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How To Measure The ROI of Content Marketing

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In this presentation, I talk about how to build the business case, find the budget, and measure the results of your content marketing investment.

Published in: Marketing
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How To Measure The ROI of Content Marketing

  1. CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLE Click to edit Master subtitle style How To Measure Your Content Marketing Calculate the ROI of Content Marketing & Never Waste Money Again Michael Brenner CEO, Marketing Insider Group @BrennerMichael
  2. Life is short
  3. Life is short Your business “life” is even shorter
  4. Life is short Your business “life” is even shorter STOP doing stuff that doesn’t make an impact!
  5. CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLE Click to edit Master subtitle style WARNING: Maturity Audiences Only! Publish content to primary channel Distribute content to earned media Distribute content to paid media Measure ROI of content marketing Optimize and target distribution Optimize for subscriptions & offers Marketing ROI is the #1 Objective for Marketers in 2016 Documented content marketing strategy
  6. CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLE Click to edit Master subtitle style PART ONE / Build The Business Case BUILD THE BUSINESS CASE FIND THE BUDGET MEASURE RESULTS 1
  7. CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLE Click to edit Master subtitle style CEOs and Boards will no longer accept marketing that doesn’t deliver results!
  8. Marketing Has A Marketing Problem
  9. CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLE Click to edit Master subtitle style
  10. CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLE Click to edit Master subtitle style
  11. Content marketing trends
  12. CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLE Click to edit Master subtitle style
  13. What is the ROI? The First Banner Ad (1994)
  14. CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLE Click to edit Master subtitle style Less likely to click on a banner than…
  15. CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLE Click to edit Master subtitle style We need to stop interrupting what people are interested in and be what people are interested in! Earn Your Audience’s Attention vs. Buying or Interrupting it.
  16. CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLE Click to edit Master subtitle style Reach early stage buyers Engage new buyers with your brand Conversions you would have never reached = $ Build The Business Case
  17. CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLE Click to edit Master subtitle style 2011: SAP launches major new product Marketing Budgets Marketing Contribution
  18. CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLE Click to edit Master subtitle style
  19. CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLE Click to edit Master subtitle style Cluster Brand? Total Monthly Searches (est.) Analytics Brand 458 30,000 XAnalytics Non-Brand 1,520,761 Cloud Brand 398 10,000 XCloud Non-Brand 578,460 Big Data Brand 28,884 218 XBig Data Non-Brand 470,967 Mobility Brand 12,488 28 XMobility Non-Brand 345,598 CRM/Sales Brand 156,028 40 XCRM/Sales Non-Brand 6,313,329 Accounting. Finance Brand 30,497 24 XAccounting. Finance Non-Brand 720,493 TOTAL Brand 1,688,883 130 XTOTAL Non-Brand 130,616,715 Tried To Build The Business Case With Data
  20. CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLE Click to edit Master subtitle style Our Website: Talking To Ourselves
  21. CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLE Click to edit Master subtitle styleLate-Stage Content 66%Early-Stage Content 6% Middle-Stage Content 28%
  22. CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLE Click to edit Master subtitle style The Math Didn’t Help
  23. CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLE Click to edit Master subtitle style The Power of Fear
  24. CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLE Click to edit Master subtitle style
  25. CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLE Click to edit Master subtitle style
  26. CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLE Click to edit Master subtitle style IMAGINE: We show up first in Google
  27. CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLE Click to edit Master subtitle style IMAGINE: We own the category www.makeup.com -- (owned by L’Oreal)
  28. CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLE Click to edit Master subtitle style IMAGINE: We own the target audience www.CMO.com -- owned by Adobe
  29. CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLE Click to edit Master subtitle style IMAGINE: Marketing that attracts new buyers AMEXOPEN Forum is the largest source of new leads for AMEX’s Small Business Division
  30. CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLE Click to edit Master subtitle style Content Marketing Requires Empathy Content Marketing What Brands Publish What Customers Want Business Instinct CharityEmpathy
  31. CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLE Click to edit Master subtitle style BUT: We had no budget Engagement? 99% Bounce Rate How Much COST? $200,000 Search Traffic? 0, None, Nada, Zip Social Shares? Also ZERO Conversions? “This is an awareness campaign”
  32. CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLE Click to edit Master subtitle style SAP Digitalist Magazine To help executives understand how technology drives business innovation. Engagement? 70% How Much COST? $100,000 Half the ad budget Search Traffic? 50% Social Shares? 10% Conversions? ~1,000 in year 1
  33. CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLE Click to edit Master subtitle style 0 5,000 10,000 15,000 20,000 25,000 30,000 35,000 Organic Traffic / Social Traffic / Leads Reach and Engagement We Would Have Never Seen
  34. CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLE Click to edit Master subtitle style SAP Digitalist Mag Gets More Engagement Than Fortune, Fast Company and more…
  35. CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLE Click to edit Master subtitle style
  36. CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLE Click to edit Master subtitle style
  37. CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLE Click to edit Master subtitle style The buyer journey is nothing more than a series of questions that must be answered.
  38. CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLE Click to edit Master subtitle style How Much Early-Stage Search Traffic Comes To Your Website?
  39. CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLE Click to edit Master subtitle style CONTENT MARKETING Articles News Infographics Social Content Quizzes Video Whitepapers Webinars Podcasts How-To Guides Events Newsletters Customer Profiles PRODUCT MARKETING Product content Offers Brochures Customer Testimonials Case studies Ads Are You Creating Content People Actually Want? 100 1 10 5 15 80
  40. CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLE Click to edit Master subtitle style Early-stage Searches Middle-stage Brand Searches Search/SocialVolume What is Content Marketing? (100 - 3000 X) How do I succeed with Content Marketing? (2-10 X) What tools can help me with content marketing? (1) Are You Answering Your Customers’ Questions?
  41. CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLE Click to edit Master subtitle styleYour Customers Middle Early What is / are? Why important Late Who? How much? Where? 1 StagePersona Questions / Concerns Keyword Index 100 How to? 10 Content Marketing is as simple as answering your customers’ top questions
  42. CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLE Click to edit Master subtitle style
  43. CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLE Click to edit Master subtitle style
  44. CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLE Click to edit Master subtitle style PART TWO / Find The Budget BUILD THE BUSINESS CASE FIND THE BUDGET MEASURE RESULTS 2
  45. CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLE Click to edit Master subtitle style Marketers Love Buying Tactics
  46. CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLE Click to edit Master subtitle style The Explosion of Marketing Channels
  47. CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLE Click to edit Master subtitle style What’s The ROI of logos on stadiums?@BrennerMichael #BMA16
  48. CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLE Click to edit Master subtitle style 60-70% of marketing content goes completely unused. *Sirius Decisions
  49. CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLE Click to edit Master subtitle style Behind every piece of bad content is an executive who asked for it.
  50. CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLE Click to edit Master subtitle style The Easiest Way To Find Budget For Content Marketing . . .
  51. CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLE Click to edit Master subtitle style STOP Creating Content No One Wants
  52. CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLE Click to edit Master subtitle style Content Used 30% Content Not Used 70% Content Waste is a $100 Billion Opportunity* * Source: Econsultancy = $
  53. CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLE Click to edit Master subtitle style Excuse me boss but. . . Why does this matter? What is the impact? How will it be measured?
  54. CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLE Click to edit Master subtitle style Which Marketing Programs Produce Zero Measurable Results? =$
  55. CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLE Click to edit Master subtitle style The average click-through rate of display ads (DoubleClick).06% 10% Banner ad clicks by Bots (comScore) 50% Clicks on mobile ads that are accidental (GoldSpot) What Can We Stop? Banner Ads?
  56. CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLE Click to edit Master subtitle style What Do You Spend On Paid Search Because You Don’t Rank Organically? =$
  57. CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLE Click to edit Master subtitle style Advertising Partnership Can Fund Content Marketing Saved / invested in content marketing platform $100,000 / $100,000 Reach, Engagement and LEADS SAP would have never seen. 1,000,000 Organic Visitors 10,000 Subscribers 1,000 Leads
  58. MARKETING INSIDER GROUP How To Do Content Marketing Without A Budget?
  59. MARKETING INSIDER GROUP What is “Guerilla” Marketing?
  60. Re-Purpose •Executive PowerPoints •Whitepapers •Customer Service and Sales FAQs •Your emails = answers How To Do Content Marketing Without A Budget? @BrennerMichael
  61. OPP (OPC) •Act as a journalists at events •Cover competitor and industry research •Ask 2nd-tier influencers to share their work How To Do Content Marketing Without A Budget? @BrennerMichael
  62. Create Stuff Easy • Create a list of top influencers • best conferences • best quotes • best stats in your industry • Extract the expertise inside your company • What is… • Why is this important... • How to achieve success with ... How To Do Content Marketing Without A Budget? @BrennerMichael
  63. PART THREE / Measure Results BUILD THE BUSINESS CASE FIND THE BUDGET MEASURE RESULTS 3
  64. CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLE Click to edit Master subtitle style Content Marketing programs are assets with real value that grows over time. Need proof . . .
  65. CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLE Click to edit Master subtitle style - 100,000 200,000 300,000 400,000 500,000 600,000 0 100 200 300 400 500 600 Sep-14 Oct-14 Nov-14 Dec-14 Jan-15 Feb-15 Mar-15 Apr-15 May-15 Jun-15 Pageviews #Articles COMPOUNDING RETURN OF CONTENT MARKETING ________ Leads
  66. CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLE Click to edit Master subtitle style http://marketinginsidergroup.com/content-marketing/best-content-marketing-hub-examples/ The Difference Between “Content” and “Content Marketing” is the Destination
  67. CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLE Click to edit Master subtitle style ROI = Investment Return What is ROI?
  68. CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLE Click to edit Master subtitle style ROI = Investment (Revenue – Investment) What is ROI?
  69. CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLE Click to edit Master subtitle style ROI = Investment (Revenue – Investment) What is ROI?
  70. CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLE Click to edit Master subtitle style ROI = With Less Do More What is ROI?
  71. CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLE Click to edit Master subtitle style ROI = With Less DoThe Same What is ROI?
  72. CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLE Click to edit Master subtitle style How do you explain the importance of empathy to executives who don’t have any?
  73. CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLE Click to edit Master subtitle style Show me the money!
  74. CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLE Click to edit Master subtitle style Organic Search Traffic REACH Unbranded Search Traffic LEADS CONVERT OTHER CONVERSIONS SUBSCRIBERS Time on Site ENGAGE Social shares Subscriptions Bounce rate Retention Rate Upsells RETAIN Measure The ROI of Content Marketing
  75. CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLE Click to edit Master subtitle style Content Marketing ROI – Reach TheValue of Organic Search = (Paid Search CPC X Organic SearchTraffic)
  76. CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLE Click to edit Master subtitle style Content Marketing ROI – Reach TheValue of Organic Search = ($2 CPC X 1,000,000) = $2 Million 0 5,000 10,000 15,000 20,000 25,000 30,000 35,000 Organic Traffic / Social Traffic / Leads
  77. CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLE Click to edit Master subtitle style Organic Search Traffic REACH Unbranded Search Traffic LEADS CONVERT OTHER CONVERSIONS SUBSCRIBERS Time on Site ENGAGE Social shares Subscriptions Bounce rate Retention Rate Upsells RETAIN Measure The ROI of Content Marketing
  78. CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLE Click to edit Master subtitle style
  79. Casper’s Van Winkles • Effortlessly combines national housing news with articles on inspirational interior design, celebrity homes and company updates. • Up to 6 new posts per day • Distribution and large audiences across Facebook, Pinterest, Instagram, Twitter and Google+
  80. Casper’s Van Winkles
  81. CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLE Click to edit Master subtitle style Organic Search Traffic REACH Unbranded Search Traffic LEADS CONVERT OTHER CONVERSIONS SUBSCRIBERS Time on Site ENGAGE Social shares Subscriptions Bounce rate Retention Rate Upsells RETAIN Measure The ROI of Content Marketing Subscribers have value. And are 9x more likely to convert than non-subscribers
  82. CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLE Click to edit Master subtitle style CapGemini: Content-Loop.com ~1M visitors in 1st year + 3K new followers / week + High Quality Leads + Sales = ROI
  83. CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLE Click to edit Master subtitle style Content Marketing ROI – Brand Engagement TheValue of Subscribers= (Sales from Email Nurture / List Size)
  84. CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLE Click to edit Master subtitle style Content Marketing ROI – Brand Engagement TheValue of Subscribers= (Sales from Email Nurture / List Size) $10 Million / 400,000 = $25 10,000 subscribers x 25 = $250,000
  85. CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLE Click to edit Master subtitle style Organic Search Traffic REACH Unbranded Search Traffic LEADS CONVERT OTHER CONVERSIONS SUBSCRIBERS Time on Site ENGAGE Social shares Subscriptions Bounce rate Retention Rate Upsells RETAIN Measure The ROI of Content Marketing
  86. CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLE Click to edit Master subtitle style Content Marketing ROI - Conversion TheValue of Content Marketing Leads = (Content Marketing Leads X Conversion Rate X Avg. Sale Price)
  87. CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLE Click to edit Master subtitle style Content Marketing ROI - Conversion TheValue of Content Marketing Leads = (Content Marketing Leads X Conversion Rate X Avg. Sale Price) 1,000 leads x 3% MQL x 50% Sales Accepted (SAL) x 50% Sales Qualified (SQL) x 40% Closed /Won x $180,000 Average Selling Price (ASP) = $540,000 ($540,000 - $100,000) / $100,000 = 4.4X ROI
  88. CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLE Click to edit Master subtitle style Organic Search Traffic REACH Unbranded Search Traffic LEADS CONVERT OTHER CONVERSIONS SUBSCRIBERS Time on Site ENGAGE Social shares Subscriptions Bounce rate Retention Rate Upsells RETAIN Measure The ROI of Content Marketing
  89. CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLE Click to edit Master subtitle style It’s 6-7X cheaper to keep an existing customer than to acquire a new one. A 5% increase in retention = 95% increase in ROI.
  90. CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLE Click to edit Master subtitle style Content Marketing ROI: Content consumers spend 2x more and are 3x more loyal. Shane Jordan Digital Marketing Manager Blue Cross BlueShield of Alabama
  91. CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLE Click to edit Master subtitle style Content Marketing ROI - Retention TheValue of Retention= LifetimeValue $$$ Retention Rate $$$ Rev $$$ per Content-consuming Customers vs. Non-Content-consuming Customers
  92. Life is short Your business “life” is even shorter STOP doing stuff that doesn’t make an impact!
  93. CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLE Click to edit Master subtitle style BUILD THE BUSINESS CASE FIND THE BUDGET MEASURE RESULTS My Free Gift To You: http://bit.ly/content-formula
  94. CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLE Click to edit Master subtitle style Thank you! Michael Brenner CEO, Marketing Insider Group @BrennerMichael

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