Successfully reported this slideshow.
We use your LinkedIn profile and activity data to personalize ads and to show you more relevant ads. You can change your ad preferences anytime.

MSE Around the Rink - March 2011


Published on

  • Be the first to comment

  • Be the first to like this

MSE Around the Rink - March 2011

  1. 1. ISSUE 3 • VOLUME 4 • MARCH 2011 Barker Plunges On March 5th, Minnesota Wild defenseman Cam Barker took part in the POLAR Bear Plunge in Minneapolis. Barker went head to head with FOX Sports North broadcasters Mike Greenlay and Kevin Gorg to see who could raise the most money and acquire the most members on their team. Team Barker raised close to $11,000 for this great cause. Barker also took part in a post-plunge meet and greet event sponsored by Bud Light at Stellas Fish Cafe to thank his supporters and fans.We all know that Minnesota is the State of Hockey, but The Polar Bear Plunge iswhich city will earn the right to call themselves the presented by Minnesota LawCapital of the State of Hockey? TRIA Orthopaedic Center Enforcement and is a uniquehas partnered with the Minnesota Wild to answer that opportunity for individuals,question. In order to find out, TRIA Orthopaedic Center is organizations and businesseshosting a season-long tournament where cities compete to support Special Olympicshead-to-head, and each round the winners are decided by Minnesota athletes byonline votes. Cities are broken down by number of ice jumping into frigid Minnesotaarenas, championships, registered players, NHL players, waters. It consists of 14 different events that take place acrossnumber of Olympians, and other hockey related Minnesota from January through March.categories. 32 cities are competing in the TRIA Capital ofthe State of Hockey tournament, and the quarter-final The funds raised through the Polar Bear Plunge, give children andround is nearly completed. adults with intellectual disabilities the opportunity to develop new skills and self-confidence through year-round sports training in 17Starting March 28th, the final two cities will face off to sports. The athletes showcase those abilities in more than 150 annualclaim this year’s championship. Cities remaining in this area competitions, plus six regional and five state competitions.year’s tournament include Eveleth, Duluth, International Special Olympics Minnesota also offers programs like HealthyFalls, Grand Rapids, White Bear Lake, Warroad, and Athletes and the Athlete Leadership Program, which provide athletesHibbing. After this year’s champion is decided they will with free health screenings and leadership training, helping athletestake on, the 2010 Capital of the State of Hockey winner, to become coaches, volunteers, public speakers or anything theyRoseau. want to be.To see the bracket or to vote on this round’s matchup You can see Cam take his plunge, along with Mike Greenlay and Kevinclick here. Gorg by clicking here. Together with the Minnesota State High School League, Wells Fargo, the Minnesota Wild and Channel 45 you have the opportunity to help us "make change" in our community. During this years high school tournaments for girls and boys hockey, wrestling, and all Minnesota Wild home games during the month of March, you can drop change into the designated receptacle at section 102.Donations will benefit the Minnesota High School League Foundation, which provides support forMinnesotas high school youth to participate in athletics and fine arts. Make change today!
  2. 2. Page 2 The Xcel Energy Center hosted the Girls’ State Hockey Tournament February 23rd-26th, 2011. Additional games were also held at the Ridder Arena, located on the University of Minnesota campus. Class A began their state appearance on Tuesday with teams from Breck, New Ulm, South Saint Paul, Hutchinson, Warroad, Alexandria, Eveleth-Gilbert, and Red Wing all taking a shot at a state championship. After the first round, Breck, South Saint Paul, Warroad, and Eveleth-Gilbert all moved on to the semi-finals. The championship game for Class A was held on Saturday February 26th. South Saint Paul fell to Warroad 5-1, to continue Warroad’s championship run. Class AA opened their tournament games on Thursday, February 24th. Teams representing Class AA for the 2010-2011 season included Edina, Rosemount, Lakeville South, Hill-Murray, Minnetonka, Elk River/Zimmerman, Coon Rapids, and North Wright County. Of these teamsEdina, Hill-Murray, Minnetonka and Coon Rapids moved on in the winner’s bracket. The championship for Class AA also tookplace on Saturday. Minnetonka finished the year as Class AA State Champions with a 3-2 win over Edina.Congratulations to all teams that were a part of this year’s state tournament! February 12th offered a full day of hockey for fans across Minnesota. FOX Sports North and Wells Fargo teamed up to offer complete coverage of the 5th annual Hockey Day Minnesota. High school hockey started at 10:00am, as Wayzata took on Roseau outdoors in Moorhead. Wayzata managed todefeat Roseau in overtime 2-1. The second outdoor game featured Hill Murray and Moorhead. As the temperature rose, theteams were forced battle each other as well as the thawing ice. Hill Murray scored with 5:01 remaining to secure a 3-2 victory.As the outdoor portion of Hockey Day Minnesota came to a close, the crew at FOX Sports North headed indoors to MariucciArena. The night before, Minnesota Wild prospect, Jason Zucker scored late for Denver as they defeated the Gophers 2-1. TheGophers bounced back on Saturday, and in a game with plenty of offense beat Denver 7-3.The Minnesota Wild hosted the St. Louis Blues in the Hockey Day finale. Cal Clutterbuck scored late in the first period to putthe Wild on top. In an aggressive matchup, the Wild held the lead for the remainder of the game to defeat St. Louis 3-1.
  3. 3. Page 3 27th Annual Minnesota Xcel Energy Center Minute Men—Mr. Hockey Upcoming Events Smucker’s Stars on Ice – The Minnesota Minute Men have announced March 13, 4:00 pm the Top Ten Candidates for the 27th Annual Mr. Hockey Award. These 2011 Red Baron WCHA Final Five– finalists include: Josh March 17-19 Archibald (Brainerd High School), Ben Bahe (Hill- Murray), Jon Brodzinski Kenny Chesney –(Blaine High School), Tony Cameranesi (Wayzata High March 25, 7:00 pmSchool), Patrick Daly (Benilde-St. Margaret’s), MaxEverson (Edina High School), Steven Fogarty (Edina HighSchool), Garrett Hendrickson (Virginia High School), JoeLaBate (Academy of Holy Angels) and Kyle Rau (Eden 2011 NCAA Men’s Frozen Four –Prairie High School). April 7-9The Minnesota Minute Men also announced that AndrewFord (Eden Prairie High School) and Alex Lyon (Lake of the Tim McGraw—Woods High School) are the finalists for The Frank Brimsek May 14, 7:00 pmAward in recognition of the state’s top senior goaltender.The final winners will be announced at the 27th annual Mr. Taylor Swift –Hockey Awards Banquet which will be held at 12:00 p.m. June 14 & 15, 7:00 pmon Sunday, March 13 at the Grand Ballroom atRiverCentre. The Minnesota Wild and AccelerationMinnesota are co-sponsors of the Mr. Hockey AwardsBanquet. The Mr. Hockey Award is hosted by The 2011 NHL Entry Draft –Minnesota Minute Men. June 24-25The Mr. Hockey Award is given to the outstanding seniorhigh school hockey player in the state of Minnesota Three Katy Perryother awards will be presented at the banquet: The Frank July 9, 2011 7:00 pmBrimsek Award, The John Mariucci Award, given to theClass A and Class AA high school coaches of the year andThe Cliff Thompson Award, presented to the “Old Timer 2011 Visa Championships –Coach” of the year. August 17-20Become a fan of the Mr. Hockey Award on Facebook orfollow the Mr. Hockey Award on Twitter. For more information, click here. Early Renewal Deadline for 2011-2012 is April 1!