Online advertising


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Online Advertising or Internet Advertising is based on Internet to deliver promotional messages to consumers.
This presentation talks about what,how,why,where,when about Online advertising.
Benefits of Online Advertising
• Cost
• Measurability
• Formatting
• Targeting
• Coverage
• Speed
• Time Duration

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Online advertising

  1. 1. Online Advertising Effective Way to reach right audience Renzil D’cruz
  2. 2. Online Advertising • What is Online Advertising? Online Advertising or Internet Advertising is based on Internet to deliver promotional messages to consumers. • How is Online Advertising done? – Email marketing – Search engine optimization – Search engine marketing – Social media marketing – online video marketing – Display advertising – Web banner – Mobile advertising – Adware – Affiliate Marketing – Other platforms
  3. 3. Online Advertising Email marketing Search engine optimization
  4. 4. Online Advertising Search engine marketing Social media marketing
  5. 5. Online Advertising Online video marketing Display Advertising
  6. 6. Online Advertising Web banner Renzil D’cruz Mobile advertising
  7. 7. Online Advertising Adware Affiliate Marketing
  8. 8. Advertising Methods Display advertising Web banner advertising
  9. 9. Advertising Methods Frame ad (traditional banner) Pop-ups/pop-unders
  10. 10. Advertising Methods Floating ad Expanding ad
  11. 11. Advertising Methods Text ads Trick banners Renzil D’cruz
  12. 12. Advertising Methods Sponsored search Online classified advertising
  13. 13. Tools to Measure: Compensation Methods • Advertisers and publishers use a wide range of payment calculation methods. • CPI (cost per impression) • CPC (cost per click) • CPA (Cost Per Action ) • CPA (Cost Per Acquisition) • PPP (Pay Per Performance) Online advertising transactionsAdvertisers calculation,2012 cost-perimpression (CPI) • Click-through rate (CTR) customer performance (CPC/CPA) • Pay Per Lead(PPL) hybrid • Fixed Cost Renzil D’cruz
  14. 14. What is CPM? How to calculate? • To calculate CPM, marketers first state the results of a media campaign (gross impressions). Second, they divide that result into the relevant media cost: • Advertising Cost ($) / Impressions GeneratedFor example: • Total cost for running the ad is $15,000. • The total estimated audience is 2,400,000 people. • ($15,000/2,400,000) = $0.00625 • CPM is calculated as: $0.00625 x 1000 (meaning per thousand views) = $6.25 • Note: Notice how the CPM is $6.25 and not $0.00625, this is because we are looking at cost per thousand. • In online advertising, if a website sells banner ads for a $20 CPM, that means it costs $20 to show the banner on 1000 page views.
  15. 15. Other Measures • CTR = (Clicks /Impressions) x 100 • VTR=(Viewthrough/Impressions) x 100 • CPA and affiliate marketing campaigns are publisher-centric. Advertisers cede control over where their brand will appear, as publishers browse offers and pick which to run on their websites. Advertisers generally do not know where their offer is running. • CPL campaigns are usually high volume and light-weight. In CPL campaigns, consumers submit only basic contact information. The transaction can be as simple as an email address. On the other hand, CPA campaigns are usually low volume and complex. Typically, consumer has to submit credit card and other detailed information
  16. 16. Current Trends : SEM & PPC • SEM and specifically pay-per-click marketing (PPC) are fastgrowing advertising methods. • Begin with solid keyword research: Keyword research is the core component of effective online marketing and using keywords in advertising. Make sure your research is data-driven. • Organize and group your keywords: Keyword grouping allows for more strategic online advertising for both PPC and SEO campaigns. • Commit to Advertising Online: To see continuous benefits, you should regularly update and improve your online marketing campaigns.
  17. 17. Industry Revenue • In 2011, Internet advertising revenues in the United States surpassed those of cable television and nearly exceeded those of broadcast television. • In 2012, Internet advertising revenues in the United States totaled $36.57 billion, a 15.2% increase over the $31.74 billion in revenues in 2011. • The Indian M&E industry is projected to grow 11.8 per cent to clock revenues worth Rs 91, 700 crore (US$ 15 billion) in 2013 Renzil D’cruz
  18. 18. Some Indie-View • The Indian media and entertainment (M&E) industry grew from Rs 728 billion (US$ 11.91 billion) in 2011 to Rs 820 billion (US$ 13.42 billion) in 2012; marking a growth of 12.6 per cent. • Total advertising expenditure (AdEx) across media stood at Rs 327.4 billion (US$ 5.36 billion) in 2012 while advertising revenues increased by 9 per cent. • Print continued to be the largest beneficiary, accounting for 46 per cent of the advertising pie at Rs 150 billion (US$ 2.45 billion). • Furthermore, television continued to be a dominant segment in the M&E industry while new media sectors (like animation/VFX) and Films and Music segments recorded strong growth. Radio is expected to witness great emancipation, post the roll-out of Phase 3 licensing, at a compounded annual growth rate (CAGR) of 16.6 per cent over 2012-17. Source : Aug’13
  19. 19. Online Advertising Platforms • Google AdSense +Google AdWords • Yahoo! Advertising Network +Microsoft Advertising adCenter +Microsoft Ad Network=Yahoo! Bing Network • TribalFusion • PocketCents • • Clicksor • Vibrant • AdBrite • InfoLinks • Bidvertiser • Kontera. • Chitika Renzil D’cruz
  20. 20. Benefits of Online Advertising • Cost • Measurability • Formatting • Targeting • Coverage • Speed • Time Duration Renzil D’cruz
  21. 21. Issues in Online Advertising • Banner blindness • Fraud on the Advertiser • Technological Frauds. • Ad-blocking and Ad-filtering • Anti-targeting technologies • Privacy Concerns • spam
  22. 22. Thank You. • Questions ??? • Comments #@$% • Concerns !!! Source: