Relationships GROW: Referrals, Affiliates • Build “Key Partners” Co-opetition: • • • Implement Investor Due Diligence Foreign Trade Agencies • Foreign Investors: • Create Database of Investors & lawyers Angel Investment Groups • Value Proposition Recurring: • Registering as Broker-Dealer • Site Development & Maintenance • Development of Foreign partnerships Businesses Seeking Finance: Foreign Investors: • Management & Performance Fees • % Investment placement • Advertising – “Featured EB5 Investments - fee 18 Projects” Team TEAM 18: EB-5 INVESTMENTS
  • 14. Day 4 – What we assessed... o How many channels are necessary? o What partnerships are worthwhile? o What are the underlying investor concerns? TEAM 18: EB-5 INVESTMENTS
  • 15. Day 4 – What we learned… Hypothesis Result Takeaway • Investors only care about lowest capital investment False Investors valued capital preservation over lowest capital investment • Regional centers is a great business model to copy False Regional centers are not that profitable and no real value add from certification • Investors are open to any business investment type False Certain investors are not interested in any arbitrary business but would rather use their funds to create their own business TEAM 18: EB-5 INVESTMENTS
  • 16. Pivot: o Focus on Direct Investments - $1MM ◦ Higher approval rate for greencard ◦ Higher return on investment for investors o Focus on New Business Opportunities o Offer Investment Advisory Services ◦ Sticky customer relationships TEAM 18: EB-5 INVESTMENTS
  • 17. Day 5 Key Partners • Operate as a niche Investment Advisor Strategic Alliances: • • Create Database of Investors & lawyers Angel Investment Groups • • • Transparency Resources • Chambers of Commerce • Co-opetition: • IP – Partnership Network (domestic) Foreign Investor Network Attorneys • Google AdSense • Attorneys & Advisors: Due diligence costs Recurring: • Compliance • Website • Foreign partnerships • Net Worth: $2-50M • Age: 27– 60 • Married / Family in U.S. GROW: Referrals Channels Direct: Project Visibility Businesses: • Website • List of vetted clients and projects • • In person MVP: Seek $5M+ funds • Real Estate • Attorneys • Distressed Businesses Revenue Streams Cost Structure Customer Acquisition: Chinese, Korean, British KEEP: Trusted Partner Businesses: • • GET: Direct Sales, Conferences Convenience • Build “Key Partners” Foreign Investors: KEEP: Trusted Advisor GROW: Referrals, Affiliates Risk Reduction • Private Banks • • Customer Segments GET: Referrals, Partnerships Foreign Investors: • Due Diligence Foreign Trade Agencies Customer Relationships Value Proposition Key Activities • Admin & Management Fees • Placement Fees EB5 Investments - Team 18 TEAM 18: EB-5 INVESTMENTS
  • 18. Market Size Total Addressable Market: $8.5Bn Served Market: $3.25Bn • Total Market = 10,000 EB5 visas p/a (3000 reserved for Regional Centres) • Served Market = Last year 6,517 applications received THEREFORE significant unutilized Capacity Targeted Opportunity : Opportunity: $5.25Bn • 1% of unutilized capacity + served capacity @ $45,000 per customer = $3.15MM REVENUE TEAM 18: EB-5 INVESTMENTS
  • 19. EB-5 Market Analysis Attorney Delivered Clients Foreign Investor $45,000 $15,000 EB-5 Invest. $20,000 Direct Investment $1,000,000 min investment LTV = $140,000* > (CAC = 15,000 + COGS = 12,000) *$45k Admin Fee + $15k annual 1.5% Management Fees + $20k Placement Fee TEAM 18: EB-5 INVESTMENTS
  • 20. Timeline: 4 Months – TARGET Close 8 Sales 3 Months – Strategic Management of Projects, Talent Management, Continue Offline Alliances 2 Months – Relationship building, Buy client list, Work on Referrals 1 Month – Acquire licenses, Attend conferences, Develop Blog, Promote Website + Services Today – Finalise Current Deal 1, Find Investor for 2nd project , Develop Website, Secure Relations with Foreign Lawyers & Agencies TEAM 18: EB-5 INVESTMENTS
  • 21. Key Takeaways: Customer Development • • • • Who are the right customers? What is the right value proposition? Which is the right revenue model? GET OUT OF THE BUILDING! Business Model Design • It’s an iterative process. • The Big Picture – There are patterns – We saw from class teams presenting. Team Dynamics • It’s stressful! It’s hard work! It has it’s Ups and Downs! • We Survived! TEAM 18: EB-5 INVESTMENTS
  • 22. Is this a viable business? o We have signed up 2 business projects o We have signed up 1 Foreign Investor o More referrals coming o YES! We will continue the search.. TEAM 18: EB-5 INVESTMENTS