Successfully reported this slideshow.
Your SlideShare is downloading. ×

Applying SEO & Startup Tactics to Book Marketing

Loading in …3

Check these out next

1 of 136 Ad

More Related Content

More from Rand Fishkin (20)

Recently uploaded (20)


Applying SEO & Startup Tactics to Book Marketing

  1. Rand Fishkin, Wizard of Moz | @randfish | Applying SEO & Startup Tactics to Book Marketing
  2. Slides online at
  3. Why Does Search Matter to Authors?
  4. More recent data is hard to come by, but it’s probable that 50%+ of book sales happen online, and many offline purchases are influenced by online exposure. Via DBW/Bowker
  5. Via a Survey I Conducted On Twitter
  6. Via SimilarWeb
  7. Via SimilarWeb In ecommerce, search is the traffic referral leader
  8. The Startup Marketing Model
  9. Identify Right Customers
  10. Right Customer Via Sarah C. Andersen
  11. Who are they?
  12. What social networks do they use?
  13. Where do they go on the web? Via Followerwonk
  14. Who are their influencers?
  15. Not Into Tools? Can’t Find YourAudience on Social? Have Conversations! So… What kinda sites do you dogs visit?
  16. Target the Right Audience in the Right Places
  17. YourAudience isAlready Spending Time at These Places: Via SimilarWeb’s Top Sites
  18. You Can Leverage that Attention by Contributing to…
  19. Massive Networks Like Facebook Via TheFinancialBrand Via SearchEngineLand Althoughwe’ve seenorganicreachdippingfor years,there’sbeena resurgencethanksto audienceoptimization
  20. Influencer Networks Like Twitter Via
  21. Visual Networks Like Instagram Via Iconosquare
  22. Professional Networks Like LinkedIn We’ve seen a recent rise in engagement and CTR on LinkedIn for the right kinds of content
  23. AnImportantNoteonSocialNetworks-- Signal:Noise Ratio is Critical to Reach Because this post didn’t do well, Facebook won’t show my next few posts to as many users 
  24. Video Sites Like YouTube Via Moz’s YouTube Channel
  25. Online Communities Like Reddit Via
  26. Q+ASites Like Quora Via Quora’s Mystery Novels Topic
  27. Niche Communities Like Via
  28. Comment Sections LikeAVC Via AVC
  29. Book-Centric Sites Like GoodReads Via Norwegian by Night on Goodreads
  30. Publishers thatAccept Guest Contributions Like Good Housekeeping Via Good Housekeeping
  31. Targeting Your Audience with Paid Advertising
  32. Ad Click-Through-RatesAreAbominable Via SearchEngineLand
  33. Half ofAll MobileAd Clicks areAccidental Via SearchEngineLand
  34. But,Ads are Getting Far More Sophisticated Via Sovrn
  35. And even though we don’t think they influence us, they do Via Harvard Business Review
  36. The Key toAd Buying is ROI $0.25 / Click X 200 Visits $50 TotalAd Spend= 200 Visits X 5 Sales = 2.5% Conversion Rate $50 ÷ 5 Sales = $10 Cost ofAcquiring a Customer (CAC) You want this figure to be less than you make per sale
  37. FacebookAds
  38. GoogleAdWords
  39. Google ShoppingAds
  40. Retargeting (Google,AdRoll) More on Whiteboard Friday e.g. I visited Squarespace while building this slide deck, and now their ads follow me around the web like a lost puppy dog
  41. TwitterAds Via NYTimes
  42. InstagramAds Good Guide to Instagram Ads from AdEspresso
  43. PinterestAds
  44. Google DisplayAds
  45. Custom/SmallAd Publishers Via Hark! A Vagrant
  46. Sponsored Content (Outbrain, Taboola)
  47. If You Have Email Addresses, You Can Also Use:
  48. Facebook Custom Audiences Via Facebook
  49. GoogleAdWords’Customer Match Via SearchEngineLand
  50. Newsletters & BookAnnouncements Via Dan Ariely (author of Predictably Irrational)
  51. Good, Free Mailing List Options: Mailchimp: Freeto2,000 subscribersor12,000 emails/month,great deliverability NewsletterforWP: Requiresabitofinstallation, butfreetounlimited numbersofsubscribers BenchmarkEmail: Freeto2,000subscribers or14,000emails/month, easyUI
  52. Attract an Audience to Your Platform
  53. Is your publishing platform holding you back? Sometimes, content isn’t the problem.
  54. SEO-friendly access for crawlers and searchers Great user experience on every device Compelling reasons to subscribe, share, & return Freedom from features that would annoy or dissuade visitors Content that’s consistently interesting, useful, and/or engaging to a distinct audience Does My Publishing Platform Provide:
  55. Platforms to Consider Include: Wordpress: Free,extensible, powerful,haslotsof plugins&developers Wix: Easytemplates,good support,strongdesigns, inexpensive Squarespace: Solidtemplates,easyto manage,inexpensive,
  56. Good Comparison of Options: Via ArtBizBlog
  57. I’m a Big Fan of Jane Friedman’sAdvice onAuthor Websites: Via JaneFriedman
  58. How do you build a platform that consistently attracts your audience?
  59. Publish web content Amplify Grow network Increase ability to rank in search engines Increase brand recognition Learn & iterate on amplification tactics Earn ongoing search traffic
  60. Content Can Mean Many Things
  61. Photos Via Maptia
  62. Animations Via BusinessInsider
  63. Data Via Our World in Data
  64. Tools Via NomadList
  65. Comics Via
  66. Communities Via
  67. For Most Writers, It Means Written Content
  68. Blog Posts Via
  69. Guides Via Moz’s Beginner’s Guide to SEO
  70. Opinion Pieces Via The New Yorker
  71. Whitepapers Via PricewaterhouseCoopers
  72. Stories Via Radio Times
  73. Maybe a Little Bit of Promotion Via Neil Gaiman
  74. But (if you want to build a marketing flywheel) that can’t be your entire platform Via Rachael King I loved Rachael’s site, but there’s no flywheel happening, just promotion of her books and events.
  75. Content Forms the Backbone of What Gets Distributed on the Web Via Buzzsumo
  76. It’s What Gets Shared on Facebook Via Rand’s Facebook Page
  77. What Ranks in Google
  78. What Makes for Conversations on Twitter Via Medium
  79. What’s Shared Over Email Via A Smart Bear
  80. What’s Posted on LinkedIn, Google+, Snapchat, and Instagram
  81. But, Content Only Matters If It’s Seen Via Buzzsumo
  82. It’s Often the Same Effort to Make Content No One Sees, As Content Thousands Do
  83. Who will help amplify this and why? Start With a GreatAnswer to the Question:
  84. This is not a right answer: Museum goers will love this. And maybe museum curators, too. Via MattKelm
  85. This is a right answer: I did an analysis of all the recent major museum thefts Carolyn & Shelley have already expressed interest in seeing the finished piece
  86. SEO Best Practices Earn Ongoing Traffic by Leveraging
  87. Accessibility is Critical Via the YouMoz Blog
  88. Wordpress is a Great Shortcut Via Wordpress
  89. Google Search Console Can Highlight Many Problems Via Google Search Console
  90. Moz, ScreamingFrog, or CanAlso Be Useful for Crawl Issues Via Moz Pro, Screaming Frog Crawler, and
  91. Keywords Still Matter
  92. And Google is SmartAbout Matching Concepts & Topics to Keywords
  93. Titles and Headlines? Still Important. Page titles come from the HTMLcode, and (usually) appear as the headline of the piece.
  94. The Search Snippet? Still Important. Does the title match what searchers want? Does the URLseem compelling? Does your site sound trustworthy or sketchy? Is your result fresh? Do searchers want a newer result? Does the description create curiosity & entice a click? Do you get the brand dropdown?
  95. Meta Keywords? Useless. Via Google’s Webmaster Central Blog
  96. Keyword Stuffing? Will Only Hurt You. No one wants to click on a page like that (and Google penalizes these types of pages)
  97. Links Still Matter Via Moz’s 2015 Ranking Factors Link-based ranking factors
  98. Ask: Who Will Link to Me & Why? All these websites (and ~450 others) link to
  99. Stumped? Check Out 100s of Techniques on the Moz Blog Via Link Building on Moz
  100. User Satisfaction Matters If Google observes many searchers clicking this result, visiting the page, then bouncing back to the search results and, instead… Clicking this page, and seeming satisfied with those results… It’s very likely that, over time, KirkusReviews will outrank WaPo here.
  101. Google Calls This Pogo-Sticking Via Bill Slawski on Moz
  102. Make the Back Button Your Enemy NPR’s clean design, well-respected brand, options for listening or reading, solid visuals, and quality writing compel me to want to stay. If only they’d used good keywords in their title, they’d probably be on page 1
  103. DO NOT Split Up Your Content & Promotional Sites Tragically, Rachael is likely costing herself valuable branding and lots of lost search traffic by having two separate sites. Via and
  104. Consider Which Page You Want Ranking for Your Book IMO, Kate Beaton has this right. Get your own site ranking at the top, rather than Amazon, because then you control the user experience (and can use anAmazon affiliate link to get greater revenue from your sales)
  105. You Control Much of This Through How You/Your Publisher Choose to Link in Press & Bios
  106. MoreAbout SEO: Prefer text + visuals? See Moz’s Beginner’s Guide to SEO Prefer video? See Skillshare’s SEO that Matters class
  107. Use Data to Learn What Works vs. Doesn’t
  108. GoogleAnalytics Looking at “site content” (under “behavior”) can show you which pages are attracting and engaging visitors, and which ones aren’t.
  109. Jetpack Apopular alternative to GoogleAnalytics, many site owners appreciate the simpler, more intuitive reports despite fewer bells & whistles. Via Jetpack Stats
  110. I track all my content that I share to get a sense of what works, and where it performs best
  111. ANeat Hack You Can Do with Just add a + to the end of any bitly URL: http://responsivecitypress+
  112. Buzzsumo Buzzsumo is invaluable for seeing content on any topic or from any site that’s performed well on social networks Via Buzzsumo Pro
  113. Converting Visitors to Buyers
  114. We need to identify the traits that separate customers who’ll buy, love, and amplify our books from those who won’t.
  115. My Favorite Process: From Conversion Rate Experts’ case study Boom. And Shakalaka.
  116. Haven’t heard of the book Heard of it, but didn’t buy Bought, read, & loved the book What do you think the book is about? How’d you hear about the book? What first made you interested? What would make you more likely to check it out? What are your biggest objections to purchase? What objections did you have to buying? What would have made you change your mind? What objections did you have and how did you overcome them? What did you love most about it? Can we share your story as a testimonial?
  117. Create Messages and Sales Pages that Overcome Your TargetAudience’s Objections Benefits that speak to Nir’s audience Authorities that Nir’s audience knows, likes, and trusts Multiple ways to get the book, even for non-readers Via Nir Eyal
  118. Use These Messages on YourAmazon and Publisher Pages, Too! Via Hooked on Amazon The same messages and editorial reviews work here, too
  119. Retain, Delight, & Grow Amplification
  120. How do you know what to create? Or where to invest?
  121. What do you hate doing? Via Tech Noir
  122. What do you love to do? Via Dsgnblog
  123. What skill, talent, or creation can set you apart from the crowd? Via Rand’s Blog One of my strengths is an ability to be contrarian, and to create homemade graphics that convey those opinions 
  124. Improving the flywheel is an iterative learning process No one starts out great at this.
  125. This is Geraldine’s Blog:
  126. Geraldine started the website in 2009
  127. For 2 years, she rarely broke 100 visits/day
  128. She had a few successes
  129. But traffic fell back down after these viral spikes
  130. In Jan. 2012, she was featured on Time’s “Best Blogs” list. Readers came by the thousands, and many stuck.
  131. These days, she consistently breaks 100K visits/month (even when she took time off to write her book).
  132. Thanks to the audience she built and the flywheel of her blog’s content & distribution channels, Geraldine’s got a great opportunity to publish and market her work.
  133. Failure + Learning x Time = Success
  134. Rand Fishkin, Wizard of Moz | @randfish |