Legislative Calendar Weekending 011510


Published on

28th Legislature of the Virgin Islands Calendar weekending 011510.

  • Be the first to comment

  • Be the first to like this

No Downloads
Total views
On SlideShare
From Embeds
Number of Embeds
Embeds 0
No embeds

No notes for slide

Legislative Calendar Weekending 011510

  1. 1.   Monday, January 11, 2010 , Committ tee No Committee Meeting Sc C cheduled Location n: RESE ERVED FOR CONSTITUENT MEE R ETINGS AND OFFICE W D WORK __________ ___________ ____________ ___________ ___________ ____________ ___________ __________ Tuesday, January 12, 2010 , Committ tee No Committee Meeting Sc C cheduled Location n: ERVED FOR CONSTITUENT MEE RESE R ETINGS AND OFFICE W D WORK __________ ___________ ____________ ___________ ___________ ____________ ___________ ____________ __ Wednesd day, Janua 13, 201 ary 10 Time: 9:00 AM A Committ tee: Econ nomic Devel lopment, En nergy and T Technology Location n: Earle B. Ottley L e Legislative H Hall, St. Thomas Agenda A The Comm mittee on Ec conomic Development, Energy and Technolog will recei testimony d gy ive y from gover rnment offic cials, corpora executive representa ate e, atives of non nprofit agenc and cies interested m member of th communi on the pe he ity ending imple ementation o a recent ag of greement wit th Alpine Ene ergy Group to produce th Territory’s energy using a combin petroleu coke and t he ned um waste-to ennergy methood
  2. 2. Invited Testifiers: Mr. Hugo V. Hodge, Jr., Mr. Mark Hardgrove Executive Director Superintendent Virgin Island Water & Power Authority National Park Service Mr. Robert S. Mathes Mr. Jose Font Commissioner Deputy Director Department of Planning and Natural San Juan Resources Environmental Protection Agency Ms. May Adams Cornwall Mr. Paul Chakroff Executive Director Virgin Islands Conservation Society Virgin Islands Waste Management Authority Mr. Glen Berger Mr. Chuck Tilson Partner, Energy & Infrastructure Projects, Program and Contract Manager Skadden, Arps, Slate, Meagher & Florm LLP Mr. James Beach Mr. Paul Devine President Executive Director Alpine Energy Group St. John Community Foundation Mr. Donald Hurd Ms. Helen Gjessing Executive Vice President Environmental Association of St. Thomas Alpine Energy Group   Mr. Andy Hixson Mr. Don Porter Vice President Private Citizen Environmental and Permitting, Alpine Energy Group Mr. Adam Warren Mr. Clarence Payne Senior Project Engineer President National Renewable Energy Laboratory Bovoni Homeowner’s Association 12:00 PM Lunch 1:30 PM Walk-in testifiers from the community – 2 minutes each with continuing rounds of questions
  3. 3. ______________________________________________________________________________ Thursday, January 14, 2010 Time: 10:00 AM Committee: Rules and Judiciary Location: Frits E. Lawaetz Conference Room, St. Croix Agenda The Committee on Rules and Judiciary will meet to consider the following bill Bill No. 28-0164 – An Act amending 24 VIC Chapter 14, to increase the number of members of the PERB Board and establish a fine for willful or malicious violations of its orders by public employers Invited Testifiers: Mr. Andre Dorsey Mr. Tyrone Molyneaux President President International Association St. Croix Federation of Teachers STT/STJ District 2125 Mr. Joseph Gumbs Ms. Vernelle de la Garde President President LESU Local 118 STT District St. Thomas Federation of Teachers Sgt. Robert S. Matthew Mr. Aubrey Lee President Chairman Law Enforcement Supervisor PERB Union, STX District Mr. Luis “Tito” Morales Ms. Zandra Petersen President Director United Steel Worker Local 8249 PERB Ms. Shalima Joseph President Union Member in Action, Inc., STX
  4. 4. ________________________________________________________________________________ Friday January 15, 2010 Committee: No Committee Meeting Scheduled Location: RESERVED FOR CONSTITUENT MEETINGS AND OFFICE WORK _________________________________________________________________________________ Monday January 18, 2010 Committee: HOLIDAY Martin Luther King Day _________________________________________________________________________________ Tuesday, January 19, 2010 Time: Committee: Appropriations and Budget Location: Agenda TO BE ANNOUNCED Tuesday, January 19, 2010 Time: 6:00PM Committee: Financial Services, Infrastructure and Consumer Affairs Location: Earle B. Ottley Legislative Hall, St. Thomas Agenda
  5. 5. TO BE ANNOUNCED ____________________________________________________________________________________ Wednesday, January 20, 2010 Time: 10:00 AM Committee: Public Safety, Homeland Security and Justice Location: Frits E. Lawaetz Conference Room, St. Croix Agenda TO BE ANNOUNCED ______________________________________________________________________________ Thursday, January 21, 2010 Time: 10:00 AM Committee: Education, Youth and Culture Location: Earle B. Ottley Legislative Hall, St. Thomas Agenda The Committee on Education, Youth and Culture has scheduled a follow up meeting in order to complete the consideration of the following bills: 10:00 AM Bill No. 28-0008 – An Act amending title 14 V.I.C., relating to the prevention of pornography and exploitation of children Bill No. 28-0046 – An Act amending title 17 V.I.C., Chapter 5 section 41 to add subsection (d) to require an Emergency Medical Technician and Paramedic course of study in the public high schools of the Virgin Islands. Bill No. 28-0155 – An Act to establish the Education Policy Improvement act of 2009
  6. 6. Bill No. 28-0143 – An Act amending 3 V.I.C., chapter 19, to create the Centennial Commission Bill No. 28-0159 An Act amending title 1 Virgin Islands Code, chapter 11 section 171 commemorating laborers on Fireburn Day as a day to be revered and remembered in the Virgin Islands 1:00 PM – 2:00 PM Lunch Break 2:00 PM In response to numerous inquiries from the community territory wide relative to the operations of the Division of Cultural Education, V.I. Department of Education, the committee is seeking answers to the concerns and questions as follows: 1. Account # M7083: Original Appropriation: $ 2,289,938 – FYE - 2009 Amount Allotted: $ 1,194,819 Amount not Allotted: $ 1,095,119 (Why not? Prior to FYE 9-30-09) 2. Inadequate office spaces: Present facility [150 sq ft Approx] 3. Relocation of Program Office: New facility needed [800 sq ft of space? Approx] Invited Testifiers: Honorable La Verne Terry, Ed. D., Mr. Gerard M. Emanuel Commissioner Assistant Director Department of Education Division of Cultural Education Department of Education Dr. Sarah Mahurt Ms. Debra Gottlieb Deputy Commissioner Director Curriculum and Instruction Management and Budget Department of Education Mr. Glen “Kwabena” Davis, Director
  7. 7. Division of Cultural Education Department of Education __________________________________________________________________________ Friday January 22, 2010 Committee: No Committee Meeting Scheduled Location: RESERVED FOR CONSTITUENT MEETINGS AND OFFICE WORK