Successfully reported this slideshow.
We use your LinkedIn profile and activity data to personalize ads and to show you more relevant ads. You can change your ad preferences anytime.

What Is Christian Initiation?


Published on

A brief overview of the RCIA

Published in: Spiritual

What Is Christian Initiation?

  1. 1. Christian Initiation (RCIA) Mr. Pablo Cuadra Religion Class
  2. 2. What is initiation? <ul><li>1. The process of being admitted to a group or an organization. </li></ul>
  3. 3. What does initiation entail? <ul><li>Initiation usually involves a process of </li></ul><ul><li>A. preparation </li></ul><ul><li>B. instruction </li></ul><ul><li>C. testing </li></ul>
  4. 4. How does the Church welcome its new members? <ul><li>The Church welcomes new members through a process of initiation called RCIA </li></ul>
  5. 5. What does RCIA stand for? <ul><li>RCIA stands for: </li></ul><ul><li>Rite of Christian Initiation for adults </li></ul>
  6. 6. What is the purpose of RCIA? <ul><li>To welcome new members into the Church and prepare them to receive the sacraments of initiation. </li></ul><ul><li>The sacraments of initiation are: baptism, Eucharist, confirmation. </li></ul>
  7. 7. What are the elements of the RCIA? <ul><li>A. Proclamation of the of the word of God. </li></ul><ul><li>B. Acceptance of the Gospel </li></ul><ul><li>C. Conversion </li></ul><ul><li>D. Profession of faith </li></ul><ul><li>E. Sacraments of initiation. </li></ul>
  8. 8. How long is the RCIA? <ul><li>The RCIA can last several years. </li></ul>
  9. 9. What is the structure of the RCIA? <ul><li>The RCIA is divided into four periods and three steps or liturgical rites . </li></ul><ul><li>A Period is a stage in the process of initiation. </li></ul><ul><li>A step is a rite within a period that marks the end of that period . </li></ul>
  10. 10. What are the periods of the RCIA? <ul><li>A. Evangelization and Precatechumenate </li></ul><ul><li>B. Catechumenate </li></ul><ul><li>C. Purification and Enlightenment </li></ul><ul><li>D. Mystagogy. </li></ul>
  11. 11. What are the steps of the RCIA? <ul><li>Remember steps are rituals (ceremonies) that mark the end of a period . </li></ul><ul><li>These steps are: </li></ul><ul><li>1. Rite of Acceptance into the order of catechumenate (marks the end of the Period of Evangelization ) </li></ul><ul><li>2. Rite of Election or enrollment of names (Marks the end of the period of Catechumenate) </li></ul><ul><li>3. Sacraments of initiation (Marks the end of the Period of Purification and enlightenment ). </li></ul>
  12. 12. Pre-Catechumenate 1 Catechumenate 2 Purification and enlightenment 3 Mystagogy 4 1 2 3 Steps Rite of acceptance Enrollment Of names Sacraments of initiation Periods
  13. 13. What is the period of Evangelization about? <ul><li>A time of inquiry. </li></ul><ul><li>A time of evangelization (proclamation of the Good News) </li></ul><ul><li>A time to be informed about the Catholic faith </li></ul><ul><li>A time to think about the possibility of becoming a Catholic </li></ul>
  14. 14. What happens at the end of this period? <ul><li>A. At the end of the period of Evangelization inquirers enter the process of catechumenate. </li></ul><ul><li>B. This is called the first step: Acceptance into the order of catechumens. </li></ul><ul><li>C. inquirers are now called catechumens (those being instructed). </li></ul>
  15. 15. What is the second Period about? <ul><li>The second period is called Catechumenate. </li></ul><ul><li>The catechumenate is a time of instruction and conversion. </li></ul>
  16. 16. Who are the main figures during the period of catechumenate? <ul><li>A. the Faithful </li></ul><ul><li>B. sponsors </li></ul><ul><li>C. catechist (those giving the instruction) </li></ul><ul><li>D. deacons </li></ul><ul><li>E. Priests </li></ul><ul><li>F. Parish staff </li></ul>
  17. 17. What do catechumens do during this period of Catechumenate? <ul><li>Catechumens joined the community to study, live and celebrate the Christian faith for which they are preparing for. </li></ul>
  18. 18. How does the Catechumenate take place? <ul><li>In four ways: </li></ul><ul><li>A. Through the teaching and rules of the Church. </li></ul><ul><li>B. Prayer, retreats, spiritual direction, conversion. </li></ul><ul><li>C. Through the liturgy of the word. (the first part of the mass) </li></ul><ul><li>D. Service ( Community and parish) </li></ul>
  19. 19. What happens during this period? <ul><li>The second step takes place </li></ul><ul><li>This step is called “Election or enrollment of names. </li></ul>
  20. 20. What is the meaning of the second step? <ul><li>This step marks the end of the period called catechumenate. </li></ul><ul><li>This rite or step is celebrated at the beginning of Lent and marks the beginning of the period of final preparation. </li></ul><ul><li>The names of those to be baptized are chosen. </li></ul>
  21. 21. What is the period of purification and enlightenment? <ul><li>A. This period is a time for intense spiritual preparation. </li></ul><ul><li>B. Is a time for repentance, renewal </li></ul><ul><li>C. Takes place during Lent </li></ul>
  22. 22. What is the third step? <ul><li>The third step takes place at the end of the period of purification and enlightenment. </li></ul><ul><li>This rite consist of the sacraments of initiation: baptism, Eucharist, and confirmation. </li></ul><ul><li>The catechumens are now called neophytes (new growth). </li></ul>
  23. 23. What is Mystagogy? <ul><li>Mystagogy is the period of ongoing instruction after baptism. </li></ul><ul><li>It coincides with the fifty days of Easter </li></ul><ul><li>Is a time of mentoring and welcoming of the new Christians. </li></ul>
  24. 24. The end