ENERGY EFFICIENCY & CONSERVATION STRATEGY
                         MEETING MINUTES

                                    MH...
•   As a “core group” the committee would primarily serve as community organizers,
    connecting other community members ...
Upcoming SlideShare
Loading in …5
×

Meeting Minutes 1 7 10

446 views

Published on

january 7, 2010 steeriing committee meeting

Published in: Design, Technology, Business
0 Comments
0 Likes
Statistics
Notes
  • Be the first to comment

  • Be the first to like this

No Downloads
Views
Total views
446
On SlideShare
0
From Embeds
0
Number of Embeds
0
Actions
Shares
0
Downloads
1
Comments
0
Likes
0
Embeds 0
No embeds

No notes for slide

Meeting Minutes 1 7 10

  1. 1. ENERGY EFFICIENCY & CONSERVATION STRATEGY MEETING MINUTES MHSM # 0907.00 January 7, 2010 Committee Members Present: • Jeanne Hamming jhamming@centenary.edu • Ian Webb ian@rivercitycycling.com • Stuart Crichton stuartcrichton8@gmail.com • Jeff Wellborn jwellborn@seaber.com Committee Members Absent: • Lee Jeter Sr. ljeter@fullercenternwla.org • Leia Lewis lajordanlewis@yahoo.com • Greg Coates gcoates@trane.com Other Attendees: • Wes Wyche wes.wyche@shreveportla.gov • Kim Mitchell kmitchell@mhsmarchitects.com • Caroline Majors cmajors@mhsmarchitects.com • Lola Kendrick lolak@bellsouth.net CC: • Mike Strong mike.strong@shreveportla.gov • Tim Wachtel timothy.wachtel@shreveportla.gov • Sharon Swanson sswanson@mhsmarchitects.com • Patti Trudell ptrudell@certla.org • Murray Lloyd murrayll@bellsouth.net • Bruce Hoffman bruce@gulfgeoexchange.com • Richard Lane richard@gulfgeoexchange.com • Gala Daftary gala@gulfgeoexchange.com • Committee members discussed possibilities for the future organization of the steering committee. • The committee is currently organized as a mayoral-appointed advisory body. Its primary role has been to select and oversee the projects funded through the EECBG. • This role has, for the most part, been fulfilled. However, the committee will still need to provide guidance following the review of the EECS by the US Department of Energy. • The committee has a desire to transition, taking on a new role as the “core group” for the future Comprehensive Energy Efficiency and Conservation Strategy.
  2. 2. • As a “core group” the committee would primarily serve as community organizers, connecting other community members to the plan process. They would investigate and inventory EEC-related activities in Shreveport, and serve as liaisons to the City Council. They would assemble working groups and receive regular updates from these working groups, looking for opportunities to link and leverage. And the committee would continue to advise technical consultants. • Members would like to be organized more formally, strengthening their connection to and relationship with the City Council. Coordination and alignment with the Council and other city officials will be critical to ensure plan recommendations will be implemented. • A presentation should be prepared for council to provide information about the committee and planning process. • At this time, the committee decided to maintain its existing structure as a 7 member committee with paid consultant serving as a facilitator. • The website should be carefully considered and crafted as an important tool for public use. • A Strategic Doing Workshop will be held next week (1/15/10). The committee would like to invite some other community members to share information about the Strategic Doing process. • Following the Strategic Doing Workshop, the committee should reconvene to solidify values, and discuss how to organize working groups. Meeting Adjourned

×