Successfully reported this slideshow.
We use your LinkedIn profile and activity data to personalize ads and to show you more relevant ads. You can change your ad preferences anytime.

Easter aleix


Published on

Published in: Spiritual
  • Be the first to comment

  • Be the first to like this

Easter aleix

  2. 2. INDEX  Easter -> 1-2  Palm Sunday -> 3-4  Easter Monday -> 5-6  Holy Thursday -> 9  Holy Friday -> 10-11  Holy Saturday -> 12  Easter Sunday -> 13-14
  3. 3. EASTER  Easter is a Christian festival and holiday celebrating the resurrection of Jesus Christ on the third day after his crucifixion at Calvary as described in the New Testament. Easter is the culmination of the Passion of Christ, preceded by Lent, a forty-day period of fasting, prayer, and renascence.
  4. 4. PALM SUNDAY  Recalls the entry of Jesus into Jerusalem riding on a donkey with his disciples. According to the Gospel, Jesus was received with joy. The people of Jerusalem raised palms and olive and laurel branches to welcome him.  Palm Sunday is very important in countries of Europe for example: Germany, Croatia, Spain, Georgia, Italy, Poland, Portugal…  In Catalonia we go to church to bless a palm with the children or a olive and laurel branches.
  5. 5. EASTER MONDAY  The days between Palm Sunday and Holy Thursday are known as Holy Monday, Holy Tuesday, and Holy Wednesday. The Gospels of these days tell events not all of which occurred on the corresponding days between Jesus' entry into Jerusalem and his Last Supper. For instance, the Monday Gospel tells of the Anointing at Bethany (John 12:1-9), which occurred before the Palm Sunday event described in John 12:12-19.
  6. 6. HOLY THURSDAY  On this day the private celebration of Mass is forbidden. Hus, apart from the Chrism Mass for the blessing of the Holy Oils that the diocesan bishop may celebrate on the morning of Holy Thursday, but also on some other day close to Easter, the only Mass on this day is the evening Mass of the Lord's Supper, which inaugurates the period of three days, known as the Easter Triduum, that includes Good Friday, holy Saturday and Easter Sunday up to evening prayer on that day.
  7. 7. HOLY FRIDAY  In some countries, such as Malta, Philippines, Italy and Spain, processions with statues representing the Passion of Christ are held.  The Church mourns for Christ's death, reveres the Cross, and marvels at his life for his obedience until death.  The only sacraments celebrated are Penance and Anointing of the Sick.
  8. 8. HOLY SATURDAY  Mass is not celebrated on what is liturgically Holy Saturday. The celebration of Easter begins after sundown on what, though still Saturday in the civil calendar, is liturgically Easter Sunday. On Holy Saturday the Church waits at the Lord's tomb in prayer and fasting, meditating on his Passion and Death and on his Descent into Hell, and awaiting his Resurrection. The Church abstains from the Sacrifice of the Mass, with the sacred table left bare, until after the solemn Vigil, that is, the anticipation by night of the Resurrection, when the time comes for paschal joys, the abundance of which overflows to occupy fifty days.
  9. 9. EASTER SUNDAY  In the Roman Catholic tradition, the Easter Vigil, the longest and most solemn of the Catholic Church's liturgical services, lasts up to three or four hours, consists of four parts:  The Service of Light  The Liturgy of the Word  The Liturgy of Baptism: The sacraments of Baptism and Confirmation for new members of the Church and the Renewal of Baptismal Promises by the entire congregation.  Holy Eucharist