Successfully reported this slideshow.
We use your LinkedIn profile and activity data to personalize ads and to show you more relevant ads. You can change your ad preferences anytime.

An overview of the common core learning standards


Published on

Published in: Education, Technology
  • Be the first to comment

  • Be the first to like this

An overview of the common core learning standards

  1. 1. An Overview of the Common Core Learning Standards By Melissa Winfield
  2. 2. What are the CCLS?The Common Core StateStandards provide a consistent,clear understanding of whatstudents are expected to learn, soteachers and parents know whatthey need to do to help them. Thestandards are designed to berobust and relevant to the realworld, reflecting the knowledgeand skills that our young peopleneed for success in college andcareers. With American studentsfully prepared for the future, ourcommunities will be bestpositioned to competesuccessfully in the globaleconomy.
  3. 3. What are the standards based on?The New Essential Standards arewritten using the Revised BloomsTaxonomy. The RBT categorizesboth the cognitive process andthe knowledge dimension of thestandard. The cognitive processrefers to the verb used in thestandard.Knowledge in the RBT falls intofour categories:• Factual Knowledge• Conceptual Knowledge• Procedural Knowledge• Meta-Cognitive Knowledge
  4. 4. Emphasis on Shift #1 is Essential
  5. 5. Math & ELA Shifts
  6. 6. A Closer Look at Math…
  7. 7. Teachers & Administration