Michael Brenner, CEO of the Marketing Insider Group joins Steve Rayson of BuzzSumo to discuss Content Marketing ROI. In the presentation Michael covers:
- The importance of content ROI
- Content objectives and the buyer journey
- Ten powerful ways to improve your returns
- How to track and prove ROI
#ContentROI
SEO Trends in 2024: What You Need to Know to Succeed
BuzzSumo Content Marketing Masterclass - ROI
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Content Marketing Master Class
Return on Investment
#ContentROI
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Content Marketing ROI
Steve Rayson
Director, BuzzSumo
@steverayson
Your host
Expert speaker
Michael Brenner
CEO, Marketing Insider
Group
@BrennerMichael
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The Content Formula
Calculate the ROI of Content Marketing & Never Waste Money Again
Michael Brenner
CEO, Marketing Insider Group
@BrennerMichael
7. Life is short
Your business “life” is even shorter
STOP doing stuff that
doesn’t make an impact!
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ROI is the #1 objective for Marketers in 2016
CMO’s greatest challenge is
showing measurable ROI.
Marketers claim
measuring marketing effectiveness
is their greatest challenge
93%
~AdAge
81%
~CMI / MProfs
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Less likely
to click on a
banner than…
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The average click-through rate of display ads
(DoubleClick).06%
10% Banner ad clicks by Bots
(comScore)
50% Clicks on mobile ads that are accidental
(GoldSpot)
What Can We Stop? Banner Ads?
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What’s The ROI of
logos on
stadiums?@BrennerMichael
#BMA16
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“CEOs and Boards
will no longer accept marketing
that doesn’t deliver results!”
~Gabe Leydon,
CEO, Machine Zone
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We need to stop interrupting what
people are interested in and
be what people are interested in!
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There were over 500 articles published on Content Marketing ROI in the last year, which were
shared 90,000 times.There were over 4,000 articles on marketing ROI more generally.
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There were over 500 articles published on Content Marketing ROI in the last year, shared
90,000 times. There were over 4,000 articles on marketing ROI more generally.
The median shares for B2B sites is 106 shares and for 1M random sites is 8 shares!!!
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The buyer journey
is nothing more
than a series of questions
that must be answered.
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Customers Middle
Early
What is / are?
Why important
Late
Who?
How much?
Where?
1
StagePersona Questions / Concerns Keyword Index
100
How to?
10
Content Marketing is as simple as
answering your customers’ top questions
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WARNING!
Math ahead!
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Content Marketing programs
are assets with real value that
grows over time.
Need proof . . .
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ROI =
Investment
Return
What is ROI?
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ROI =
Investment
(Revenue – Investment)
What is ROI?
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ROI =
Investment
(Revenue – Investment)
What is ROI?
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ROI =
With Less
Do More
What is ROI?
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ROI =
With Less
DoThe Same
What is ROI?
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60-70% of marketing content
goes completely unused.
*Sirius Decisions
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Behind every piece
of bad content
is an executive
who asked for it.
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Content
Used
30%
Content
Not
Used
70%
Content Waste is a
$100 Billion Opportunity*
* Source: Econsultancy
= $
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We need to
push back
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The Art of Pushing Back
Why does this matter?
What is the impact?
How will it be measured?
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Content Marketing Requires Empathy
Content
Marketing
What
Brands
Publish
What
Customers
Want
Business Instinct CharityEmpathy
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How do you explain
the importance of
empathy
to executives who
don’t have any?
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Show me the money!
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The #1 Way To Improve
Marketing ROI . . .
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Run CRM ROI Report. Rank Low toHigh
=$
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Reach early
stage buyers
Engage new buyers
with your brand
Conversions you would
have never reached
= $
Build The Business Case For Change
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Organic Search Traffic
REACH
Unbranded Search Traffic
LEADS
CONVERT
OTHER CONVERSIONS
SUBSCRIBERS
Time on Site
ENGAGE
Social shares
Subscriptions
Bounce rate
Retention Rate
Upsells
RETAIN
Measure The ROI of Content Marketing
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What Do You Spend On Paid Search Because
You Don’t Rank Organically?
=$
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Lyly Lepinay – (Former) Content
Marketing Manager, CapGemini
“We’re Spending $$$ On Paid Search
Because We Don’t Rank Organically!”
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30%70%
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CapGemini: Content-Loop.com
~1M visitors in 1st year
+ 3K new followers / week
+ High Quality Leads
+ Sales = ROI
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Content Marketing ROI – Reach
TheValue of Organic Search =
(Paid Search CPC X Organic SearchTraffic)
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Content Marketing ROI – Reach
TheValue of Organic Search =
($2 CPC X 1,000,000) = $1 Million
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Organic Search Traffic
REACH
Unbranded Search Traffic
LEADS
CONVERT
OTHER CONVERSIONS
SUBSCRIBERS
Time on Site
ENGAGE
Social shares
Subscriptions
Bounce rate
Retention Rate
Upsells
RETAIN
Measure The ROI of Content Marketing
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55. Casper’s Van
Winkles
• Effortlessly combines national
housing news with articles on
inspirational interior design,
celebrity homes and company
updates.
• Up to 6 new posts per day
• Distribution and large
audiences across Facebook,
Pinterest, Instagram, Twitter
and Google+
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Organic Search Traffic
REACH
Unbranded Search Traffic
LEADS
CONVERT
OTHER CONVERSIONS
SUBSCRIBERS
Time on Site
ENGAGE
Social shares
Subscriptions
Bounce rate
Retention Rate
Upsells
RETAIN
Measure The ROI of Content Marketing
Subscribers have value.
And are 9x more likely to convert
than non-subscribers
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Content Marketing ROI – Brand Engagement
TheValue of Subscribers=
(Sales from Email Nurture / List Size)
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Content Marketing ROI – Brand Engagement
TheValue of Subscribers=
(Sales from Email Nurture / List Size)
$10 Million / 400,000 = $25
10,000 subscribers x 25 = $250,000
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Organic Search Traffic
REACH
Unbranded Search Traffic
LEADS
CONVERT
OTHER CONVERSIONS
SUBSCRIBERS
Time on Site
ENGAGE
Social shares
Subscriptions
Bounce rate
Retention Rate
Upsells
RETAIN
Measure The ROI of Content Marketing
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Product vs. Category Searches
”SAP Cloud” vs. “Cloud Computing”
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SAP Website: Talking To Themselves
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The Math Didn’t Help
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The Power of Fear
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IMAGINE: We show up first in Google
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IMAGINE: We own the category
www.makeup.com -- (owned by L’Oreal)
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IMAGINE: We own the target audience
www.CMO.com -- owned by Adobe
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IMAGINE: Marketing that attracts new buyers
AMEXOPEN Forum is the largest source of new leads for AMEX’s Small Business Division
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BUT: SAP had no budget
Engagement?
99% Bounce Rate
How Much COST?
$200,000
Search Traffic?
0, None, Nada, Zip
Social Shares?
Also ZERO
Conversions?
“This is an awareness
campaign”
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SAP Digitalist Magazine
To help executives understand how technology drives business innovation.
Engagement?
70%
How Much COST?
$100,000
Half the ad budget
Search Traffic?
50%
Social Shares?
10%
Conversions?
~1,000 in year 1
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SAP Digitalist Mag Gets More Engagement Than Fortune,
Fast Company and more…
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Content Marketing ROI - Conversion
TheValue of Content Marketing Leads =
(Content Marketing Leads X Conversion Rate X Avg. Sale Price)
1,000 leads x 3% MQL x 50% SAL x 50% SQL x 40% closed x $180,000 = $540,000
($540,000 - $100,000) / $100,000 = 4.4X ROI
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Organic Search Traffic
REACH
Unbranded Search Traffic
LEADS
CONVERT
OTHER CONVERSIONS
SUBSCRIBERS
Time on Site
ENGAGE
Social shares
Subscriptions
Bounce rate
Retention Rate
Upsells
RETAIN
Measure The ROI of Content Marketing
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It’s 6-7X cheaper to keep an existing
customer than to acquire a new one.
A 5% increase in retention
= 95% increase in ROI.
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Content Marketing ROI:
Content consumers
spend 2x more and are 3x
more loyal.
Shane Jordan
Digital Marketing Manager
Blue Cross BlueShield of Alabama
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Content Marketing ROI - Retention
TheValue of Retention=
LifetimeValue $$$
Retention Rate $$$
Rev $$$ per Content-consuming Customers
vs. Non-Content-consuming Customers
80. Life is short
Your business “life” is even shorter
STOP doing stuff that
doesn’t make an impact!
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BUILD THE BUSINESS CASE FIND THE BUDGET MEASURE RESULTS
My Free Gift To You: http://bit.ly/content-formula
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Thank you!
Michael Brenner
CEO, Marketing Insider Group
@BrennerMichael
Editor's Notes
We’ve all asked the question, why content marketing?
To set the stage, there’s been a fundamental shift in the way we as consumers consume and share content. Momentous amount of content being created, consumed and shared. An amazing amount of content, the real question is how does a brand stand apart?
There were over 500 articles published on Content Marketing ROI in the last year, which were shared 90,000 times. There were over 4,000 articles on marketing ROI more generally.