Six sigma


Published on

six sigma

Published in: Education, Business
  • Be the first to comment

  • Be the first to like this

No Downloads
Total views
On SlideShare
From Embeds
Number of Embeds
Embeds 0
No embeds

No notes for slide

Six sigma

  1. 1. SIX SIGMA BY
  2. 2. What is six sigma? • Sigma is a measure of “goodness: the capability of a process to produce perfect work. • A “defect” is any mistake that results in customer dissatisfaction. • Sigma indicates how often defects are likely to occur. • The higher the sigma level, the lower the defect rate. • The lower the defect rate, the higher the quality.
  3. 3. Why six sigma? • Sigma allows comparison of products and services of varying complexity • Also, it provides a common basis for benchmarking (competitors and non-competitors). • The higher the sigma level, the better your operation is performing. • Sigma measures how well you’re doing in getting to zero defects.
  4. 4. Why six sigma as a customer what will you accept?  What to expect at 3 sigma what to expect at 6 sigma  5400 wrong drug prescription one wrong drug prescription in 25 per year. years  Unsafe drinking water about 2 unsafe drinking water for 1 sec in hours each month 16 years.
  5. 5. Possible applications  Human Resources: reduce the number of requisitions unfilled after 30 days.  Customer Service: measure the number of calls answered on the first ring.  Order Fulfillment: eliminate Customer returns because of incorrect parts or product being shipped.  Finance: reduce the instances of accounts being paid after a specified time limit has elapsed.
  6. 6. What is DMAIC  it is an approach undertaken to improve existing business process  Six sigma combination of 5 interconnected phases of a process improvement project. Following are the phases:
  7. 7. DMADV APPROACH  This approach is undertaken when there is a need to create new design or product  5 steps in DMADV approach-  Define  Measure  Analyze  Design details  Verification
  8. 8. DMADV explanation  Define design goals that are consistent with customer demands and the enterprise strategy.  Measure and identify CTQs (characteristics that are Critical To Quality), product capabilities, production process capability, and risks.   Analyze to develop and design alternatives, create a high-level design and evaluate design capability to select the best design.  Design details, optimize the design, and plan for design verification. Verify the design, set up pilot runs, implement the production process and hand it over to the process owners.  DMADV is also known as DFSS, an abbreviation of "Design For Six Sigma".
  9. 9. Difference b/w DMAIC and DMADV  IN DMAIC  1.Defines a business process  2.Measuring current process  3.Identify root cause of the recurring problem  4.Improvements made to reduce defects  5. Keep check on future performance
  10. 10. Difference b/w DMAIC and DMADV  IN DMADV  1.Define customer needs  2.Measure customer needs & specifications  3.Analyze options to meet customer satisfaction  4.Model is designed to meet customer needs  5.Model put through simulation tests for verification
  11. 11. The six sigma organization.  The six sigma team has five levels of hierarchy
  12. 12. What is a BELT?  Belt refers to the level or the position, of a person in an organization at the time of performing a work or at the time of implementation of a project.  There are five “Belt” levels :- 1. Champion 2. Master black belt 3. Black belt 4. Green belt 5. Yellow belt
  13. 13. Champion • Lay down policies and guidelines regarding functioning of six sigma teams • Approves six sigma projects • Removes road blocks in the path of six sigma implementation • Receives presentations • Monitors project • Make available necessary resources • Sort out conflicts
  14. 14. Master black belts  The highest level of Six Sigma expertise;  All duties involve implementation of Six Sigma, including statistical analysis, strategic and policy planning and implementation, and training and mentoring of Black Belts.
  15. 15. Black belts  a Six Sigma-trained professional who has usually completed an examination and been certified in its methods;  all job duties include implementation of Six Sigma methodology throughout all levels of the business,  leading teams and projects, and providing Six Sigma training and mentoring to Green and Yellow Belts.
  16. 16. Green belt  In many organizations, Six Sigma's "entry level";  a Six Sigma-trained professional who does not work on Six Sigma projects exclusively, but whose duties include leading projects and teams and implementing Six Sigma methodology at the project level
  17. 17. Yellow belt  The lowest level of Six Sigma expertise  applies to a professional who has a basic working knowledge and who may manage smaller process improvement projects,  but who does not function as a project or team leader.
  18. 18. Thanks for paying attention