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How To Sell Content Marketing To Executives

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Content marketing is about change. You know you need to do it, to measure it and to show ROI. In this presentation at #CMWorld, I show you how to build the business case for content marketing. How to find the budget. And how to show real marketing ROI to the executives who demand it.

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How To Sell Content Marketing To Executives

  1. @TwitterHandle • #CMWorld A Content Formula For Complex B2B Organizations Build the Business Case | Find the Budget | Measure ROI Michael Brenner CEO, Marketing Insider Group Author, The Content Formula @BrennerMichael @BrennerMichael • #CMWorld
  2. @TwitterHandle • #CMWorld AGENDA @TwitterHandle • #CMWorld AGENDA ① Build the Business Case for Content Marketing ② Find the Budget for Content Marketing ③ Measure Content Marketing ROI in Business Terms @BrennerMichael @VelocityTweets #CMWorld
  3. @TwitterHandle • #CMWorld AGENDA @TwitterHandle • #CMWorld 1 Build The Business Case @BrennerMichael • #CMWorld Build the Business Case | Find the Budget | Measure ROI
  4. @TwitterHandle • #CMWorld AGENDA @TwitterHandle • #CMWorld CEOs and Boards will no longer accept marketing that doesn’t deliver business results!
  5. @TwitterHandle • #CMWorld AGENDA @TwitterHandle • #CMWorld ROI is the #1 objective for B2B Marketers in 2016 B2B CMO’s greatest challenge is showing measurable ROI. B2B Marketers: measuring marketing effectiveness is their greatest challenge 93% ~AdAge 81% ~CMI / MProfs
  6. Marketing Has A Marketing Problem
  7. @TwitterHandle • #CMWorld
  8. @TwitterHandle • #CMWorld AGENDA @TwitterHandle • #CMWorld
  9. What is the ROI? The First Banner Ad (1994)
  10. @TwitterHandle • #CMWorld AGENDA @TwitterHandle • #CMWorld
  11. @TwitterHandle • #CMWorld AGENDA @TwitterHandle • #CMWorld Less likely to click on a banner than…
  12. @TwitterHandle • #CMWorld AGENDA @TwitterHandle • #CMWorld
  13. @TwitterHandle • #CMWorld AGENDA @TwitterHandle • #CMWorld What’s The ROI of Your Marketing Overall?
  14. @TwitterHandle • #CMWorld AGENDA @TwitterHandle • #CMWorld The Explosion of Marketing Channels
  15. @TwitterHandle • #CMWorld AGENDA @TwitterHandle • #CMWorld Marketers Love Buying Tactics But Winter is Coming!
  16. Millennial Content Discovery PatternsEmail, Search, Social = 81% of Content Discovery in 2016. Source: KoMarketing Associates
  17. @TwitterHandle • #CMWorld AGENDA @TwitterHandle • #CMWorld Content Marketing Means Creating Content People Actually Want Content Marketing What Brands Publish What Customers Want Business Instinct CharityEmpathy
  18. @TwitterHandle • #CMWorld AGENDA @TwitterHandle • #CMWorld Reach early stage buyers Engage new buyers with your brand Conversions you would have never reached = $ Build The Business Case
  19. @TwitterHandle • #CMWorld How Large is the Audience?
  20. @TwitterHandle • #CMWorld How Much Unbranded Traffic Do You Get?
  21. @TwitterHandle • #CMWorld AGENDA @TwitterHandle • #CMWorld How Much Early-Stage Search Traffic Comes To Your Website?
  22. @TwitterHandle • #CMWorld AGENDA @TwitterHandle • #CMWorld CONTENT MARKETING Articles News Infographics Social Content Quizzes Video Whitepapers Webinars Podcasts How-To Guides Events Newsletters Customer Profiles PRODUCT MARKETING Product content Offers Brochures Customer Testimonials Case studies Ads Are You Creating Content People Actually Want? 100 1 10 5 15 80
  23. @TwitterHandle • #CMWorld AGENDA @TwitterHandle • #CMWorld Early-stage Searches Middle-stage Brand Searches Search/SocialVolume What is Content Marketing? (100 - 3000 X) How do I succeed with Content Marketing? (2-10 X) What tools can help me with content marketing? (1) Are You Answering Your Customers’ Questions?
  24. @TwitterHandle • #CMWorld AGENDA @TwitterHandle • #CMWorld If The Math Isn’t Working
  25. @TwitterHandle • #CMWorld AGENDA @TwitterHandle • #CMWorld Try Fear (and Love)
  26. @TwitterHandle • #CMWorld AGENDA @TwitterHandle • #CMWorld
  27. @TwitterHandle • #CMWorld AGENDA @TwitterHandle • #CMWorld
  28. @TwitterHandle • #CMWorld AGENDA @TwitterHandle • #CMWorld IMAGINE: You show up first in Google
  29. @TwitterHandle • #CMWorld AGENDA @TwitterHandle • #CMWorld IMAGINE: You own the category www.makeup.com -- (owned by L’Oreal)
  30. @TwitterHandle • #CMWorld AGENDA @TwitterHandle • #CMWorld IMAGINE: You own the target audience www.CMO.com -- owned by Adobe
  31. @TwitterHandle • #CMWorld AGENDA @TwitterHandle • #CMWorld IMAGINE: Marketing that attracts new buyers AMEX OPEN Forum is the largest source of new leads for AMEX’s Small Business Division
  32. @TwitterHandle • #CMWorld AGENDA @TwitterHandle • #CMWorld Reach early stage buyers Engage new buyers with your brand Conversions you would have never reached = $ Build The Business Case
  33. @TwitterHandle • #CMWorld AGENDA @TwitterHandle • #CMWorld 2 Find The Budget @BrennerMichael • #CMWorld Build the Business Case | Find the Budget | Measure ROI
  34. @TwitterHandle • #CMWorld AGENDA @TwitterHandle • #CMWorld 60-70% of marketing content goes completely unused. *Sirius Decisions
  35. @TwitterHandle • #CMWorld AGENDA @TwitterHandle • #CMWorld Behind every piece of bad content is an executive who asked for it.
  36. @TwitterHandle • #CMWorld AGENDA @TwitterHandle • #CMWorld The Easiest Way To Find Budget For Content Marketing . . .
  37. @TwitterHandle • #CMWorld AGENDA @TwitterHandle • #CMWorld STOP Creating Content / Ads No One Wants
  38. @TwitterHandle • #CMWorld AGENDA @TwitterHandle • #CMWorld Excuse me boss but. . . Why does this matter? What is the impact? How will it be measured?
  39. @TwitterHandle • #CMWorld AGENDA @TwitterHandle • #CMWorld CONTENT MARKETING Articles News Infographics Social Content Quizzes Video Whitepapers Webinars Podcasts How-To Guides Events Newsletters Customer Profiles PRODUCT MARKETING Product content Offers Brochures Customer Testimonials Case studies Ads Are You Creating Content People Actually Want? 100 1 10 5 15 80
  40. @TwitterHandle • #CMWorld AGENDA @TwitterHandle • #CMWorld Content Used… Content Not Used… Content Waste is a $100 Billion Opportunity* * Source: Econsultancy = $
  41. @TwitterHandle • #CMWorld AGENDA @TwitterHandle • #CMWorld Which Marketing Programs Produce Zero Measurable Results? =$
  42. @TwitterHandle • #CMWorld AGENDA @TwitterHandle • #CMWorld The average click-through rate of display ads (DoubleClick).06% 10% Banner ad clicks by Bots (comScore) 50% Clicks on mobile ads that are accidental (GoldSpot) What Can We Stop? Banner Ads? -40% Over-exposed online ads cause sales to DECLINE (Advertising Research Foundation)
  43. @TwitterHandle • #CMWorld AGENDA @TwitterHandle • #CMWorld What Do You Spend On Paid Search Because You Don’t Rank Organically? =$
  44. @TwitterHandle • #CMWorld AGENDA @TwitterHandle • #CMWorld How To Do Content Marketing Without A Budget?
  45. @TwitterHandle • #CMWorld AGENDA @TwitterHandle • #CMWorld What is “Guerilla” Marketing?
  46. @TwitterHandle • #CMWorld • Executive PowerPoints • Whitepapers • Customer Service and Sales FAQs • Your emails = answers • Cover competitor and industry research, video, infographics • Ask 2nd-tier influencers to share their work • Create a list of top influencers, best conferences, best quotes, best stats How To Do Content Marketing Without A Budget?
  47. @TwitterHandle • #CMWorld AGENDA @TwitterHandle • #CMWorld Show me the money!
  48. @TwitterHandle • #CMWorld AGENDA @TwitterHandle • #CMWorld 3 Measure ROI @BrennerMichael • #CMWorld Build the Business Case | Find the Budget | Measure ROI
  49. @TwitterHandle • #CMWorld AGENDA @TwitterHandle • #CMWorld Maturity Audiences Only! Publish content to primary channel Distribute content to earned media Distribute content to paid media Measure ROI of content marketing Optimize and target distribution Optimize for subscriptions & offers Marketing ROI is the #1 Objective for Marketers in 2016 Documented content marketing strategy
  50. @TwitterHandle • #CMWorld AGENDA @TwitterHandle • #CMWorld http://marketinginsidergroup.com/content-marketing/best-content-marketing-hub-examples/ The Difference Between “Content” and “Content Marketing” is the Destination
  51. @TwitterHandle • #CMWorld AGENDA @TwitterHandle • #CMWorld WARNING! Math ahead!
  52. @TwitterHandle • #CMWorld AGENDA @TwitterHandle • #CMWorld Content Marketing programs are assets with real value that compounds over time. Need proof . . .
  53. @TwitterHandle • #CMWorld AGENDA @TwitterHandle • #CMWorld - 100,000 200,000 300,000 400,000 500,000 600,000 0 100 200 300 400 500 600 Sep-14 Oct-14 Nov-14 Dec-14 Jan-15 Feb-15 Mar-15 Apr-15 May-15 Jun-15 Pageviews #Articles COMPOUNDING RETURN OF CONTENT MARKETING ________ Leads
  54. @TwitterHandle • #CMWorld AGENDA @TwitterHandle • #CMWorld SAP Digitalist Mag Gets More Engagement Than Fortune, Fast Company and more…
  55. @TwitterHandle • #CMWorld AGENDA @TwitterHandle • #CMWorld 0 5,000 10,000 15,000 20,000 25,000 30,000 35,000 Organic Traffic / Social Traffic / Leads Reach, Engagement, Conversion You Would Have Never Seen
  56. @TwitterHandle • #CMWorld AGENDA @TwitterHandle • #CMWorld
  57. @TwitterHandle • #CMWorld AGENDA @TwitterHandle • #CMWorld Advertising Partnership Can Fund Content Marketing Saved / invested in content marketing platform $100,000 / $100,000 Reach, Engagement and LEADS SAP would have never seen. 1,000,000 Organic Visitors 10,000 Subscribers 1,000 Leads
  58. @TwitterHandle • #CMWorld AGENDA @TwitterHandle • #CMWorld ROI = Investment Return What is ROI?
  59. @TwitterHandle • #CMWorld AGENDA @TwitterHandle • #CMWorld ROI = Investment (Revenue – Investment) What is ROI?
  60. @TwitterHandle • #CMWorld AGENDA @TwitterHandle • #CMWorld ROI = Investment (Revenue – Investment) What is ROI?
  61. @TwitterHandle • #CMWorld AGENDA @TwitterHandle • #CMWorld ROI = With Less Do More What is ROI?
  62. @TwitterHandle • #CMWorld AGENDA @TwitterHandle • #CMWorld ROI = With Less Do The Same What is ROI?
  63. @TwitterHandle • #CMWorld AGENDA @TwitterHandle • #CMWorld Organic Search Traffic REACH Unbranded Search Traffic LEADS CONVERT OTHER CONVERSIONS SUBSCRIBERS Time on Site ENGAGE Social shares Subscriptions Bounce rate Retention Rate Upsells RETAIN Measure The ROI of Content Marketing By Objective
  64. @TwitterHandle • #CMWorld AGENDA @TwitterHandle • #CMWorld Content Marketing ROI – Reach The Value of Organic Search = (Paid Search CPC X Organic Search Traffic)
  65. @TwitterHandle • #CMWorld AGENDA @TwitterHandle • #CMWorld Content Marketing ROI – Reach The Value of Organic Search = ($2 CPC X 1,000,000) = $2 Million 0 5,000 10,000 15,000 20,000 25,000 30,000 35,000 Organic Traffic / Social Traffic / Leads
  66. @TwitterHandle • #CMWorld AGENDA @TwitterHandle • #CMWorld Organic Search Traffic REACH Unbranded Search Traffic LEADS CONVERT OTHER CONVERSIONS SUBSCRIBERS Time on Site ENGAGE Social shares Subscriptions Bounce rate Retention Rate Upsells RETAIN Measure The ROI of Content Marketing By Objective
  67. @TwitterHandle • #CMWorld AGENDA @TwitterHandle • #CMWorld
  68. Casper’s Van Winkles • Effortlessly combines national housing news with articles on inspirational interior design, celebrity homes and company updates. • Up to 6 new posts per day • Distribution and large audiences across Facebook, Pinterest, Instagram, Twitter and Google+
  69. Casper’s Van Winkles
  70. @TwitterHandle • #CMWorld AGENDA @TwitterHandle • #CMWorld Organic Search Traffic REACH Unbranded Search Traffic LEADS CONVERT OTHER CONVERSIONS SUBSCRIBERS Time on Site ENGAGE Social shares Subscriptions Bounce rate Retention Rate Upsells RETAIN --> Subscribers produce 38X ROI --> Subscribers and are 9X more likely to convert Measure The ROI of Content Marketing By Objective
  71. @TwitterHandle • #CMWorld AGENDA @TwitterHandle • #CMWorld CapGemini: Content-Loop.com ~1M visitors in 1st year + 3K new followers / week + High Quality Leads + $1M Sales = 10X ROI
  72. @TwitterHandle • #CMWorld AGENDA @TwitterHandle • #CMWorld Content Marketing ROI – Brand Engagement The Value of Subscribers= (Sales from Email Nurture / List Size)
  73. @TwitterHandle • #CMWorld AGENDA @TwitterHandle • #CMWorld Content Marketing ROI – Brand Engagement The Value of Subscribers= (Sales from Email Nurture / List Size) $10 Million / 400,000 = $25 10,000 subscribers x 25 = $250,000
  74. @TwitterHandle • #CMWorld AGENDA @TwitterHandle • #CMWorld Organic Search Traffic REACH Unbranded Search Traffic LEADS CONVERT OTHER CONVERSIONS SUBSCRIBERS Time on Site ENGAGE Social shares Subscriptions Bounce rate Retention Rate Upsells RETAIN Measure The ROI of Content Marketing By Objective
  75. @TwitterHandle • #CMWorld AGENDA @TwitterHandle • #CMWorld An “Inquiry” is not a “Lead!”
  76. @TwitterHandle • #CMWorld AGENDA @TwitterHandle • #CMWorld Content Marketing ROI - Conversion The Value of Content Marketing Leads = (Content Marketing Leads X Conversion Rate X Avg. Sale Price)
  77. @TwitterHandle • #CMWorld AGENDA @TwitterHandle • #CMWorld Content Marketing ROI - Conversion The Value of Content Marketing Leads = (Content Marketing Leads X Conversion Rate X Avg. Sale Price) 1,000 leads x 3% MQL x 50% Sales Accepted (SAL) x 50% Sales Qualified (SQL) x 40% Closed / Won x $180,000 Average Selling Price (ASP) = $540,000 ($540,000 - $100,000) / $100,000 = 4.4X ROI
  78. @TwitterHandle • #CMWorld AGENDA @TwitterHandle • #CMWorld Organic Search Traffic REACH Unbranded Search Traffic LEADS CONVERT OTHER CONVERSIONS SUBSCRIBERS Time on Site ENGAGE Social shares Subscriptions Bounce rate Retention Rate Upsells RETAIN Measure The ROI of Content Marketing By Objective
  79. @TwitterHandle • #CMWorld AGENDA @TwitterHandle • #CMWorld It’s 6-7X cheaper to keep an existing customer than to acquire a new one. A 5% increase in retention = 95% increase in ROI.
  80. @TwitterHandle • #CMWorld AGENDA @TwitterHandle • #CMWorld Content Marketing ROI: Content consumers spend 2x more and are 3x more loyal. Shane Jordan Digital Marketing Manager Blue Cross BlueShield of Alabama
  81. @TwitterHandle • #CMWorld AGENDA @TwitterHandle • #CMWorld Content Marketing ROI - Retention The Value of Retention= Lifetime Value $$$ Retention Rate $$$ Rev $$$ per Content-consuming Customers vs. Non-Content-consuming Customers
  82. @TwitterHandle • #CMWorld AGENDA @TwitterHandle • #CMWorld CEOs and Boards will no longer accept marketing that doesn’t deliver business results!
  83. @TwitterHandle • #CMWorld AGENDA @TwitterHandle • #CMWorld BUILD THE BUSINESS CASE FIND THE BUDGET MEASURE RESULTS My Free Gift To You: http://bit.ly/content-formula
  84. @TwitterHandle • #CMWorld Michael Brenner CEO, Marketing Insider Group Author, The Content Formula @BrennerMichael • #CMWorld Book Me To Speak: michael@marketinginsidergroup.com

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