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What Is The ROI of Content Marketing? #Forward16

  1. #forward16 | 2 What’s The ROI of Content Marketing? Michael Brenner CEO, Marketing Insider Group Co-Author, The Content Formula @BrennerMichael
  2. Life is short
  3. Life is short Your business “life” is even shorter
  4. Life is short Your business “life” is even shorter STOP doing stuff that doesn’t make an impact!
  5. #forward16 | 7
  6. #forward16 | 8 ROI is the #1 objective for Marketers in 2016 CMO’s greatest challenge is showing measurable ROI. Marketers claim measuring marketing effectiveness is their greatest challenge 93% ~AdAge 81% ~CMI / MProfs
  7. Marketing Has A Marketing Problem
  8. #forward16 | 11
  9. What is the ROI? The First Banner Ad (1994)
  10. #forward16 | 15 Less likely to click on a banner than…
  11. #forward16 | 16 The average click-through rate of display ads (DoubleClick).06% 10% Banner ad clicks by Bots (comScore) 50% Clicks on mobile ads that are accidental (GoldSpot) What Can We Stop? Banner Ads?
  12. #forward16 | 17 What’s The ROI of logos on stadiums?@BrennerMichael #BMA16
  13. #forward16 | 18 “CEOs and Boards will no longer accept marketing that doesn’t deliver results!” ~Gabe Leydon, CEO, Machine Zone
  14. #forward16 | 19
  15. #forward16 | 20 WARNING! Math ahead!
  16. #forward16 | 21 Content Marketing programs are assets with real value that grows over time. Need proof . . .
  17. #forward16 | 22 - 100,000 200,000 300,000 400,000 500,000 600,000 0 100 200 300 400 500 600 Sep-14 Oct-14 Nov-14 Dec-14 Jan-15 Feb-15 Mar-15 Apr-15 May-15 Jun-15 Pageviews #Articles COMPOUNDING RETURN OF CONTENT MARKETING ________ Leads
  18. #forward16 | 23 ROI = Investment Return What is ROI?
  19. #forward16 | 24 ROI = Investment (Revenue – Investment) What is ROI?
  20. #forward16 | 25 ROI = Investment (Revenue – Investment) What is ROI?
  21. #forward16 | 26 ROI = With Less Do More What is ROI?
  22. #forward16 | 27 ROI = With Less Do The Same What is ROI?
  23. #forward16 | 28 The explosion of marketing channels
  24. #forward16 | 29 We Love To Buy More Tactics We Run More and More Campaigns
  25. #forward16 | 30 60-70% of marketing content goes completely unused. *Sirius Decisions
  26. #forward16 | 31 Behind every piece of bad content is an executive who asked for it.
  27. #forward16 | 32 Content Used 30% Content Not Used 70% Content Waste is a $100 Billion Opportunity* * Source: Econsultancy = $
  28. #forward16 | 33 We need to push back
  29. #forward16 | 34 The Art of Pushing Back Why does this matter? What is the impact? How will it be measured?
  30. #forward16 | 35 Content Marketing Requires Empathy Content Marketing What Brands Publish What Customers Want Business Instinct CharityEmpathy
  31. #forward16 | 36 How do you explain the importance of empathy to executives who don’t have any?
  32. #forward16 | 37 Show me the money!
  33. #forward16 | 38 The #1 Way To Improve Marketing ROI . . .
  34. #forward16 | 39 Run CRM ROI Report. Rank Low toHigh =$
  35. #forward16 | 40 Reach early stage buyers Engage new buyers with your brand Conversions you would have never reached = $ Build The Business Case For Change
  36. #forward16 | 41 Organic Search Traffic REACH Unbranded Search Traffic LEADS CONVERT OTHER CONVERSIONS SUBSCRIBERS Time on Site ENGAGE Social shares Subscriptions Bounce rate Retention Rate Upsells RETAIN Measure The ROI of Content Marketing
  37. #forward16 | 42 What Do You Spend On Paid Search Because You Don’t Rank Organically? =$
  38. #forward16 | 43 Lyly Lepinay – (Former) Content Marketing Manager, CapGemini “We’re Spending $$$ On Paid Search Because We Don’t Rank Organically!”
  39. #forward16 | 44 30%70%
  40. #forward16 | 45 CapGemini: Content-Loop.com ~1M visitors in 1st year + 3K new followers / week + High Quality Leads + Sales = ROI
  41. #forward16 | 46 Content Marketing ROI – Reach The Value of Organic Search = (Paid Search CPC X Organic Search Traffic)
  42. #forward16 | 47 Content Marketing ROI – Reach The Value of Organic Search = ($2 CPC X 1,000,000) = $2 Million
  43. #forward16 | 48 Organic Search Traffic REACH Unbranded Search Traffic LEADS CONVERT OTHER CONVERSIONS SUBSCRIBERS Time on Site ENGAGE Social shares Subscriptions Bounce rate Retention Rate Upsells RETAIN Measure The ROI of Content Marketing
  44. #forward16 | 49
  45. Casper’s Van Winkles • Effortlessly combines national housing news with articles on inspirational interior design, celebrity homes and company updates. • Up to 6 new posts per day • Distribution and large audiences across Facebook, Pinterest, Instagram, Twitter and Google+
  46. Casper’s Van Winkles
  47. #forward16 | 52 Organic Search Traffic REACH Unbranded Search Traffic LEADS CONVERT OTHER CONVERSIONS SUBSCRIBERS Time on Site ENGAGE Social shares Subscriptions Bounce rate Retention Rate Upsells RETAIN Measure The ROI of Content Marketing Subscribers have value. And are 9x more likely to convert than non-subscribers
  48. #forward16 | 53 Content Marketing ROI – Brand Engagement The Value of Subscribers= (Sales from Email Nurture / List Size)
  49. #forward16 | 54 Content Marketing ROI – Brand Engagement The Value of Subscribers= (Sales from Email Nurture / List Size) $10 Million / 400,000 = $25 10,000 subscribers x 25 = $250,000
  50. #forward16 | 55 Organic Search Traffic REACH Unbranded Search Traffic LEADS CONVERT OTHER CONVERSIONS SUBSCRIBERS Time on Site ENGAGE Social shares Subscriptions Bounce rate Retention Rate Upsells RETAIN Measure The ROI of Content Marketing
  51. #forward16 | 56
  52. #forward16 | 57 Product vs. Category Searches ”SAP Cloud” vs. “Cloud Computing”
  53. #forward16 | 58 SAP Website: Talking To Themselves
  54. #forward16 | 59 The Math Didn’t Help
  55. #forward16 | 60 The Power of Fear
  56. #forward16 | 61 IMAGINE: We show up first in Google
  57. #forward16 | 62 IMAGINE: We own the category www.makeup.com -- (owned by L’Oreal)
  58. #forward16 | 63 IMAGINE: We own the target audience www.CMO.com -- owned by Adobe
  59. #forward16 | 64 IMAGINE: Marketing that attracts new buyers AMEX OPEN Forum is the largest source of new leads for AMEX’s Small Business Division
  60. #forward16 | 65
  61. #forward16 | 66 BUT: SAP had no budget Engagement? 99% Bounce Rate How Much COST? $200,000 Search Traffic? 0, None, Nada, Zip Social Shares? Also ZERO Conversions? “This is an awareness campaign”
  62. #forward16 | 67 SAP Digitalist Magazine To help executives understand how technology drives business innovation. Engagement? 70% How Much COST? $100,000 Half the ad budget Search Traffic? 50% Social Shares? 10% Conversions? ~1,000 in year 1
  63. #forward16 | 68 SAP Digitalist Mag Gets More Engagement Than Fortune, Fast Company and more…
  64. #forward16 | 69
  65. #forward16 | 70 Content Marketing ROI - Conversion The Value of Content Marketing Leads = (Content Marketing Leads X Conversion Rate X Avg. Sale Price) 1,000 leads x 3% MQL x 50% SAL x 50% SQL x 40% closed x $180,000 = $540,000 ($540,000 - $100,000) / $100,000 = 4.4X ROI
  66. #forward16 | 71 Organic Search Traffic REACH Unbranded Search Traffic LEADS CONVERT OTHER CONVERSIONS SUBSCRIBERS Time on Site ENGAGE Social shares Subscriptions Bounce rate Retention Rate Upsells RETAIN Measure The ROI of Content Marketing
  67. #forward16 | 72 It’s 6-7X cheaper to keep an existing customer than to acquire a new one. A 5% increase in retention = 95% increase in ROI.
  68. #forward16 | 73 Content Marketing ROI: Content consumers spend 2x more and are 3x more loyal. Shane Jordan Digital Marketing Manager Blue Cross BlueShield of Alabama
  69. #forward16 | 74 Content Marketing ROI - Retention The Value of Retention= Lifetime Value $$$ Retention Rate $$$ Rev $$$ per Content-consuming Customers vs. Non-Content-consuming Customers
  70. Life is short Your business “life” is even shorter STOP doing stuff that doesn’t make an impact!
  71. #forward16 | 76BUILD THE BUSINESS CASE FIND THE BUDGET MEASURE RESULTS My Free Gift To You: http://bit.ly/content-formula
  72. #forward16 | 77 What’s The ROI of Content Marketing? Michael Brenner CEO, Marketing Insider Group Co-Author, The Content Formula @BrennerMichael

Editor's Notes

  1. We’ve all asked the question, why content marketing? To set the stage, there’s been a fundamental shift in the way we as consumers consume and share content. Momentous amount of content being created, consumed and shared. An amazing amount of content, the real question is how does a brand stand apart?
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