Successfully reported this slideshow.
We use your LinkedIn profile and activity data to personalize ads and to show you more relevant ads. You can change your ad preferences anytime.

Intro o'connor heroes and villains


Published on

Journey of character to hero or villain. Lead in to Flannery O'Connor. Developed for Through the Lens: American Literature through Digital Art.

Published in: Education
  • Be the first to comment

  • Be the first to like this

Intro o'connor heroes and villains

  1. 1. Through the Lens11 January 2012
  2. 2. JOURNAL PROMPT11 January 2012What are the elements of a realistic hero in a story?How does a character become a hero?Even fantasy, when done well, has believable heroes. How does a writer accomplish that believability?
  3. 3. Put in place on 20 December 2011. Picked up again 9 January 2012.Christmas 2011
  4. 4. The Hero’s Journey The Villain’s JourneyDeparture Cataclysm Call to Adventure Tragedy(Inciting Incident) (Inciting Incident) Two Journeys
  5. 5. The Hero’s Journey The Villain’s JourneyDeparture Cataclysm Call to Adventure: Tragedy:Some life-changing event Usually a death or personal or idea that cannot be injustice. May be an ignored. inner conflict that arises in response to an external circumstance. Two Journeys
  6. 6. The Hero’s Journey The Villain’s JourneyDeparture Cataclysm Refusal of the Call: Denial:The character may try to Often begins with a duality of thought: optimism v ignore the call out of a pessimism. Most people sense of duty, fear, (and in general, inadequacy, or any other characters are people) plausible reason for accept the more maintaining the status optimistic ideals because quo. it makes adaptation more likely. Two Journeys
  7. 7. The Hero’s Journey The Villain’s JourneyDeparture Cataclysm Supernatural Aid: “The Demon on the Shoulder”:Once the character commits to the change The character continues to struggle between the (or quest) some form of expectations of society external help arrives. In and his own reality in fantasy this may be a dealing with the tragedy. time travel machine. In Primal and predatory realism it may be a instincts begin to take spiritual awakening or a over cultural conditioning partner. . Two Journeys
  8. 8. The Hero’s Journey The Villain’s JourneyDeparture Cataclysm The Crossing of the First The First Offense: Threshold:The character takes The character (at this point concrete steps to leave becoming the antagonist) behind the beginning commits the first “crime.” balance and commits to pursuit of the unknown.(Beginning of the Rising (Beginning of the Rising Course of Action) Course of Action) Two Journeys
  9. 9. The Hero’s Journey The Villain’s JourneyDeparture Cataclysm The “Belly of the Whale” The Point of No Return:Final separation from the Whether or not the “crime” known world of the (now) is caught or punished, protagonist. The the antagonist feels no transition to the new remorse. Instead, he realm is incomplete, but feels validated and the old self is justified by the results of abandoned. his action. Two Journeys
  10. 10. The Hero’s Journey The Villain’s JourneyInitiation ConquestThe Road of Trials MoratoriumThe Meeting with In the Presence of the Fate/Love/Satisfaction DemonTemptation The Olive Branch and theAtonement AspApotheosis (Climax) Clash with the Hero (Climax)The Ultimate Boon Redemption or Vilification The Birth of an Empire (Resolution) Two Journeys
  11. 11. The Hero’s Journey The Villain’s JourneyReturn End Game (Denouement)Refusal of the returnThe Magic Flight Beyond MetropolisRescue from Without Weaving the WebCrossing of the Return The Looming Shadow Threshold (Resolution) DoomsdayMaster of Two Worlds DominionFreedom to Live (Denouement) Two Journeys
  12. 12. WHEWThat was a lot of information.So, what villainous tale will we read next?
  13. 13. Flannery OConnor was born in Savannah, Georgia, in 1925. When she died at the age of thirty-nine, America lost one of its most gifted writers at the height of her powers. O’Connor wrote two novels, Wise Blood (1952) and The Violent Bear It Away (1960), and two story collections, A Good Man Is Hard to Find (1955) and Everything That Rises Must Converge (1964). Her Complete Stories, published posthumously in 1972, won the National Book Award that year, and in a 2009 online poll it was voted as the best book to have won the award in the contest’s 60-year history. Her essays were published in Mystery and Manners (1969) and her letters in The Habit of Being (1979). In 1988 the Library of America published her Collected Works; she was the first postwar writer to be so honored. O’ConnorFlannery was educated at the Georgia StateO’Connor College for Women, studied writing at the Iowa Writers’ Workshop, and wrote much of Wise Blood at the Yaddo artists’ colony in upstate New York. She lived most of her adult life on her family’s ancestral farm, Andalusia, outside Milledgeville, Georgia.
  14. 14. HOMEWORKDue 18 January 2012 Read “A Good Man is Hard to Find” Identify the elements of the “hero” and “villain.” Create an illustration for this story that maintains the humanity and doesn’t give away too much information. Prepare a brief presentation of your work.