Successfully reported this slideshow.
We use your LinkedIn profile and activity data to personalize ads and to show you more relevant ads. You can change your ad preferences anytime.

Yoga and Its Practice (Luchi)


Published on

Published in: Spiritual, Health & Medicine
  • Be the first to comment

Yoga and Its Practice (Luchi)

  2. 2. YOGA SUTRAS <ul><li>Short but masterly work of Patanjali </li></ul><ul><li>One of the six (6) systems of vedic philosophy </li></ul><ul><li>Upheld by the Upanishads as one of the efficacious methods for achieving direct perception of Truth </li></ul>
  3. 3. Six Systems of vedic Philosophy <ul><li>NYAYA </li></ul><ul><li>VAISESIKA </li></ul><ul><li>SANKHYA </li></ul><ul><li>YOGA </li></ul><ul><li>MIMAMSA </li></ul><ul><li>VEDANTA </li></ul>
  4. 4. YOGA SYSTEM OF PATANJALI <ul><li>Known as the eightfold path or eight limbs of YOGA </li></ul><ul><li>Yoga is the control of thought waves in the mind </li></ul><ul><li>The limbs of yoga are various spiritual disciplines or rules and practices to observe in order to clear the mind of impurities </li></ul><ul><li>Removal of impurities which are obstacles to the knowledge of the ATMAN is the sole purpose of the spiritual disciplines </li></ul><ul><li>If obstacles are removed, the ever-present ATMAN is revealed </li></ul>
  6. 6. FIRST STEPS <ul><li>YAMA – moral conduct or the various forms of abstention from evil-doing </li></ul><ul><li>NIYAMAS – various religious observances </li></ul><ul><li>ASANA – posture </li></ul><ul><li>PRANAYAMA – control of the prana </li></ul><ul><li>PRATYAHARA – withdrawal of the mind from sense/external objects </li></ul>
  7. 7. LAST STEPS ( or Forms of YOGA PROPER) <ul><li>DHARANA – concentration or holding the mind to one thought </li></ul><ul><li>DHYANA – meditation </li></ul><ul><li>SAMADHI – absorption in the Atman or superconscious experience </li></ul>
  8. 8. YAMA <ul><li>Non-injury to others – no harm or pain is caused by our thoughts, words or deeds to any other being </li></ul><ul><li>Truthfulness – words and thoughts must always be truthful, always in conformity with facts </li></ul><ul><li>Non-stealing – abstention from theft or covetousness for persons or objects </li></ul><ul><li>Continence- chastity in word, thought and deed </li></ul><ul><li>Abstention from greed – taking more from the world than we need, full and proper use of goods, things and persons </li></ul>
  9. 9. NIYAMAS <ul><li>Purity – physical and mental cleanliness ( proper diet, personal hygiene, regulation of reading materials, conversation, etc.) </li></ul><ul><li>Contentment – acceptance of one’s circumstances in life </li></ul><ul><li>Mortification – self-discipline ( moderation in eating, sleeping, fasting, recreation, etc.) </li></ul><ul><li>Study- contemplation ( study/reading of the scriptures and practice of japam, or the repetition of the name of GOD) </li></ul><ul><li>Devotion to God – dedicating one’s work to God; every action is an offering to God without attachment or personal gain/motive </li></ul>
  10. 10. ASANA <ul><li>Refers to the posture that one must practice which is a sitting position that is firm and relaxed; most famous is the lotus position where one sits cross-legged with the feet drawn in to rest against the top of the thighs. </li></ul><ul><li>Position in which one can sit absolutely still and erect, holding the chest, neck and head in a straight line, but without strain </li></ul>
  11. 11. PRANAYAMA <ul><li>Refers to the control of prana or the vital energy by which we live; this energy is obtained primarily by breathing </li></ul><ul><li>Practice of stopping the motions of inhalation and exhalation to induce calmness of the mind </li></ul><ul><li>Breathing exercise </li></ul><ul><li>close the right nostril with the right thumb and breathe in deeply thru the left nostril sending the current down to the ida nerve of the kundalini </li></ul><ul><li>hold the breath repeating the sacred syllable OM </li></ul><ul><li>as you release the right nostril, close the left nostril with the forefinger, exhale thru the right nostril and imagine expelling all the impurities of your body </li></ul><ul><li>still keeping the left nostril closed, inhale through the right nostril sending the current down the pingala nerve </li></ul><ul><li>repeat the process in reverse </li></ul>
  12. 12. PRATYAHARA <ul><li>Refers to the practice of complete mastery over the senses resulting from a strong and controlled mind </li></ul><ul><li>When the mind is withdrawn from sense objects, the sense organs also withdraw themselves from their respective objects and thus are said to imitate the mind </li></ul>
  13. 13. DHARANA Fixing the mind upon the Inner Light within one of the seven (7) centers of spiritual consciousness in the body, or holding it on some divine form, either within the body or outside it. DHYANA Unbroken flow or thought toward the object of concentration ( prolonged concentration) or meditation SAMADHI When in meditation, the true nature of the object shines forth, not distorted by the mind of the perceiver, this is Absorption or SAMADHI. Samadhi is more than perception, it is direct knowledge.
  14. 14. SAMYAMA <ul><li>When these three- concentration, meditation and absorption are brought to bear upon one subject, they are called SAMYAMA. </li></ul><ul><li>Mastery of Samyama produces the light of knowledge </li></ul><ul><li>The practice of Samyama must be done stage by stage, beginning with the worship of GOD with form and culminating in the realization of the Oneness of the ATMAN and the BRAHMAN </li></ul>
  15. 15. <ul><li>The first 5 limbs of Yoga are only a form of training to prepare oneself for the practice of SAMYAMA </li></ul><ul><li>The mind and the senses have to be purified and the body strengthened in order that it maybe able to undergo the tremendous experiences that await it. </li></ul><ul><li>The mind’s flow is calm if there are no longer thoughts or visions and this becomes continuous: </li></ul><ul><ul><li>to flow uninterrupted for 12 seconds: Concentration </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><li>to flow uninterrupted for 2 minutes and 24 seconds: Meditation </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><li>to flow uninterrupted for 28 minutes and 48 seconds: Lower Samadhi </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><li>to flow uninterrupted for 5 hours and 45 minutes: Nirvikalpa Samadhi </li></ul></ul><ul><li>“ Spiritual Life begins after SAMADHI” </li></ul>