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How To Measure
Your Content Marketing
Calculate the ROI of Content Marketing & Never Waste Money Again
Michael Brenner
CEO, Marketing Insider Group
@BrennerMichael
Life is short
Life is short
Your business “life” is even shorter
Life is short
Your business “life” is even shorter
STOP doing stuff that
doesn’t make an impact!
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WARNING: Maturity Audiences Only!
Publish content to
primary channel
Distribute content
to earned media
Distribute content
to paid media
Measure ROI of
content marketing
Optimize and target
distribution
Optimize for
subscriptions
& offers
Marketing ROI
is the #1 Objective
for Marketers in 2016
Documented
content marketing
strategy
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PART ONE
/ Build The
Business Case
BUILD THE BUSINESS CASE FIND THE BUDGET MEASURE RESULTS
1
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CEOs and
Boards will no
longer accept
marketing that
doesn’t deliver
results!
Marketing Has A
Marketing Problem
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Content marketing trends
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What is the ROI?
The First Banner Ad
(1994)
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Less likely
to click on a
banner than…
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We need to stop interrupting what
people are interested in and
be what people are interested in!
Earn Your Audience’s Attention
vs.
Buying or Interrupting it.
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Reach early
stage buyers
Engage new buyers
with your brand
Conversions you would
have never reached
= $
Build The Business Case
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2011: SAP launches major new product
Marketing Budgets
Marketing Contribution
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Cluster Brand?
Total Monthly
Searches (est.)
Analytics Brand 458
30,000 XAnalytics Non-Brand 1,520,761
Cloud Brand 398
10,000 XCloud Non-Brand 578,460
Big Data Brand 28,884
218 XBig Data Non-Brand 470,967
Mobility Brand 12,488
28 XMobility Non-Brand 345,598
CRM/Sales Brand 156,028
40 XCRM/Sales Non-Brand 6,313,329
Accounting. Finance Brand 30,497
24 XAccounting. Finance Non-Brand 720,493
TOTAL Brand 1,688,883
130 XTOTAL Non-Brand 130,616,715
Tried To Build The Business Case With Data
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Our Website: Talking To Ourselves
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Click to edit Master subtitle styleLate-Stage Content
66%Early-Stage Content
6%
Middle-Stage Content
28%
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The Math Didn’t Help
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The Power of Fear
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IMAGINE: We show up first in Google
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IMAGINE: We own the category
www.makeup.com -- (owned by L’Oreal)
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IMAGINE: We own the target audience
www.CMO.com -- owned by Adobe
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IMAGINE: Marketing that attracts new buyers
AMEXOPEN Forum is the largest source of new leads for AMEX’s Small Business Division
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Content Marketing Requires Empathy
Content
Marketing
What
Brands
Publish
What
Customers
Want
Business Instinct CharityEmpathy
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BUT: We had no budget
Engagement?
99% Bounce Rate
How Much COST?
$200,000
Search Traffic?
0, None, Nada, Zip
Social Shares?
Also ZERO
Conversions?
“This is an awareness
campaign”
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SAP Digitalist Magazine
To help executives understand how technology drives business innovation.
Engagement?
70%
How Much COST?
$100,000
Half the ad budget
Search Traffic?
50%
Social Shares?
10%
Conversions?
~1,000 in year 1
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0
5,000
10,000
15,000
20,000
25,000
30,000
35,000
Organic Traffic / Social Traffic / Leads
Reach and Engagement We Would Have
Never Seen
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SAP Digitalist Mag Gets More Engagement Than Fortune,
Fast Company and more…
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The buyer journey is nothing
more than a series of questions
that must be answered.
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How Much Early-Stage Search Traffic
Comes To Your Website?
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CONTENT MARKETING
Articles
News
Infographics
Social Content
Quizzes
Video
Whitepapers
Webinars
Podcasts
How-To Guides
Events
Newsletters
Customer Profiles
PRODUCT MARKETING
Product content
Offers
Brochures
Customer Testimonials
Case studies
Ads
Are You Creating Content People Actually Want?
100
1
10
5
15
80
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Early-stage Searches
Middle-stage
Brand Searches
Search/SocialVolume
What is Content Marketing?
(100 - 3000 X)
How do I succeed with
Content Marketing?
(2-10 X)
What tools can help
me with content
marketing?
(1)
Are You Answering Your Customers’ Questions?
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Customers Middle
Early
What is / are?
Why important
Late
Who?
How much?
Where?
1
StagePersona Questions / Concerns Keyword Index
100
How to?
10
Content Marketing is as simple as
answering your customers’ top questions
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PART TWO
/ Find The
Budget
BUILD THE BUSINESS CASE FIND THE BUDGET MEASURE RESULTS
2
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Marketers Love Buying Tactics
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The Explosion of
Marketing Channels
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What’s The ROI of
logos on
stadiums?@BrennerMichael
#BMA16
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60-70% of marketing content
goes completely unused.
*Sirius Decisions
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Behind every piece
of bad content
is an executive
who asked for it.
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The Easiest Way To
Find Budget For Content
Marketing . . .
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STOP Creating
Content No One
Wants
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Content
Used
30%
Content
Not
Used
70%
Content Waste is a
$100 Billion Opportunity*
* Source: Econsultancy
= $
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Excuse me boss but. . .
Why does this matter?
What is the impact?
How will it be measured?
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Which Marketing Programs Produce Zero
Measurable Results?
=$
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The average click-through rate of display ads
(DoubleClick).06%
10% Banner ad clicks by Bots
(comScore)
50% Clicks on mobile ads that are accidental
(GoldSpot)
What Can We Stop? Banner Ads?
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What Do You Spend On Paid Search Because
You Don’t Rank Organically?
=$
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Advertising Partnership Can Fund Content Marketing
Saved / invested in content marketing platform
$100,000 / $100,000
Reach, Engagement and LEADS SAP would have
never seen.
1,000,000 Organic Visitors
10,000 Subscribers
1,000 Leads
MARKETING INSIDER GROUP
How To Do Content Marketing Without A Budget?
MARKETING INSIDER GROUP
What is “Guerilla” Marketing?
Re-Purpose
•Executive PowerPoints
•Whitepapers
•Customer Service and Sales FAQs
•Your emails = answers
How To Do Content Marketing Without A Budget?
@BrennerMichael
OPP (OPC)
•Act as a journalists at events
•Cover competitor and industry research
•Ask 2nd-tier influencers to share their work
How To Do Content Marketing Without A Budget?
@BrennerMichael
Create Stuff Easy
• Create a list of top influencers
• best conferences
• best quotes
• best stats in your industry
• Extract the expertise inside your company
• What is…
• Why is this important...
• How to achieve success with ...
How To Do Content Marketing Without A Budget?
@BrennerMichael
PART
THREE
/ Measure
Results
BUILD THE BUSINESS CASE FIND THE BUDGET MEASURE RESULTS
3
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Content Marketing programs
are assets with real value that
grows over time.
Need proof . . .
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-
100,000
200,000
300,000
400,000
500,000
600,000
0
100
200
300
400
500
600
Sep-14 Oct-14 Nov-14 Dec-14 Jan-15 Feb-15 Mar-15 Apr-15 May-15 Jun-15
Pageviews
#Articles
COMPOUNDING RETURN OF CONTENT
MARKETING
________ Leads
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http://marketinginsidergroup.com/content-marketing/best-content-marketing-hub-examples/
The Difference Between “Content”
and “Content Marketing” is the Destination
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ROI =
Investment
Return
What is ROI?
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ROI =
Investment
(Revenue – Investment)
What is ROI?
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ROI =
Investment
(Revenue – Investment)
What is ROI?
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ROI =
With Less
Do More
What is ROI?
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ROI =
With Less
DoThe Same
What is ROI?
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How do you explain
the importance of
empathy
to executives who
don’t have any?
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Show me the money!
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Organic Search Traffic
REACH
Unbranded Search Traffic
LEADS
CONVERT
OTHER CONVERSIONS
SUBSCRIBERS
Time on Site
ENGAGE
Social shares
Subscriptions
Bounce rate
Retention Rate
Upsells
RETAIN
Measure The ROI of Content Marketing
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Content Marketing ROI – Reach
TheValue of Organic Search =
(Paid Search CPC X Organic SearchTraffic)
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Content Marketing ROI – Reach
TheValue of Organic Search =
($2 CPC X 1,000,000) = $2 Million
0
5,000
10,000
15,000
20,000
25,000
30,000
35,000
Organic Traffic / Social Traffic / Leads
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Organic Search Traffic
REACH
Unbranded Search Traffic
LEADS
CONVERT
OTHER CONVERSIONS
SUBSCRIBERS
Time on Site
ENGAGE
Social shares
Subscriptions
Bounce rate
Retention Rate
Upsells
RETAIN
Measure The ROI of Content Marketing
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Casper’s Van
Winkles
• Effortlessly combines national
housing news with articles on
inspirational interior design,
celebrity homes and company
updates.
• Up to 6 new posts per day
• Distribution and large
audiences across Facebook,
Pinterest, Instagram, Twitter
and Google+
Casper’s Van
Winkles
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Organic Search Traffic
REACH
Unbranded Search Traffic
LEADS
CONVERT
OTHER CONVERSIONS
SUBSCRIBERS
Time on Site
ENGAGE
Social shares
Subscriptions
Bounce rate
Retention Rate
Upsells
RETAIN
Measure The ROI of Content Marketing
Subscribers have value.
And are 9x more likely to convert
than non-subscribers
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CapGemini: Content-Loop.com
~1M visitors in 1st year
+ 3K new followers / week
+ High Quality Leads
+ Sales = ROI
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Content Marketing ROI – Brand Engagement
TheValue of Subscribers=
(Sales from Email Nurture / List Size)
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Content Marketing ROI – Brand Engagement
TheValue of Subscribers=
(Sales from Email Nurture / List Size)
$10 Million / 400,000 = $25
10,000 subscribers x 25 = $250,000
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Organic Search Traffic
REACH
Unbranded Search Traffic
LEADS
CONVERT
OTHER CONVERSIONS
SUBSCRIBERS
Time on Site
ENGAGE
Social shares
Subscriptions
Bounce rate
Retention Rate
Upsells
RETAIN
Measure The ROI of Content Marketing
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Content Marketing ROI - Conversion
TheValue of Content Marketing Leads =
(Content Marketing Leads X Conversion Rate X Avg. Sale Price)
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Content Marketing ROI - Conversion
TheValue of Content Marketing Leads =
(Content Marketing Leads
X Conversion Rate
X Avg. Sale Price)
1,000 leads x 3% MQL
x 50% Sales Accepted (SAL)
x 50% Sales Qualified (SQL)
x 40% Closed /Won
x $180,000 Average Selling Price (ASP) = $540,000
($540,000 - $100,000) / $100,000 = 4.4X ROI
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Organic Search Traffic
REACH
Unbranded Search Traffic
LEADS
CONVERT
OTHER CONVERSIONS
SUBSCRIBERS
Time on Site
ENGAGE
Social shares
Subscriptions
Bounce rate
Retention Rate
Upsells
RETAIN
Measure The ROI of Content Marketing
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It’s 6-7X cheaper to keep an existing
customer than to acquire a new one.
A 5% increase in retention
= 95% increase in ROI.
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Content Marketing ROI:
Content consumers
spend 2x more and are 3x
more loyal.
Shane Jordan
Digital Marketing Manager
Blue Cross BlueShield of Alabama
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Content Marketing ROI - Retention
TheValue of Retention=
LifetimeValue $$$
Retention Rate $$$
Rev $$$ per Content-consuming Customers
vs. Non-Content-consuming Customers
Life is short
Your business “life” is even shorter
STOP doing stuff that
doesn’t make an impact!
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BUILD THE BUSINESS CASE FIND THE BUDGET MEASURE RESULTS
My Free Gift To You: http://bit.ly/content-formula
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Thank you!
Michael Brenner
CEO, Marketing Insider Group
@BrennerMichael

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How To Measure The ROI of Content Marketing

  • 1. CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLE Click to edit Master subtitle style How To Measure Your Content Marketing Calculate the ROI of Content Marketing & Never Waste Money Again Michael Brenner CEO, Marketing Insider Group @BrennerMichael
  • 2.
  • 4. Life is short Your business “life” is even shorter
  • 5. Life is short Your business “life” is even shorter STOP doing stuff that doesn’t make an impact!
  • 6. CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLE Click to edit Master subtitle style WARNING: Maturity Audiences Only! Publish content to primary channel Distribute content to earned media Distribute content to paid media Measure ROI of content marketing Optimize and target distribution Optimize for subscriptions & offers Marketing ROI is the #1 Objective for Marketers in 2016 Documented content marketing strategy
  • 7. CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLE Click to edit Master subtitle style PART ONE / Build The Business Case BUILD THE BUSINESS CASE FIND THE BUDGET MEASURE RESULTS 1
  • 8. CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLE Click to edit Master subtitle style CEOs and Boards will no longer accept marketing that doesn’t deliver results!
  • 10. CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLE Click to edit Master subtitle style
  • 11.
  • 12. CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLE Click to edit Master subtitle style
  • 14.
  • 15.
  • 16.
  • 17.
  • 18. CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLE Click to edit Master subtitle style
  • 19. What is the ROI? The First Banner Ad (1994)
  • 20.
  • 21. CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLE Click to edit Master subtitle style Less likely to click on a banner than…
  • 22. CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLE Click to edit Master subtitle style We need to stop interrupting what people are interested in and be what people are interested in! Earn Your Audience’s Attention vs. Buying or Interrupting it.
  • 23. CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLE Click to edit Master subtitle style Reach early stage buyers Engage new buyers with your brand Conversions you would have never reached = $ Build The Business Case
  • 24. CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLE Click to edit Master subtitle style 2011: SAP launches major new product Marketing Budgets Marketing Contribution
  • 25. CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLE Click to edit Master subtitle style
  • 26. CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLE Click to edit Master subtitle style Cluster Brand? Total Monthly Searches (est.) Analytics Brand 458 30,000 XAnalytics Non-Brand 1,520,761 Cloud Brand 398 10,000 XCloud Non-Brand 578,460 Big Data Brand 28,884 218 XBig Data Non-Brand 470,967 Mobility Brand 12,488 28 XMobility Non-Brand 345,598 CRM/Sales Brand 156,028 40 XCRM/Sales Non-Brand 6,313,329 Accounting. Finance Brand 30,497 24 XAccounting. Finance Non-Brand 720,493 TOTAL Brand 1,688,883 130 XTOTAL Non-Brand 130,616,715 Tried To Build The Business Case With Data
  • 27. CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLE Click to edit Master subtitle style Our Website: Talking To Ourselves
  • 28. CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLE Click to edit Master subtitle styleLate-Stage Content 66%Early-Stage Content 6% Middle-Stage Content 28%
  • 29. CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLE Click to edit Master subtitle style The Math Didn’t Help
  • 30. CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLE Click to edit Master subtitle style The Power of Fear
  • 31. CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLE Click to edit Master subtitle style
  • 32. CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLE Click to edit Master subtitle style
  • 33. CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLE Click to edit Master subtitle style IMAGINE: We show up first in Google
  • 34. CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLE Click to edit Master subtitle style IMAGINE: We own the category www.makeup.com -- (owned by L’Oreal)
  • 35. CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLE Click to edit Master subtitle style IMAGINE: We own the target audience www.CMO.com -- owned by Adobe
  • 36. CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLE Click to edit Master subtitle style IMAGINE: Marketing that attracts new buyers AMEXOPEN Forum is the largest source of new leads for AMEX’s Small Business Division
  • 37. CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLE Click to edit Master subtitle style Content Marketing Requires Empathy Content Marketing What Brands Publish What Customers Want Business Instinct CharityEmpathy
  • 38. CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLE Click to edit Master subtitle style BUT: We had no budget Engagement? 99% Bounce Rate How Much COST? $200,000 Search Traffic? 0, None, Nada, Zip Social Shares? Also ZERO Conversions? “This is an awareness campaign”
  • 39. CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLE Click to edit Master subtitle style SAP Digitalist Magazine To help executives understand how technology drives business innovation. Engagement? 70% How Much COST? $100,000 Half the ad budget Search Traffic? 50% Social Shares? 10% Conversions? ~1,000 in year 1
  • 40. CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLE Click to edit Master subtitle style 0 5,000 10,000 15,000 20,000 25,000 30,000 35,000 Organic Traffic / Social Traffic / Leads Reach and Engagement We Would Have Never Seen
  • 41. CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLE Click to edit Master subtitle style SAP Digitalist Mag Gets More Engagement Than Fortune, Fast Company and more…
  • 42. CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLE Click to edit Master subtitle style
  • 43. CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLE Click to edit Master subtitle style
  • 44. CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLE Click to edit Master subtitle style The buyer journey is nothing more than a series of questions that must be answered.
  • 45. CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLE Click to edit Master subtitle style How Much Early-Stage Search Traffic Comes To Your Website?
  • 46. CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLE Click to edit Master subtitle style CONTENT MARKETING Articles News Infographics Social Content Quizzes Video Whitepapers Webinars Podcasts How-To Guides Events Newsletters Customer Profiles PRODUCT MARKETING Product content Offers Brochures Customer Testimonials Case studies Ads Are You Creating Content People Actually Want? 100 1 10 5 15 80
  • 47. CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLE Click to edit Master subtitle style Early-stage Searches Middle-stage Brand Searches Search/SocialVolume What is Content Marketing? (100 - 3000 X) How do I succeed with Content Marketing? (2-10 X) What tools can help me with content marketing? (1) Are You Answering Your Customers’ Questions?
  • 48. CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLE Click to edit Master subtitle styleYour Customers Middle Early What is / are? Why important Late Who? How much? Where? 1 StagePersona Questions / Concerns Keyword Index 100 How to? 10 Content Marketing is as simple as answering your customers’ top questions
  • 49. CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLE Click to edit Master subtitle style
  • 50. CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLE Click to edit Master subtitle style
  • 51. CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLE Click to edit Master subtitle style PART TWO / Find The Budget BUILD THE BUSINESS CASE FIND THE BUDGET MEASURE RESULTS 2
  • 52. CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLE Click to edit Master subtitle style Marketers Love Buying Tactics
  • 53. CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLE Click to edit Master subtitle style The Explosion of Marketing Channels
  • 54. CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLE Click to edit Master subtitle style What’s The ROI of logos on stadiums?@BrennerMichael #BMA16
  • 55. CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLE Click to edit Master subtitle style 60-70% of marketing content goes completely unused. *Sirius Decisions
  • 56. CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLE Click to edit Master subtitle style Behind every piece of bad content is an executive who asked for it.
  • 57. CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLE Click to edit Master subtitle style The Easiest Way To Find Budget For Content Marketing . . .
  • 58. CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLE Click to edit Master subtitle style STOP Creating Content No One Wants
  • 59. CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLE Click to edit Master subtitle style Content Used 30% Content Not Used 70% Content Waste is a $100 Billion Opportunity* * Source: Econsultancy = $
  • 60. CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLE Click to edit Master subtitle style Excuse me boss but. . . Why does this matter? What is the impact? How will it be measured?
  • 61. CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLE Click to edit Master subtitle style Which Marketing Programs Produce Zero Measurable Results? =$
  • 62. CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLE Click to edit Master subtitle style The average click-through rate of display ads (DoubleClick).06% 10% Banner ad clicks by Bots (comScore) 50% Clicks on mobile ads that are accidental (GoldSpot) What Can We Stop? Banner Ads?
  • 63. CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLE Click to edit Master subtitle style What Do You Spend On Paid Search Because You Don’t Rank Organically? =$
  • 64. CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLE Click to edit Master subtitle style Advertising Partnership Can Fund Content Marketing Saved / invested in content marketing platform $100,000 / $100,000 Reach, Engagement and LEADS SAP would have never seen. 1,000,000 Organic Visitors 10,000 Subscribers 1,000 Leads
  • 65. MARKETING INSIDER GROUP How To Do Content Marketing Without A Budget?
  • 66. MARKETING INSIDER GROUP What is “Guerilla” Marketing?
  • 67. Re-Purpose •Executive PowerPoints •Whitepapers •Customer Service and Sales FAQs •Your emails = answers How To Do Content Marketing Without A Budget? @BrennerMichael
  • 68. OPP (OPC) •Act as a journalists at events •Cover competitor and industry research •Ask 2nd-tier influencers to share their work How To Do Content Marketing Without A Budget? @BrennerMichael
  • 69. Create Stuff Easy • Create a list of top influencers • best conferences • best quotes • best stats in your industry • Extract the expertise inside your company • What is… • Why is this important... • How to achieve success with ... How To Do Content Marketing Without A Budget? @BrennerMichael
  • 70. PART THREE / Measure Results BUILD THE BUSINESS CASE FIND THE BUDGET MEASURE RESULTS 3
  • 71. CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLE Click to edit Master subtitle style Content Marketing programs are assets with real value that grows over time. Need proof . . .
  • 72. CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLE Click to edit Master subtitle style - 100,000 200,000 300,000 400,000 500,000 600,000 0 100 200 300 400 500 600 Sep-14 Oct-14 Nov-14 Dec-14 Jan-15 Feb-15 Mar-15 Apr-15 May-15 Jun-15 Pageviews #Articles COMPOUNDING RETURN OF CONTENT MARKETING ________ Leads
  • 73. CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLE Click to edit Master subtitle style http://marketinginsidergroup.com/content-marketing/best-content-marketing-hub-examples/ The Difference Between “Content” and “Content Marketing” is the Destination
  • 74. CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLE Click to edit Master subtitle style ROI = Investment Return What is ROI?
  • 75. CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLE Click to edit Master subtitle style ROI = Investment (Revenue – Investment) What is ROI?
  • 76. CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLE Click to edit Master subtitle style ROI = Investment (Revenue – Investment) What is ROI?
  • 77. CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLE Click to edit Master subtitle style ROI = With Less Do More What is ROI?
  • 78. CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLE Click to edit Master subtitle style ROI = With Less DoThe Same What is ROI?
  • 79. CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLE Click to edit Master subtitle style How do you explain the importance of empathy to executives who don’t have any?
  • 80. CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLE Click to edit Master subtitle style Show me the money!
  • 81. CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLE Click to edit Master subtitle style Organic Search Traffic REACH Unbranded Search Traffic LEADS CONVERT OTHER CONVERSIONS SUBSCRIBERS Time on Site ENGAGE Social shares Subscriptions Bounce rate Retention Rate Upsells RETAIN Measure The ROI of Content Marketing
  • 82. CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLE Click to edit Master subtitle style Content Marketing ROI – Reach TheValue of Organic Search = (Paid Search CPC X Organic SearchTraffic)
  • 83. CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLE Click to edit Master subtitle style Content Marketing ROI – Reach TheValue of Organic Search = ($2 CPC X 1,000,000) = $2 Million 0 5,000 10,000 15,000 20,000 25,000 30,000 35,000 Organic Traffic / Social Traffic / Leads
  • 84. CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLE Click to edit Master subtitle style Organic Search Traffic REACH Unbranded Search Traffic LEADS CONVERT OTHER CONVERSIONS SUBSCRIBERS Time on Site ENGAGE Social shares Subscriptions Bounce rate Retention Rate Upsells RETAIN Measure The ROI of Content Marketing
  • 85. CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLE Click to edit Master subtitle style
  • 86. Casper’s Van Winkles • Effortlessly combines national housing news with articles on inspirational interior design, celebrity homes and company updates. • Up to 6 new posts per day • Distribution and large audiences across Facebook, Pinterest, Instagram, Twitter and Google+
  • 88. CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLE Click to edit Master subtitle style Organic Search Traffic REACH Unbranded Search Traffic LEADS CONVERT OTHER CONVERSIONS SUBSCRIBERS Time on Site ENGAGE Social shares Subscriptions Bounce rate Retention Rate Upsells RETAIN Measure The ROI of Content Marketing Subscribers have value. And are 9x more likely to convert than non-subscribers
  • 89. CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLE Click to edit Master subtitle style CapGemini: Content-Loop.com ~1M visitors in 1st year + 3K new followers / week + High Quality Leads + Sales = ROI
  • 90. CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLE Click to edit Master subtitle style Content Marketing ROI – Brand Engagement TheValue of Subscribers= (Sales from Email Nurture / List Size)
  • 91. CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLE Click to edit Master subtitle style Content Marketing ROI – Brand Engagement TheValue of Subscribers= (Sales from Email Nurture / List Size) $10 Million / 400,000 = $25 10,000 subscribers x 25 = $250,000
  • 92. CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLE Click to edit Master subtitle style Organic Search Traffic REACH Unbranded Search Traffic LEADS CONVERT OTHER CONVERSIONS SUBSCRIBERS Time on Site ENGAGE Social shares Subscriptions Bounce rate Retention Rate Upsells RETAIN Measure The ROI of Content Marketing
  • 93. CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLE Click to edit Master subtitle style Content Marketing ROI - Conversion TheValue of Content Marketing Leads = (Content Marketing Leads X Conversion Rate X Avg. Sale Price)
  • 94. CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLE Click to edit Master subtitle style Content Marketing ROI - Conversion TheValue of Content Marketing Leads = (Content Marketing Leads X Conversion Rate X Avg. Sale Price) 1,000 leads x 3% MQL x 50% Sales Accepted (SAL) x 50% Sales Qualified (SQL) x 40% Closed /Won x $180,000 Average Selling Price (ASP) = $540,000 ($540,000 - $100,000) / $100,000 = 4.4X ROI
  • 95. CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLE Click to edit Master subtitle style Organic Search Traffic REACH Unbranded Search Traffic LEADS CONVERT OTHER CONVERSIONS SUBSCRIBERS Time on Site ENGAGE Social shares Subscriptions Bounce rate Retention Rate Upsells RETAIN Measure The ROI of Content Marketing
  • 96. CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLE Click to edit Master subtitle style It’s 6-7X cheaper to keep an existing customer than to acquire a new one. A 5% increase in retention = 95% increase in ROI.
  • 97. CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLE Click to edit Master subtitle style Content Marketing ROI: Content consumers spend 2x more and are 3x more loyal. Shane Jordan Digital Marketing Manager Blue Cross BlueShield of Alabama
  • 98. CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLE Click to edit Master subtitle style Content Marketing ROI - Retention TheValue of Retention= LifetimeValue $$$ Retention Rate $$$ Rev $$$ per Content-consuming Customers vs. Non-Content-consuming Customers
  • 99. Life is short Your business “life” is even shorter STOP doing stuff that doesn’t make an impact!
  • 100. CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLE Click to edit Master subtitle style BUILD THE BUSINESS CASE FIND THE BUDGET MEASURE RESULTS My Free Gift To You: http://bit.ly/content-formula
  • 101. CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLE Click to edit Master subtitle style Thank you! Michael Brenner CEO, Marketing Insider Group @BrennerMichael

Editor's Notes

  1. We’ve all asked the question, why content marketing? To set the stage, there’s been a fundamental shift in the way we as consumers consume and share content. Momentous amount of content being created, consumed and shared. An amazing amount of content, the real question is how does a brand stand apart?