Successfully reported this slideshow.



Published on

Discussion of SEA

Published in: Education, Technology, Business
  • Be the first to comment


  1. 1.  Southeast Asia or Southeastern Asia is a subregion of Asia, consisting of the countries that are geographically south of China, east of India and north of Australia.  Southeast Asia consists of two geographic regions: the Asian mainland, and island arcs and archipelagoes to the east and southeast.
  2. 2. The mainland section consists of  Burma (Myanmar)  Cambodia  Laos  Thailand  Vietnam  Malaysia (or to be more precise, Peninsular Malaysia)
  3. 3. The maritime section consists of:  Brunei  East Timor  Indonesia  Bornean Malaysia  Philippines  Singapore
  4. 4.  Austronesian peoples predominate in this region.  The major religions are Buddhism and Islam, followed by Christianity.  However a wide variety of religions are found throughout the region, including many Hindu and animist-influenced practices.
  5. 5. Divisions  Political  Definitions of "Southeast Asia" vary, but most definitions include the area represented by the countries:  Brunei  Burma (Myanmar)  Cambodia  East Timor  Indonesia  Laos  Malaysia  Philippines  Singapore  Thailand  Vietnam
  6. 6.  All of the above excluding East Timor are members of the Association of Southeast Asian Nations (commonly abbreviated ASEAN.  The area, together with part of South Asia, was widely known as the East Indies or simply the Indies until the twentieth century.  Taiwan is sometimes considered part of Southeast Asia as well as East Asia but it is not a member of ASEAN.
  7. 7.  Papua is politically part of Southeast Asia through Indonesia, although geographically it is often considered as part of Oceania.
  8. 8. Geographical  Southeast Asia is geographically divided into two subregions, namely Mainland Southeast Asia (or Indochina) and the Maritime Southeast Asia (or the Malay Archipelago) (Indonesian language: Nusantara).
  9. 9. Mainland Southeast Asia  Burma (Myanmar)  Cambodia  Laos  Thailand  Vietnam  Peninsular Malaysia
  10. 10. Maritime Southeast Asia  East Malaysia  Brunei  East Timor  Indonesia  Philippines  Singapore
  11. 11.  The eastern parts of Indonesia and East Timor (east of Wallace Line) are considered to be geographically parts of Oceania.  The Andaman and Nicobar Islands of India are geographically considered part of Southeast Asia.  Bangladesh and the Seven Sisters in India is culturally part of Southeast Asia and sometimes considered both South Asian and Southeast Asian.
  12. 12.  Hainan Island and several other southern Chinese regions such as Yunnan, Guizhou, Fujian, Guangxi, Hunan, Jiangxi, Zhejiang and Guangdong, as well as Hong Kong and Macau are sometimes considered both East Asian and Southeast Asian.
  13. 13.  Taiwan, which sits on the Tropic of Cancer and borders the South China Sea, is likewise often included in definitions of Southeast Asia as well as East Asia.
  14. 14.  The rest of New Guinea is sometimes included so are the Federated States of Micronesia, Palau, Guam, and the Northern Mariana Islands, which were all part of the Spanish East Indies.
  15. 15. Country      Area  (km2 )      Population  (2009 est.)      Density  (/km2 )      Capital      Brunei 5,765 400,000 69.4 Bandar Seri Begawan Burma (Myanmar) 676,578 50,020,000 73.9 Naypyidaw Cambodia 181,035 14,805,000 81.8 Phnom Penh East Timor (Timor-Leste) 14,874 1,134,000 76.2 Dili Indonesia 1,904,569 229,965,000 120.7 Jakarta Laos 236,800 6,320,000 26.7 Vientiane Malaysia 329,847 27,468,000 83.3 Kuala Lumpur Philippines 300,000 91,983,000 306.6 Manila Singapore 697 4,737,000 6,796.3 City of Singapore (Downtown Core) Thailand 513,120 67,764,000 132.1 Bangkok Vietnam 331,210 88,069,000 265.0 Hanoi
  16. 16. Assignment  In your notebook, discuss the history and culture of Southeast Asia