Successfully reported this slideshow.
We use your LinkedIn profile and activity data to personalize ads and to show you more relevant ads. You can change your ad preferences anytime.

Biblio wow!

276 views

Published on

Using Bibliocommons for Readers' Advisory services. An inservice training for Tulsa City-County Library staff on October 14, 2013.

Published in: Education, Technology
  • Be the first to comment

  • Be the first to like this

Biblio wow!

  1. 1. BIBLIO-WOW! Rockin’ Readers’ Advisory with Bibliocommons Presented by Rebecca Howard, MLIS Readers’ Librarian
  2. 2. Introductions • Name • Location • Best book you read last month
  3. 3. Learning Objectives • Identify some Bibliocommons features that can enhance your Readers’ Advisory service • Lists • Tagging • Adding similar titles and reviews
  4. 4. A Bit about Bibliocommons • Goal: To help public libraries deliver the same kind of rich discovery and community connection experiences online that the library has always delivered in its branches -- all built around the heart of the library: its collections. • Key: A common platform that aggregates the shared expertise, opinions and recommendations of staff and customers alike across all libraries, and integrates those contributions back into the local catalog in intelligent ways.
  5. 5. The Wow Factor • Is you!
  6. 6. I LOVE lists • Why • They are made by people not algorithms. • They give you access to the R.A. knowledge of libraries across the country and in Canada. • They provide opportunities for engagement, interaction with readers.
  7. 7. Finding a List
  8. 8. Use a list when . . . • “I’ve read everything by __________________ • Dennis Lehane • Janet Evanovich • James Patterson • Laurell K. Hamilton • Fill in the blank and I was wondering what other authors I could try? http://www.ittybittyurl.com/Vq0
  9. 9. Use a list when . . . There are over 200 holds on the book I wanted.  What can I read while I’m waiting for it?  http://www.ittybittyurl.com/Vq2
  10. 10. Use a list when . . . This phenomenon occurs: READER ASKS QUESTION… Brain goes empty.
  11. 11. Use a list when . . . • You need inspiration for a display
  12. 12. Creating a List http://help.bibliocommons.com/045faq/060faq-lists/
  13. 13. Use a list when… • You want to get social http://www.ittybittyurl.com/Vq7 http://tccl.bibliocommons.com/lists/show/86922331_seattle_quick_picks
  14. 14. Use a list when . . . • You want to create a bibliography for a program or community-wide event Tulsa Reads Khaled Hosseini http://www.ittybittyurl.com/Vq8 Tulsa Pride 2013 http://www.ittybittyurl.com/Vq9 Novel Talk: Gender Wars http://www.ittybittyurl.com/Vqm
  15. 15. Your Turn • Find read-alikes: • Mortal Instruments series by Cassandra Clare • Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn • The Ocean at the End of the Lane by Neil Gaiman • Search using words that convey moods, tones, and themes. • Start your own list.
  16. 16. I’m gonna add some tags • Great for pulling together titles across genres and formats for displays. • Adding tags and similar titles enriches browsing and discovery for customers. • Creates additional tools for providing R.A. • Remember: Tags are only as good as the person who creates them!
  17. 17. Adding tags http://help.bibliocommons.com/025ug/015tags/
  18. 18. Adding similar titles
  19. 19. Your Turn • Add a few tags • Add some similar titles
  20. 20. SHARE How else could you envision using lists, tags, similar titles to enhance R.A. in your library?

×