Successfully reported this slideshow.
We use your LinkedIn profile and activity data to personalize ads and to show you more relevant ads. You can change your ad preferences anytime.

Classification of dental caries rasha adel copy


Published on

Classification systems for dental caries

  • Be the first to comment

Classification of dental caries rasha adel copy

  1. 1. a new paradigm among dental practitioners, shifting from a restorative to preventive/health promotion model.”
  2. 2. Caries classification systems:
  3. 3. 1) Black’s Classification System
  4. 4. 2) World Health Organization (WHO) system In this classification the shape and depth of the caries lesion scored on a four point scale • D1: clinically detectable enamel lesions with intact surfaces • D2: clinically detectable cavities limited to enamel • D3: clinically detectable cavities in dentine • D4: lesions extending into the pulp
  5. 5. 3) International Caries Detection and Assessment System (ICDAS) The ICDAS detection codes range from 1 to 6 depending on the severity of the caries lesion.
  6. 6. 4) Mount-Hume Classification System (SiSta)  Site 1: pits, fissures  Site 2: proximal surfaces  Site 3: the cervical one third of the tooth  Size 0: the earliest lesion that can be identified as the initial stages of demineralization  Size 1: minimal surface cavitation with involvement of dentine just beyond treatment by remineralization alone.  Size 2: moderate involvement of dentine. The remaining tooth is sufficiently strong to support the restoration,  Size 3: the lesion is enlarged beyond moderate. Remaining tooth structure is weakened to the extent that cusps or incisal edges are split, or are likely to fail if left exposed to occlusal load  Size 4: extensive caries or bulk loss of tooth structure e.g. loss of a complete cusp or incisal edge, has already occurred.
  7. 7. 4) Mount-Hume Classification System (SiSta) …. Conti….
  8. 8. 5) Finn's modification of Black's cavity preparation for primary teeth • Class 1: cavity involving the pits and fissures • Class 2: cavities involving proximal suface of molar teeth with access established from the oclusal surface. • Class 3: cavities involving poximal surfaces of anterior teeth which may or may not involve a labial or lingual extension. • Class 4: a restoration of the proximal surface of an anterior tooth which involves the restoration of an incisal angle. • Class 5: cavities present on the cervical third of all teeth.
  9. 9. 6) Baume's classification  • a. pit and fissure cavities • b. smooth surface cavities
  10. 10. 7) Sturdevant's classification • Simple cavity: involving only one tooth surface • Compound cavity: involving 2 surfaces of a tooth • Complex cavity: involving more than 2 surfaces of a tooth
  11. 11. 8) Based on surfaces to be restored: Most widespread clinical utilization • O: for occlusal surfaces • M: for mesial surfaces • D: for distal surfaces • F: for facial surfaces • B: for buccal surfaces • L: for lingual surfaces