Successfully reported this slideshow.
We use your LinkedIn profile and activity data to personalize ads and to show you more relevant ads. You can change your ad preferences anytime.

The Commonwealth of Nations


Published on

Published in: Education
  • Be the first to comment

The Commonwealth of Nations

  1. 1. <ul><ul><li>The Commonwealth </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><li>of </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><li>Nations </li></ul></ul>
  2. 2. What is the Commonwealth of Nations?
  3. 3. <ul><li>It is an intergovernmental organisation made up of fifty-four independent member states, all but two of which were formerly part of the British Empire. The member states co-operate within a framework of common values and goals, including the promotion of democracy, human rights, good governance, the rule of law, individual liberty, egalitarianism, free trade, multilateralism and world peace. </li></ul>
  4. 4. <ul><li>The Commonwealth is not a political union , but an intergovernmental organisation through which countries with diverse social, political and economic backgrounds are regarded as equal in status. The symbol of this free association is the Head of the Commonwealth , which is a ceremonial position currently held by Queen Elizabeth II . </li></ul>
  5. 5. What's Elizabeth II's role?
  6. 6. Elizabeth II is also the monarch , separately, of sixteen members of the Commonwealth, informally known as the Commonwealth realms . As each realm is an independent kingdom, the Queen, as monarch, holds a distinct title for each, though, by a Meeting of Commonwealth Prime Ministers in 1952, all include the style Head of the Commonwealth at the end; for example: Elizabeth the Second, by the Grace of God, Queen of Australia and of Her other Realms and Territories, Head of the Commonwealth . Beyond the realms, the majority of the members of the Commonwealth have separate heads of state: thirty-three members are republics , and five members have distinct monarchs: the Sultan of Brunei ; the King of Lesotho ; the Yang di-Pertuan Agong (or King) of Malaysia ; the King of Swaziland ; and the King of Tonga .
  7. 7. Which countries are members of the Commonwealth of Nations?
  8. 8. <ul><li>Antigua and Barbuda </li></ul><ul><li>Australia </li></ul><ul><li>Bahamas </li></ul><ul><li>Bangladesh </li></ul><ul><li>Barbados </li></ul><ul><li>Belize </li></ul><ul><li>Botswana </li></ul><ul><li>Brunei </li></ul><ul><li>Cameroon </li></ul><ul><li>Canada </li></ul><ul><li>Cyprus </li></ul><ul><li>Dominica </li></ul><ul><li>Gambia </li></ul><ul><li>Ghana </li></ul><ul><li>Grenada </li></ul><ul><li>Pakistan </li></ul><ul><li>Papua New Guinea </li></ul><ul><li>Rwanda </li></ul><ul><li>Saint Kitts and Nevis </li></ul><ul><li>Saint Lucia </li></ul><ul><li>Saint Vicent and the Grenadines </li></ul><ul><li>Samoa </li></ul><ul><li>Seychelles </li></ul><ul><li>Sierra Leone </li></ul><ul><li>Singapore </li></ul><ul><li>Solomon Islands </li></ul><ul><li>South Africa </li></ul><ul><li>Sri Lanka </li></ul><ul><li>Swaziland </li></ul><ul><li>Tonga </li></ul><ul><li>Trinidad and Tobago </li></ul><ul><li>Tuvalu </li></ul><ul><li>Uganda </li></ul><ul><li>United Kingdom </li></ul><ul><li>Vanuatu </li></ul><ul><li>Zambia </li></ul><ul><li>Guyana </li></ul><ul><li>India </li></ul><ul><li>Jamaica </li></ul><ul><li>Kenya </li></ul><ul><li>Kiribati </li></ul><ul><li>Lesotho </li></ul><ul><li>Malawi </li></ul><ul><li>Malaysia </li></ul><ul><li>Maldives </li></ul><ul><li>Malta </li></ul><ul><li>Mauritius </li></ul><ul><li>Mozambique </li></ul><ul><li>Namibia </li></ul><ul><li>Nauru </li></ul><ul><li>New Zealand </li></ul><ul><li>Nigeria </li></ul>
  9. 10. Source: