Successfully reported this slideshow.
We use your LinkedIn profile and activity data to personalize ads and to show you more relevant ads. You can change your ad preferences anytime.

Maslow's hierarchy of needs


Published on

  • Be the first to comment

  • Be the first to like this

Maslow's hierarchy of needs

  1. 1. Maslows hierarchy of needs
  2. 2. In General -Largest and most fundamental levels of needs are at the bottom -The higher we get the less important it is -Many different levels of motivation are likely to be going on in a human all at once
  3. 3. Physiological needs-They are the literal requirements for human survival-Air, water, and food are requirements for survival in all animals, including humans- Sexual instinct is shaped more by sexual competition than maintaining a birth rate adequate to survival of the species
  4. 4. Safety needs-This level is more found in children because they have a greater need to feel safe-Personal security-Financial security-Health and well-being-Safety against accidents/illness and their adverse impacts
  5. 5. Love and belonging-Humans need to feel a sense of belonging and acceptance-Humans need to love and to be loved by others-Friendship, Intimacy and Family
  6. 6. Esteem-Esteem presents the normal human desire to be accepted and valued by others-Maslow noted two versions of esteem needs, a lower one and a higher one: - Low respect of others, the need for status, recognition, fame, prestige, and attention - High: self-respect, the need for strength, competence, mastery, self- confidence, independence and freedom- This level is not strict
  7. 7. Self-actualization-This level of need pertains to what a persons full potential is and realizing that potential-The need is specific-In order to understand this level one must first master physiological, safety, love, and esteem needs- This level is not strict