Successfully reported this slideshow.
We use your LinkedIn profile and activity data to personalize ads and to show you more relevant ads. You can change your ad preferences anytime.

Summer Reading 2018

346 views

Published on

Natalie's recommended summer reading for Lower School students at Carolina Friends School

Published in: Education
  • Be the first to comment

  • Be the first to like this

Summer Reading 2018

  1. 1. curated by Natalie Sapkarov Harvey Carolina Friends School 2018 Check out some of these 2017-18 books at your local public library or bookstore this summer! I created this list with a variety of readers in mind, thinking about our school community, and including a few of our favorites from the year. Happy reading! -Natalie, Lower School Librarian Picture Books Get ready for summer with these picture books for the whole family! Find more at LSLIBRARY.CFSNC.ORG My Awesome Summer by P. Mantis by Paul Meisel (2017) Jabari Jumps by Gaia Cornwall (2017) Dude! words by Aaron Reynolds, art by Dan Santat (2018)
  2. 2. Picture Books Moon by Alison Oliver (2018) Alma and How She Got Her Name by Juana Martinez-Neal (2018) Alfie by Thyra Heder (2017) A House That Once Was by Julie Fogliano, illustrated by Lane Smith (2018) Little Fox in the Forest by Stephanie Graegin (2017) Islandborn by Junot Díaz, illustrated by Leo Espinosa (2018) Julián Is a Mermaid by Jessica Love (2018) The Field by Baptiste Paul, illustrated by Jacqueline Alcantara (2018) Find more at LSLIBRARY.CFSNC.ORG curated by Natalie Sapkarov Harvey Carolina Friends School 2018
  3. 3. Eager Readers We have a special basket section of Eager Readers in the library, especially for emergent readers. These books allow beginning readers to engage with interesting text at a level that is just right for them. Why Eager Readers? Because students will be eager to read more and more! *For fans of Elephant & Piggie, Fly Guy, and Frog & Toad. Find more at LSLIBRARY.CFSNC.ORG The Itchy Book! (Elephant & Piggie Like Reading!) by LeUyen Pham (2018) It’s Shoe Time! (Elephant & Piggie Like Reading!) by Bryan Collier (2017) Buzz, Bee! (National Geographic Readers) by Jennifer Szymanski (2017) Climb, Koala! (National Geographic Readers) by Jennifer Szymanski (2017) Baby Monkey, Private Eye by Brian Selznick and David Serlin (2018) curated by Natalie Sapkarov Harvey Carolina Friends School 2018
  4. 4. Chapter Books Blending illustrations and text, readers transitioning to chapter books should check out some of these books! Your reader can tell a “just right” book by looking at the ratio of words to pictures, blank space on the page, and by reading the first page. Fergus and Zeke series by Kate Messner, illustrated by Heather Ross Princess Cora and the Crocodile by Laura Amy Schlitz, illustrated by Brian Floca (2017) A Masterpiece Adventure series by Elise Broach, illustrated by Kelly Murphy Jada Jones series by Kelly Starling Lyons, illustrated by Vanessa Brantley Newton Jasmine Toguchi series by Debbi Michiko Florence, illustrated by Elizabet Vukovic The Last Firehawk series by Katrina Charman, illustrated by Jeremy Norton Find more at LSLIBRARY.CFSNC.ORG curated by Natalie Sapkarov Harvey Carolina Friends School 2018
  5. 5. Graphic Novels With a mix of genres, these books rely on both the words and pictures to create complex, cohesive stories -- whether they’re silly, funny, adventurous, thoughtful, or mysterious. Graphic novels are excellent (and popular) independent reading selections! The Bad Guys series by Aaron Blabey The Amazing Crafty Cat series by Charise Myracle Harper Phoebe and Her Unicorn series by Dana Simpson Mighty Jack series by Ben Hatke 5 Worlds series by Mark and Alexis Siegel; illustrations by Xanthe Bouma, Matt Rockefeller, and Boya Sun Good Night, Planet by Liniers (2017) Find more at LSLIBRARY.CFSNC.ORG curated by Natalie Sapkarov Harvey Carolina Friends School 2018
  6. 6. Novels From a talking tree to a forgotten zombie friend, fantasy and adventure novels abound in this year’s selections (top). Also included are a couple of fun treehouse stories (middle) and a trip back in time to harrowing events (bottom). Wishtree by Katherine Applegate (2017) The Problim Children by Natalie Lloyd (2018) Aru Shah and the End of Time by Roshani Chokshi (2018) The Creature of the Pines by Adam Gidwitz (2018) Bob by Wendy Mass and Rebecca Stead (2018) The Great Treehouse War by Lisa Graff (2017) The Treehouse series by Andy Griffiths I Survived series by Lauren Tarshis Find more at LSLIBRARY.CFSNC.ORG curated by Natalie Sapkarov Harvey Carolina Friends School 2018
  7. 7. Keep your Spanish language skills fresh with some of these books! ¡El gallo que no se callaba! The Rooster Who Would Not Be Quiet! by Carmen Agra Deedy, illustrated by Eugene Yelchin, translated by Madeica Dominguez (2017) Lola planta un jardín by Anna McQuinn, illustrated by Rosalind Beardshaw, translated by Carlos E. Calvo (2017) La Princesa and the Pea by Susan Middleton Elya, illustrated by Juana Martinez-Neal (2017) Hombre Perro by Dav Pilkey, translated by Nuria Molinero (2017) Frida Kahlo and Her Animalitos by Monica Brown, illustrated by John Parra (2017) ¡Tienes un pájaro en la cabeza! by Mo Willems, adapted by F. Isabel Campoy (2017) Find more at LSLIBRARY.CFSNC.ORG curated by Natalie Sapkarov Harvey Carolina Friends School 2018 Libros en español
  8. 8. Nonfiction These true stories celebrate creativity, bravery, diversity, and nature. Great for reading as a family! How to Be an Elephant by Katherine Roy (2017) Grand Canyon by Jason Chin (2017) Her Right Foot by Dave Eggers, illustrated by Shawn Harris (2017) Hello Lighthouse by Sophie Blackall (2018) Hidden Figures: The True Story of Four Black Women and the Space Race by Margot Lee Shetterly and Winifred Conkling, illustrated by Laura Freeman (2017) Stand Up and Sing!: Pete Seeger, Folk Music, and the Path to Justice by Susanna Reich, illustrated by Adam Gustavson (2017) Bravo!: Poems About Amazing Hispanics by by Margarita Engle, illustrated by Rafael López (2017) Lost and Found Cat: The True Story of Kunkush’s Incredible Journey by Doug Kuntz and Amy Shrodes, illustrated by Sue Cornelison (2017) Let the Children March by Monica Clark-Robinson, illustrated by Frank Morrison (2018) Not So Different: What You Really Want to Ask About Having a Disability by Shane Burcaw, illustrated by Matt Carr (2017) Malala’s Magic Pencil by Malala Yousafzai, illustrated by Kerascoët (2017) Find more at LSLIBRARY.CFSNC.ORG curated by Natalie Sapkarov Harvey Carolina Friends School 2018

×