Successfully reported this slideshow.

Colonial France


Published on

Published in: Travel
  • Be the first to comment

  • Be the first to like this

Colonial France

  1. 1. COLONIAL FRANCE By Melissa
  2. 2. Political The French Empire started on July 27, 1605 when Acadia was founded (Canada). The French Empire consisted of lands around the world that retained its power starting in the 1600s to the1960s. In the 19th and 20th centuries, the French Empire was the second powerful nation with the British Empire as the number one in the world. As the Age of Discovery dawned, France set its sights on the Caribbean while England, Spain, and Portugal went for the Americas. This began a rivalry between England and France through wars in the 1700s and 1800s. In the end, France lost motivation to continue to pursue more land in the Americas and historians believe this was the marker for when the first French empire died. In the 19th century, France worked to build a new empire in Africa of which they were successful.
  3. 3. Economic Influences Starting in the 1500s, boating and fisherman were key components to the French economy. In 1608, France founded Quebec which would become the fur-trade center for the French Empire. In the Americas, France focused on fur trade more than agriculture because there wasn’t a very large population of French living in the New World. The French had to rely on the Native people for their food supply and received the reputation of being the most humane to the Indians than their rivals, the English and Spanish. Another advantage that the French had over the English, is that the French wanted to befriend the Indians instead of taking over their lands.
  4. 4. Economic Influence In 1663, New France was turning into mercantile colonies. In 1699, the French added Louisiana to it’s empire which helped the French trading to be expanded over a large area of land in which was very profitable to the economy of France. France gained revenues from it’s colonies in the Caribbean through food production. These colonies were French Guiana (1624), Saint Kitts (1625), Guadeloupe and Martinique (1635), and Saint Lucia (1650). All these colonies relied on African slave labor to produce the food crops. Another colony that was important to the French economy was Saint Domingue or known as Haiti. Saint Domingue became a sugar production colony. In 1791, France began to loose Saint Domingue to the slave revolts as response to the French Revolution in 1789. By 1801, France had completely lost the important Saint Domingue which was the France’s wealthiest colonies.
  5. 5. French Relations In the late 16th to early 17th century, France looked to settle in Brazil, Rio de Janeiro, and Florida, but were countered by Spain and Portugal’s drive to keep their monopoly of land in the Americas. As France entered into the 18th century, it faced the ultimate fall of its first empire. This fall was from conflicts with the British in a series of multiple wars spread over 71 years. These wars started in 1744 with the War of Austrian Succession, the Seven Years’ War, the American Revolutionary War, the French Revolutionary War, and the Napoleonic Wars. All these conflicts combined are known as the Second Hundred Years’ War.
  6. 6. French Relations As a result of the Seven Years’ War of 1756–1763, France lost New France, colonies in North America, influence in India, and most of its Caribbean colonies to Britain. Heading into the 19th century, Britain had captured all of the remaining French colonies, which were given back to France in 1802 when the Peace of Amiens was signed. Shortly after in 1803, Britain took back the French colonies once again. When the end of the Napoleonic Wars was nearing, Britain restored to France Guadalupe, Martinique, French Guiana, Senegal trading posts, Reunion, and Indian possessions.
  7. 7. Geography Over the 16th to 19th centuries, the French Empire was composed of St. Lawrence River Valley, Acadia, Louisiana (1699), French Guiana (1624), Saint Kitts (1625), Guadalupe (1635), Martinique (1635), Saint Lucia (1650), Saint-Domingue (1664), Senegal (1624), Chandernagore in 1673, Pondicherry in 1647, Yaman in 1723, Mahe in 1725, Karikal in 1739. (continue to next page)
  8. 8. Geography Reunion (1664), Mauritius (1718), Seychelles in 1756, Egypt (1789), Cochinchina (1867), Cambodia (1863), French Indochina (1887), Laos (1893), Kwang- Chou-Wan (1900), Shanghai concession (1849- 1946), Tunisia (1881), Mauritania, Guinea, Mali, Cote d’Ivoire, Benin, Niger, Chad, Central African Republic, Republic of Congo, and French Somaliland.