Successfully reported this slideshow.
We use your LinkedIn profile and activity data to personalize ads and to show you more relevant ads. You can change your ad preferences anytime.

Nani Palkhivala Birth Centenary Celebrations


Published on

2019 is the birth centenary year of Nani Palkhivala . Various events have been planned by the steering committee set up for the purpose. These are being planned and organized by Lex Consilium Foundation. This presentation in from of 53 slides is a resume of the activities during first seven months.

Published in: Education
  • Be the first to comment

  • Be the first to like this

Nani Palkhivala Birth Centenary Celebrations

  1. 1. Nani Palkhivala Birth Centenary Celebrations
  2. 2. STEERING COMMITTEE • Justice M N Venkatachaliah, (Chairman) • Sri. TN Chaturvedi, (Working Chairman) • Justice Dipak Misra • Justice Sujata Manohar • Sri. Soli J Sorabjee • Sri. Fali S Nariman • Sri. Muralidhar C Bhandare • Sri Ashok Desai
  3. 3. STEERING COMMITTEE • Sri. Iqbal Chagla • Prof. Upendra Baxi • Sri. Arvind P Datar • Sri. Pravin H Parekh • Director, IIPA, New Delhi • Maj Gen Nilendra Kumar, (Hony Secretary)
  5. 5. OVERVIEW OF ACTIVITIES PROPOSED/HELD • Series of lectures in Delhi once a month for a year • Release of book in Hindi • Lectures beyond Delhi at location High Courts (offers so far from Hyderbad, Bhopal & Jaipur)
  6. 6. Contd… • Quiz on Constitutional Law held for law students on 3rd Feb 2019. • Release of 10th edition of Kanga and Palkhivala’s ‘ The Law and Practice of Income Tax’ as revised by Mr Arvind Datar, Senior Advocate. • Commemorative Stamp • Release of a souvenir
  7. 7. Nani Palkhivala Quiz on Constitutional Law held on Sunday 3rd Feb 2019 at Hotel Taj Vivanta. 54 teams of two students each participated from law schools across India.
  12. 12. Attentive Audience
  13. 13. Award for the Best Question
  14. 14. Dignitaries at the valedictory session Mr. Bhuvan Ribhu, Child Rights ActivistShri TN Chaturvedi, Former Governor Mr. Soli Sorabjee, Senior AdvocateFormer CJI , Justice Dipak Misra
  15. 15. Individual WINNERS Rank Name & Institution Prize 1. Abhishek Kansal - RGNLU, Punjab Rs. 50,000/- & a Certificate 2. Rishi Rathi - Sharda School of Law, Sharda University Rs. 40,000/- & a Certificate 3. Gaurav Singhal – Delhi University, Campus Law Centre Rs. 30,000/- & a Certificate
  16. 16. Team WINNERS Rank Team Prize 1. Abhishek Kansal & Prateek Naval – RGNLU , Punjab Rs. 1,00,000/- , Shield and a Certificate each 2. Mohit Jakhar & Gaurav Singhal, DU, Campus Law Center Rs. 60,000/- & a Certificate each 3. Nishant Khidtta & Ajay Joshi , DU Law Centre - II Rs 50,000/- & a Certificate each
  17. 17. The book in Hindi
  18. 18. Palkhivala Lecture No.1 by Hon’ble Justice Madan Lokur (Retd.) on Rule of Law & Role of Free Citizens on 13th Feb, 2019
  19. 19. Palkhivala Lecture No. 2 by Hon’ble Dr. Justice DY Chandrachud on A Borrowed Constitution : Fact or Myth? on 29th March, 2019
  20. 20. Palkhivala Lecture No. 3 by Hon’ble Ms. Justice Indu Malhotra on An Overview of the Arbitration Landscape in India on 29th March, 2019
  21. 21. Topic for the Debate ‘The Final Outcome in the Privy Purses case was a constitutional betrayal’
  22. 22. Visual of one of his Budget Speeches
  23. 23. Some of the books by Mr. Palkhivala
  24. 24. Nani’s favorite Poem When I die, Give my sight to the man who has never seen a sunrise, Give my heart to one who has known the agony of the heart, Give my blood to a youth pulled from the wreckage of a car so that he might live to see his grandchildren play, Let my kidneys drain the poison from another's body, Let my bones be used to make a crippled child walk, Burn what is left of me and scatter the ashes to the wind to let the flowers grow, If you must bury something, let it be my faults and my prejudices against my fellowmen, Give my sins to the Devil, Give my soul to the God, If you wish to remember me, do it with a kind deed or word to someone who needs you, If you do all I've asked, I'll live for ever. ( A poem by Buji Chinoy)
  25. 25. GRATITUDE Thanks to following for their gracious fund support. • Mr. PH Parekh , Sr, Advocate • Mr Adi Godrej, Chairman, Godrej Consumer Products • Mr. Darius Khambata , Sr. Advocate , Mumbai • Ms. Zia Modi, Founding Partner, AZB & Partners • Mr. Janak Dwarkadas, Sr. Advocate , Mumbai • Mr. Iqbal Chagla, Sr. Advocate , Mumbai • Mr. Arvind Datar. Sr. Advocate, Chennai • Mr Dinyar Madon, Sr. Advocate, Mumbai • Mr. VK Nangalia Bhardwaj, Chairman, FIMT • LexisNexis • Mr Soli Sorabjee, Sr. Advocate, New Delhi • Mr R Venkataramni, Sr. Advocate, New Delhi • Mr Abhishek M Singhvi, Sr. Advocate, New Delhi • Dr. Arun Mohan, Sr. Advocate, New Delhi • Mr Manish Koul, Founder Director, SOOLEGAL
  26. 26. Organized by Lex Consilium Foundation