Certificate in Dementia Care Level 2


Published on

Certificate in Dementia Care Level 2 is for individuals who work with people with Demetria. It will teach individuals how to offer the best care and remain person centered throughout.

For more information please contact us on: 0121 707 0550 or e-mail: inf@pathwaygroup.co.uk

Published in: Healthcare
  • Be the first to comment

  • Be the first to like this

No Downloads
Total views
On SlideShare
From Embeds
Number of Embeds
Embeds 0
No embeds

No notes for slide

Certificate in Dementia Care Level 2

  1. 1. Certificate in Dementia Care Level 2 Who is the course for? The EDI Level 2Certificate in Dementia Care has been developed to guide and assesses learners’knowledge, understanding and skills relating to caring for individuals with dementia. The qualification is aimed at those who are already working in care roles with individuals with dementia and provide an opportunity to have their knowledge and skills recognised through the achievement of a nationally accredited qualification. Course Content The course assesses learners’competence, i.e. their ability to competently perform a range of tasks in areas of practice such as person centred working, communication and interaction, equality and diversity, individuals’rights and choices. It will also teach effective strategies to better support individuals with Dementia. Course Delivery & Assessment This qualification is designed to be assessed in the learner’s workplace as they undertake their normal work role. The evidence must at all times reflect the policies and procedures of the workplace as informed by current legislation, the relevant service standards and the codes of practice for the sector. To successfully achieve a unit the learner must gather evidence which shows that they have met the required standard in the assessment criteria. Evidence can take a variety of different forms and assessors should identify an appropriate assessment method which reflects the assessment principles. However, appropriate assessment may take the form of one of the following examples: • Multiple choice test • Direct observation of the learner’s performance by their assessor • Outcomes from oral or written questioning • Products of the learner’s work • Personal statements and/or reflective accounts • Outcomes from simulation where permitted by • The assessment strategy • Professional discussion • Expert witness testimony • Evidence of Recognition of Prior Learning (RPL) Progression Opportunities It is anticipated that learners will progress on to the level 2 Diploma in Health & Social Care or the Level 3 Award in Awareness of Dementia or Level 3 Certificate in Dementia Care For more information contact Pathway Group on: 0121 707 0550 or e-mail: info@pathwaygroup.co.uk For more information contact Pathway Group on 0800 955 0870 or 0121 707 0550 or visit www.pathwaygroup.co.uk