Cambridge 1


Published on

The city of Cambridge is a university town and the administrative centre of the county of Cambridgeshire, England. It lies in East Anglia about 50 miles (80 km) north-by-east of London. Cambridge is at the heart of the high-technology centre known as Silicon Fen – a play on Silicon Valley and the fens surrounding the city. Cambridge is well known as the home of the University of Cambridge. The university includes the renowned Cavendish Laboratory, King's College Chapel, and the Cambridge University Library. The Cambridge skyline is dominated by the last two buildings, along with the chimney of Addenbrooke's Hospital in the far south of the city and St John's College Chapel tower in the north.

Published in: Travel
1 Like
  • Thank you Mirka for your support, thank you
    Are you sure you want to  Yes  No
    Your message goes here
    Are you sure you want to  Yes  No
    Your message goes here
    Thank you
    Are you sure you want to  Yes  No
    Your message goes here
No Downloads
Total views
On SlideShare
From Embeds
Number of Embeds
Embeds 0
No embeds

No notes for slide
  • King James VI of Scotland , on ascending the English throne , brought to the English Parliament a practice which had been used in the Scottish Parliament of allowing the universities to elect members. The King believed that the universities were often affected by the decisions of Parliament and ought therefore to have representation in it. After the Union the Scottish universities lost their representatives in the new Parliament of Great Britain at Westminster . The University of Cambridge and the University of Oxford were therefore given two seats each from 1603. The voters were the graduates of the university, whether they were resident or not, who had the vote for their University in addition to any other vote that they might have. After the Act of Union 1800 with Ireland , the University of Dublin ( Trinity College ), which had elected two MPs to the Parliament of Ireland since 1613, was allowed one member from 1801 and two from 1832.
  • The University of London was enfranchised with one member in 1868, along with the four ancient Scottish universities - Glasgow and Aberdeen electing one member, and St. Andrews and Edinburgh electing another. The list of universities represented in Parliament was further enlarged in 1918, including the Queen's University of Belfast and the National University of Ireland . These both, as well the University of Dublin, also received four seats in the devolved Stormont Parliament and the Southern Ireland Parliament respectively that were established in 1920 and elected in 1921. Also in 1918, the Scottish universities switched to all electing three members jointly (see Combined Scottish Universities ). In 1918, all the other English universities (i.e. except for Cambridge, Oxford and London) were enfranchised with two seats, as Combined English Universities . They were Birmingham , Bristol , Durham , Leeds , Liverpool , Manchester , Reading (from August 1928), and Sheffield . The University of Wales also received one seat in 1918.
  • 1918 also saw the introduction of the Single Transferable Vote for university constituencies. The Labour government in 1930 attempted to abolish the university constituencies but was defeated in the House of Commons . Although the members for the university Constituencies were usually Conservatives , in the later years, Independent candidates began to win many of the seats. In 1948, the Labour government abolished the university constituencies, with effect from the dissolution of Parliament in 1950, along with all other examples of plural voting . The Members for the university constituencies include many notable statesmen: William Pitt the Younger and Lord Palmerston both served as MPs for Cambridge University, and Robert Peel and William Ewart Gladstone each served as MP for Oxford University for portions of their careers. In his last years Ramsay MacDonald was MP for Combined Scottish Universities after losing his seat in the 1935 general election . Many criticised this as he had previously sought to abolish the seats when Labour Prime Minister, and many now felt the seats were being used to provide a failed politician with a seat he could not find elsewhere.
  • The Queen's University, Belfast survived in the Northern Ireland Parliament until it was abolished in 1968 (with effect from the dissolution of Parliament in 1969) by the Electoral Law Act (Northern Ireland) 1968 (1968 c. 20, Act of the Stormont Parliament). This was part of a series of measures by the then Northern Ireland Prime Minister Terence O'Neill to reform elements of the election franchise and deal with many long-standing civil-rights grievances. Irish Free State, Republic of Ireland Today there are no university constituencies in the Republic's lower house of parliament, Dáil Éireann , but two constituencies are used for elections to Seanad Éireann , the weak upper house . These are University of Dublin and the National University of Ireland. The two electorates consist of the graduates of each university. Each is a three-seat constituency elected under the Single Transferable Vote .
  • Cambridge 1

    1. 1. CAMBRIDGE
    2. 3. Coat of Arms of the City Council
    3. 15. Addenbrooke’s Hospital
    4. 16. Trumpington street Fitzwilliam museum
    5. 18. Biblioteca universităţii din Cambridge este, alături de British Library şi Bodleian Library din Oxford, una dintre cele mai mari din Marea Britanie Cambridge is most widely known as the home of the University of Cambridge founded in 1209, which has been consistently ranked one of the top five universities in the world
    6. 20. In 1209, students escaping from hostile townspeople in Oxford fled to Cambridge and formed a university there. The oldest college that still exists, Peterhouse, was founded in 1284. One of the most well-known buildings in Cambridge, King's College Chapel, was begun in 1446 by King Henry VI. The project was completed in 1515 during the reign of King Henry VIII. În 1604 universităţii i-a fost acordat dreptul de a trimite doi reprezentanţi în parlament. Acest privilegiu a fost pierdut abia în anul 1949
    7. 22. În secolul XVI, în perioada Reformei, remarcabilul învăţat olandez, Erasmus din Rotterdam a predat aici greaca şi latina At the University of Cambridge, Erasmus was the Lady Margaret's Professor of Divinity and had the option of spending the rest of his life as an English professor. He stayed at Queens' College, Cambridge from 1510 to 1515, and may have been an alumnus.
    8. 23. Pembroke College
    9. 26. Spre deosebire de elitistul Oxford, la Cambridge studiază tot mai mulţi studenţi care nu provin din cele mai bogate straturi ale societăţii The University of Cambridge used to have a seat in the House of Commons, Sir Isaac Newton being one of the most notable holders. The Cambridge University constituency was abolished under 1948 legislation, and ceased at the dissolution of Parliament for the 1950 general election, along with the other university constituencies.
    10. 34. ♦ Andy Williams - A time for us ♦ Frank Sinatra - Fly me to the moon Fotografii: Daniela Iacob Mara Chinţa Prezentare: Sanda Foişoreanu