Bill Lewis MCBOA Vice President
<ul><li>What 3 ways can a “Dead Ball” to become “Live” ? </li></ul><ul><ul><li>1. Jump Ball… </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><ul><l...
<ul><li>Most Common Ways for a “Live Ball” to </li></ul><ul><li>become “Dead” ? </li></ul><ul><ul><li>1. A  Goal  is  Made...
<ul><li>Most Common Ways for a “Live Ball” to </li></ul><ul><li>become “Dead” ? </li></ul><ul><ul><li>4. An Official’s WHI...
<ul><li>When a  CONTACT  foul occurs during a  LIVE BALL   the foul MUST be  PERSONAL , it can’t be a Technical Foul !! </...
<ul><li>When a  CONTACT  foul occurs during a  DEAD BALL   the foul  MUST  be  TECHNICAL . </li></ul><ul><li>Kolbe Bryant ...
<ul><li>  1. Failure to award a  merited  FT (should have </li></ul><ul><li>shot, but didn’t) </li></ul><ul><li>2. Awardin...
Bill Lewis MCBOA Vice President
<ul><li>Rule 2-10-4… </li></ul><ul><li>If the error is a free throw by the wrong player or at the wrong basket, or the awa...
<ul><li>Rule 2-10-5… </li></ul><ul><li>Points scored, consumed time and additional activity,  which may occur prior  to th...
<ul><li>Rule 2-10-6… </li></ul><ul><li>If an error is corrected, play shall be  resumed from the Point of Interruption   t...
<ul><ul><li>A1 is fouled by B5 and is  erroneously awarded  bonus free throws. A1 makes both free throws. Team B then take...
<ul><ul><li>How can the officials correct this scenario? </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><li>The foul on A4 and the free throws by ...
<ul><ul><li>In (b), the ball having been put at the disposal of B2 constitutes the  second live ball  after time had come ...
<ul><li>If A4’s common foul had been a rebounding foul during A1’s unmerited free throw, that foul would have been  cancel...
Upcoming SlideShare
Loading in …5
×

Live Dead Ball Correctable Errors With Video Clips

2,587 views

Published on

Published in: Business, Technology
  • Be the first to comment

  • Be the first to like this

Live Dead Ball Correctable Errors With Video Clips

  1. 1. Bill Lewis MCBOA Vice President
  2. 2. <ul><li>What 3 ways can a “Dead Ball” to become “Live” ? </li></ul><ul><ul><li>1. Jump Ball… </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><ul><li>when the ball LEAVES the referee’s hand. </li></ul></ul></ul><ul><ul><li>2. Throw-In… </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><ul><li>when the ball is at the DISPOSAL of the thrower. </li></ul></ul></ul><ul><ul><li>3. Free Throw… </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><ul><li>when the ball is at the DISPOSAL of the Free </li></ul></ul></ul><ul><ul><ul><li>Thrower </li></ul></ul></ul>
  3. 3. <ul><li>Most Common Ways for a “Live Ball” to </li></ul><ul><li>become “Dead” ? </li></ul><ul><ul><li>1. A Goal is Made . </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><li>2. A Free Throw is Missed and is followed by another free throw OR is followed by a throw </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><li>3. The Ball Lodges between the backboard & the ring or comes to rest on the flange. </li></ul></ul>
  4. 4. <ul><li>Most Common Ways for a “Live Ball” to </li></ul><ul><li>become “Dead” ? </li></ul><ul><ul><li>4. An Official’s WHISTLE is blown on a foul </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><ul><li>Exception: Ball is in Flight during a try or tap </li></ul></ul></ul><ul><ul><li>5. A Player-Control or Team-Control Foul occurs. </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><li>6. A Free Throw Violation by the Offensive Team </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><li>7. A Violation occurs </li></ul></ul>
  5. 5. <ul><li>When a CONTACT foul occurs during a LIVE BALL the foul MUST be PERSONAL , it can’t be a Technical Foul !! </li></ul><ul><ul><li>A Technical foul can be called when a player or coach demonstrates “unsportsmanlike” behavior </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><li>Video : 2008 4A Championship Boys – Live Ball Intentional Elbow </li></ul></ul>
  6. 6. <ul><li>When a CONTACT foul occurs during a DEAD BALL the foul MUST be TECHNICAL . </li></ul><ul><li>Kolbe Bryant – Dead Ball Technical </li></ul>
  7. 7. <ul><li> 1. Failure to award a merited FT (should have </li></ul><ul><li>shot, but didn’t) </li></ul><ul><li>2. Awarding an unmerited FT (shot a FT, but </li></ul><ul><li>should not have) </li></ul><ul><li>3. Permitting the wrong player to shoot the FT </li></ul><ul><li>(get the shooters #) </li></ul><ul><li>4. Attempting a FT at the wrong basket (officials & </li></ul><ul><li>players are asleep) </li></ul><ul><li>5. Erroneously counting or canceling a score ( A 3 that is counted as a 2 - often happens with the clock running) </li></ul><ul><li>4 deal with FT’s – slow down & echo your </li></ul><ul><li>partner’s signal !! </li></ul>
  8. 8. Bill Lewis MCBOA Vice President
  9. 9. <ul><li>Rule 2-10-4… </li></ul><ul><li>If the error is a free throw by the wrong player or at the wrong basket, or the awarding of an unmerited free throw, the free throw and the activity during it other than unsporting, flagrant, intentional, or technical fouls, shall be canceled . </li></ul>
  10. 10. <ul><li>Rule 2-10-5… </li></ul><ul><li>Points scored, consumed time and additional activity, which may occur prior to the recognition of an error, shall NOT be nullified . </li></ul>
  11. 11. <ul><li>Rule 2-10-6… </li></ul><ul><li>If an error is corrected, play shall be resumed from the Point of Interruption to rectify the error, unless it involves awarding a merited free throw(s) and there has been no change of team possession since the error was made, in which case, play shall resume as after any free throw attempt(s). </li></ul>
  12. 12. <ul><ul><li>A1 is fouled by B5 and is erroneously awarded bonus free throws. A1 makes both free throws. Team B then takes the ball inbounds, and on its offensive end, A4 commits Team A’s seventh team foul by fouling B2. </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><li>The officials realize they have erroneously awarded free throws to A1 (a) BEFORE the ball is at the disposal of B2 for the front end of the bonus, OR (b) AFTER the ball is at the disposal of B2 for the front end of the bonus free throw. </li></ul></ul>
  13. 13. <ul><ul><li>How can the officials correct this scenario? </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><li>The foul on A4 and the free throws by A1 should be nullified, and the ball should be put in play at the spot nearest B5’s foul. </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><li>Cancel the unmerited free throws by A1. A4’s foul still counts and B2 shoots free throws with players lined up. </li></ul></ul>
  14. 14. <ul><ul><li>In (b), the ball having been put at the disposal of B2 constitutes the second live ball after time had come off the clock. The error of granting A1 free throws CANNOT be corrected . A1’s free throws count , and play continues with B2 attempting the first free throw . </li></ul></ul>
  15. 15. <ul><li>If A4’s common foul had been a rebounding foul during A1’s unmerited free throw, that foul would have been canceled. </li></ul><ul><li>The time period where nullification can take place is when the ball is put at the disposal of the free thrower and when it is clear that the free throw will be unsuccessful. </li></ul>

×