Quiz on Indian literature


Published on

Contains 10 questions on Indian Literature

Published in: Education, Spiritual, Technology
1 Comment
  • Indians in Pakistan is a terrific novel and I think Indian literature is blessed to have a novelist like Vivek Pereira in its fold. The book is available online on flipkart and amazon.in
    Are you sure you want to  Yes  No
    Your message goes here
No Downloads
Total views
On SlideShare
From Embeds
Number of Embeds
Embeds 0
No embeds

No notes for slide

Quiz on Indian literature

  1. 1. 1. Which Indian author wrote the Englishnovel called „Untouchable‟?A. Mulk Raj Anand.B. Munshi Premchand.C. Girish Kanad.D. Ruskin Bond.
  2. 2. The answer is …Mulk Raj Anand.Mulk Raj Anand (12 December 1905 – 28 September 2004) wasan Indian writer in English, notable for his depiction of thelives of the poorer castes in traditional Indian society. One ofthe pioneers of Indo-Anglian fiction, he, together withR. K. Narayan, Ahmed Ali and Raja Rao, was one of the firstIndia-based writers in English to gain an internationalreadership
  3. 3. 2. Satyajit Ray‟s film, „Shatranj KeKhiladi‟, is based on a novel by whom ?A. R.K. Narayan.B. Girish Kanad.C. Ramdhari Singh Dinkar.D. Munshi Premchand.
  4. 4. The answer is …Munshi Premchand.Munshi Premchand , (July 31, 1880 – October 8,1936) was an Indian writer famous for his modern Hindustaniliterature. He is one of the most celebrated writers of theIndian subcontinent, and is regarded as one of the foremostHindustani writers of the early twentieth century.
  5. 5. 3. The film „Hazaar Chaurasi Ki Maa‟starring Jaya Bachchan and AnupamKher is based on a novel by which Indianauthor?A. R.K. Narayan.B. Mahashweta Devi.C. Nirala.D. Munshi Premchand.
  6. 6. The answer is …Mahashweta Devi.Mahasweta Devi was born in 1926 in Dhaka, to literary parents in aHindu Brahmin family. Her father Manish Ghatak was a well-knownpoet and novelist, her mother Dharitri Devi was also a writer and asocial worker. She is the mother of Nabarun Bhattacharya,currently one of Bengals and Indias leading novelist whose worksare noted for their intellectual vigour and philosophical flavour.Her famous works are - Hajar Churashir Maa, Rudali, Till Death DoUs Part etc.
  7. 7. 4. The first elected fellow of the SahityaAkademi was Sarvepalli Radhakrishnan.Who was elected fellow in the sameyear as him?A. R.K. Narayan.B. Mahashweta Devi.C. Pandit Mange Ram Sangi.D. Munshi Premchand.
  8. 8. The answer is …Pandit Mange Ram Sangi.Pt. Mange Ram of Panchi Jattan (Sonipat, Haryana) is known asKavi Siromani in Haryanvi Raagnis and is the most evercelebrated guru in this field. Majority of Swang Raagnis havestamp of his name in poetry itself.
  9. 9. 5. Who wrote the original Panchatantra ?A. Samudra Gupta.B. Vishnu Sharma.C. Kalidasa.D. Tulsi Das.
  10. 10. The answer is …Vishnu Sharma.Vishnu Sharman ( ) was an Indian scholar and authorwho is believed to have written the Panchatantra collection ofshort stories. Vishnu Sharman is one of the most widelytranslated non-religious authors in history.
  11. 11. 6. Who wrote „Sur Sagar‟ ?A. Kaliidasa.B. Sur Das.C. Shombhit Ray.D. Tulsi Das.
  12. 12. The answer is …Sant Kavi Surdas.Surdas (Sant Kavi Surdas) was a 15th century blind saint, poetand musician, known for his devotional songs dedicated to LordKrishna. Surdas is said to have written and composed a hundredthousand songs in Sur Sagar (Ocean of Melody), out of whichonly about 8,000 are extant. He is considered a saint and soalso known as Sant Surdas, a name which literally means the"slave of melody".
  13. 13. 7.Who is best known as the authorof the epic Ramcharitmanas?A. Lord Ganesha.B. Tukaram.C. Tulsidas.D. Kalidas.
  14. 14. The answer is …TulsidasTulsidas ( ) was a Hindu poet-saint, reformer and philosopherrenowned for his devotion to the god Rama. A composer of several popularworks, he is best known as the author of the epic Ramcharitmanas, aretelling of the Sanskrit Ramayana in the Awadhi. He is also considered tobe the composer of the Hanuman Chalisa. Tulsidas spent most of his life inthe city of Varanasi. The Tulsi Ghat in Varnasi is named after him. Hefounded the Sankatmochan Temple dedicated to Hanuman in Varanasi,believed to stand at the place where he had the sight ofHanuman.Tulsidas started the Ramlila plays, a folk-theatre adaption ofthe Ramayana, also.
  15. 15. 8. Who wrote ten-act Sanskritdrama “Mricchakatika” ?A. Sudraka.B. Kalidas.C. Vishucharan.D. Shyam Krishna .
  16. 16. The answer is …Pandit.Mṛcchakaṭika (The Little Clay Cart) by Śūdraka ( ), anancient playwright generally thought to have lived sometimebetween the second century BC and the fifth century AD. Theplay is set in the ancient city of Ujjayini during the reign of theKing Pālaka.
  17. 17. 4. Which one of the following is themost celebrated poem by Sanskritpoet Kalidasa?A. Sri Adi Kala.B. Sur Sagar.C. Raghuvamsa.D. Rig Veda.
  18. 18. The answer is …RaghuvamsaRaghuvamsa ( ) is a Sanskrit mahakavya (epic poem) bythe most celebrated Sanskrit poet Kalidasa. It narrates, thestories related to the Raghu dynasty. The earliest survivingcommentary written on the work is that of the 10th-centuryKashmirian scholar Vallabhadeva.
  19. 19. 9. Who received the SahityaAkademi Award 1986 for for herEnglish novel, Rich Like Us?A. Shashi Despande.B. Kamala MarkandayaC. Nayantara Sahgal.D. Shanti Rai.
  20. 20. The answer is …Nayantara SahgalNayantara Sahgal is an Indian writer in English. Her fictiondeals with Indias elite responding to the crises engendered bypolitical change; she was one of the first female Indian writersin English to receive wide recognition. She is a member of theNehru-Gandhi family, the second of the three daughters bornto Jawaharlal Nehrus sister, Vijaya Lakshmi Pandit.
  21. 21. 10. The White Tiger is the debut novelby a famous Indian author. It was firstpublished in 2008 and won the 40th ManBooker Prize in the same year. Who isthis author?A. Vikram Seth.B. Jhumpa Lahiri.C. Arving Adiga.D. Chetan Bhagat.
  22. 22. The answer is …Aravind AdigaAravind Adiga born 23 October 1974 is an Indian writer andjournalist. He is the fourth Indian-born author to win the prize,after Salman Rushdie, Arundhati Roy and Kiran Desai. (V. S.Naipaul, another winner, is of Indian origin, but was not bornin India).