Successfully reported this slideshow.
We use your LinkedIn profile and activity data to personalize ads and to show you more relevant ads. You can change your ad preferences anytime.

Yoga Philsophy 9.19.09


Published on


Yoga Philsophy 9.19.09

  2. 2.
  3. 3.
  4. 4.
  5. 5.
  6. 6.
  7. 7.
  8. 8.
  9. 9.
  10. 10. Classical Divisions of Yoga <br />The 4 Classical Divisions of Yoga and where our Hatha Yoga practice fits<br />
  11. 11.
  12. 12.
  13. 13.
  14. 14.
  15. 15.
  16. 16. Hatha Yoga<br />Toward a contemporary practice<br />
  17. 17.
  18. 18.
  19. 19.
  20. 20.
  21. 21.
  22. 22. Yoga History and Tradition<br />Approximate outline of the History of Yoga <br />
  23. 23. Yoga History1.<br />
  24. 24. Yoga History: 2500 BC – 100 BC<br />
  25. 25. Yoga History 100 BC -500 AD<br />
  26. 26. Yoga History… 200 AD<br />
  27. 27. Yoga History… 200 AD<br />
  28. 28. Yoga History… 800 AD<br />
  29. 29. Yoga History… 900 AD – 1000 AD<br />
  30. 30. Yoga History… 1350 AD<br />
  31. 31. Yoga History… 1750 AD<br />
  32. 32. Yoga History… 1750 AD<br />
  33. 33. Yoga History… 1893 AD<br />
  34. 34. Evolution Through Involution<br />Moving from the Physical and Individual to the Spiritual and Universal<br />
  35. 35. OM<br />GROSS<br />SUBTLE<br />Kosha: Sheathes of Being<br />8-limbs of Patanjali<br />Chakra<br />Body: Inhale Gross Anatomy<br />Annanamaya Kosha: Food Body<br />Yama: Ethical Principles<br />Muladhara: Root Chakra &quot;primal instinct&quot; <br /> &quot;A&quot; is Waking<br />Pranayama Kosha: The Vital body<br />Niyama: Inward observances<br />Swadhisthana: Sacral Chakra &quot;Creation&quot;<br />The Sound &quot;U&quot; is Dreaming / Subtle: <br />Manamaya Kosha: The mental body<br />Asana: Dynamic extension from and toward the core<br />Manipura: Solar Plexus Chakra &quot;Personal Power&quot;<br />&quot;M&quot; is Deep Sleep / Causal:<br />Annanamaya Kosha: The Intellectual Body<br />Pranayama: Energetic Body (Prana)<br />Anahata: Heart Chakra &quot;Emotion&quot;<br />Final silence: &quot;A-U-M&quot; is the True Self<br />Annanamaya Kosha: The Bliss Body <br />Pratyahara: Sense Withdrawal<br />Vishuddha: Throat Chakra &quot;Expression&quot;<br />Dharana: Concentration<br />Ajna: 3rd Eye Chakra &quot;Insight&quot;<br />Dhyana: Meditation<br />Sahasrara: &quot;Pure consciousness&quot;<br />Samadhi: Freedom (moska) through<br />
  36. 36.
  37. 37. Caduceus <br /> Together, the Ida and Pingala nadis form the snakes of the caduceus, while Sushumna forms the staff. The snakes intersect at the chakras, as do the nadis described above. <br /> At the ajna chakra, between the eyebrows, there are two petals, one on either side, just as there are two wings at the top of the caduceus.<br />
  38. 38. Yoga Sutra 2.49<br />
  39. 39.
  40. 40. Sahasrara: “The Crown Chakra” may be seen similarly to the pituitary gland, which secretes hormones to communicate to the rest of the endocrine system and connects to the central nervous system via the hypothalamus. Ajna: “The Brow Chakra” (also known as the third eye chakra) is linked to the pineal gland which may inform a model of its envisioning. The pineal gland is a light sensitive gland that produces the hormone melatonin, which regulates sleep and waking up. Vishuddha: “The Throat Chakra” may be understood as relating to communication and growth through expression. This chakra is paralleled to the thyroid, a gland that is also in the throat and which produces thyroid hormone, responsible for growth and maturation. Anahata: “The Heart Chakra” is related to the thymus, located in the chest. The thymus is an element of the immune system as well as being part of the endocrine system. It is the site of maturation of the T cells responsible for fending off disease and may be adversely affected by stress.Manipura: The “Solar Plexus Chakra” is related to the metabolic and digestive systems. Manipura is believed to correspond to groups of cells in the pancreas, as well as the outer adrenal glands and the adrenal cortex. These play a valuable role in digestion, the conversion of food matter into energy for the body. Svadhisthana: “The Sacral Chakra” is located in the sacrum (hence the name) and is considered to correspond to the testes or the ovaries that produce the various sex hormones involved in the reproductive cycle. Svadhisthana is considered to be related to, more generally, the genitourinary system and the adrenals.Muladhara: “The Base Chakra” is related to instinct, security, survival and basic human potentiality. This centre is located in the region between the genitals and the anus. Although no endocrine organ is placed here, it is said to relate to the gonads and the adrenal medulla, responsible for the fight-or-flight response when survival is under threat.<br />
  41. 41.
  42. 42. The Vital Body<br />Prana and its role in Hatha Yoga<br />
  43. 43.
  44. 44.
  45. 45.
  46. 46.
  47. 47. Yoga and the 8-Fold Path<br />Patanjali’s Ashtanga as related through the Yoga Sutras<br />
  48. 48. Samadhi Pada: (51 sutras)<br />&quot;Yogaścitta-vritti-nirodhaḥ&quot; Yoga Sutra 1.1 & 1.2<br />&quot;Yoga is the restraint of mental modifications”<br />1. Now concentration is explained.<br />2. Yoga is restraining the mind-stuff (Chitta) from taking various forms (Vrttis) <br />Swami Vivekananda<br /> or <br />1. OM: Here follows Instruction in Union <br />2. Union, spiritual consciousness, is gained through control of the versatile psychic nature <br />--Charles Johnson<br />
  49. 49. Sadhana Pada (55 Sutras)<br /> Sadhana is the Sanskrit word for &quot;practice&quot; or &quot;discipline&quot;. Here the author outlines two forms of Yoga: Ashtanga Yoga (Eightfold or Eight limbed Yoga) and Kriya Yoga (Action Yoga).<br />Note: Kriya yoga, sometimes called Karma Yoga. In the Bhagavad-Gita, Arjuna is encouraged by Krishna to act without attachment to the results or fruit of action and activity. In other words, Kriya yoga is the yoga of selfless action and service.<br />
  50. 50. “Vibhuti Pada” (56 sutras)<br /> Vibhuti is the Sanskrit word for &quot;power&quot; or &quot;manifestation&quot;. ’<br /> Supra-normal powers&apos; (Siddhi) are acquired by the practice of yoga. <br /><ul><li>the entering of another’s soul
  51. 51. ability to fly or move great distances in moments
  52. 52. increase or decrease in size
  53. 53. the ability to acquire great wealth with little effort </li></ul> Disclaimer: The temptation of these powers should be avoided and the attention should be fixed only on liberation.<br />
  54. 54. Kaivalya Pada (34 sutras)<br />Kaivalya literally means &quot;isolation&quot;, however the SutrasKaivalya means emancipation or liberation, which is the goal of Yoga <br />Moksha(liberation)<br />Jivamukti(one who has attained Moksha).<br />The Kaivalya Pada describes the nature of liberation and the reality of the transcendental self.<br />Think Samadhi<br />
  55. 55.
  56. 56. Ahimsa- “to do no harm…”<br />
  57. 57. Satya<br />
  58. 58.
  59. 59.
  60. 60. Aparigraha “non-grasping”<br />
  61. 61. Niyamas<br />
  62. 62. Saucha“Cleanliness”<br />
  63. 63. Samtosha “Contentment”<br />
  64. 64. Tapas “Heat”<br />