Successfully reported this slideshow.
We use your LinkedIn profile and activity data to personalize ads and to show you more relevant ads. You can change your ad preferences anytime.

Best Genealogy Websites of 2012: Part 2

15,770 views

Published on

Presentation given in September, 2012. Updated presentation rounds up and examines the best genealogy websites of 2012 available for researchers to use. List includes paid and free websites.

Published in: Education
  • Be the first to comment

Best Genealogy Websites of 2012: Part 2

  1. 1. May P. Chan Email: maychan@reginalibrary.caPrairie History Room, Regina Public Library ©September 2012
  2. 2. OutlineBrief Introduction “The Usual Suspects” “By Record Type” – e.g. BMDs “Crossing the Pond” – eg. English“Handy Research Tools”
  3. 3. Why do you need such a list?Not all genealogy websites are the sameSome require a paid subscription (per view or monthly) or are free; some provide only images, an index (points you to the original source), etc.; some are created by libraries/archives/genealogical societies while others are done by volunteersList of online resources is not meant to replace “traditional” formats like books & microfilm. Rather the list is meant to be used “in addition to”List features both paid $ and free web resources
  4. 4. Criteria Offers the most authoritative and trustworthy websites to use for genealogy How did I select the best genealogy websites for you to use?  Annual “Best of” featured on the Family Tree website: http://www.familytreemagazine.com/article/101- best-websites-2012  Magazines such as Internet Genealogy & Family Chronicle  Various genealogy blogs  Tips from other genealogists  Personal experience helping patrons
  5. 5. “The Usual Suspects” These websites consistently top the “Best of the Best” online resources to use:  Ancestry (http://www.ancestry.com or http://www.ancestry.ca) - $ (ALE is free to access at all RPL branches)  FamilySearch (http://www.familysearch.org) – FREE  Cyndi’s List (http://www.cyndislist.com/) – FREE  World Vital Records (www.worldvitalrecords.com) - $  Canadian Genealogy Centre (Library& Archives Canada; http://www.genealogy.gc.ca/) – FREE
  6. 6. Tips #1 & 2 – FamilySearch.org Sign-up for a free account! Take advantage of its free research guides!
  7. 7. Tip #3 – “Browse by Location” feature Click on “Canada” and scroll down  SK Provincial Records, 1879 - 1987 - this link takes you to the Homestead Files!  SK Judicial District Court Records, 1891-1954  SK Probate Estate Records, 1887- 1931
  8. 8. Tip #4 – CGC’s Guides • Really helpful guides on how to locate and use specific records
  9. 9. Tip # 5 – CGC’s New Records Microfilm Digitization Page http://www.collectionscanada.gc.ca/microform-di  Browse by topic or by record type
  10. 10. “By Record Type” Births, Marriages & Deaths Indexes (BMDs)  Nova Scotia Historical Vital Statistics (https:// novascotiagenealogy.com/) – FREE  British Columbia Vital Events Indexes ( http://search.bcarchives.gov.bc.ca/sn-5B37DD3/gbsea ) - FREE  Manitoba Vital Records ( http://vitalstats.gov.mb.ca/Query.php) – FREE  Free BMD (UK; http://www.freebmd.org.uk/) – FREE  DeathIndexes (US; http://www.deathindexes.com/) – FREE
  11. 11. “By Record Type” – continued Census Records  Automated Genealogy (Canada; http:// www.automatedgenealogy.com) - FREE
  12. 12. “By Record Type” – continuedNational Archives and Records Administration’s (NARA) 1940 website - ( http://1940census.archives.gov/) - FREE
  13. 13. “By Record Type” – continuedCemetery Records  SGS Burial Index (http:// www.saskgenealogy.com/databases/indexes.a )-$  Canada’s GenWeb Cemetery Project ( http://cemetery.canadagenweb.org/search.html ) - FREE  Deceased Online (UK; http:// www.deceasedonline.com) – $  Interment.Net (Global; http://www.interment.net/) - FREE
  14. 14. “By Record Type” - continued Find A Grave (Global; http://www.findagrave.com ) - FREE
  15. 15. “By Record Type” – continuedCity Directories  Peel’s Prairie Provinces (AB, MB & Saskatoon; http://peel.library.ualberta.ca/henderson.html) - FREE  British Columbia’s City Directories, 1860-1940 (http://www.vpl.ca/bccd/index.php) - FREE  Bibliothèque et Archives nationales du Québec (BAnQ) (Quebec; http://www.banq.qc.ca/collections/collection_nume ) - FREE
  16. 16. City Directories - continued Toronto City Directories 1833-1899 ( http://www.torontopubliclibrary.ca/digital-archive/ ) - FREE Distant Cousins (US; http://distantcousin.com /Directories) - FREE Historical Directories of UK (http:// historicaldirectories.org/hd/) – FREE Public Record Office of Northern Ireland (PRONI) ( http://www.proni.gov.uk/index/search_the_archives ) - FREE
  17. 17. “By Record Type” – continued Immigration & Passenger Lists  Ellis Island (New York, US; http:// www.ellisisland.org/) - FREE  Castle Garden (New York, US; http:// www.castlegarden.org) - FREE  Bremen Passenger Lists, 1920-1939 (Germany; http://www.passengerlists.de/) – FREE  Immigrant Ships Transcribers Guild (ISTG) (Global; http://www.immigrantships.net/) - FREE  The Ships List (Global; http:// www.theshipslist.com/) – FREE  Ship Index (Global; http://www.shipindex.org/) - $
  18. 18. Tip #6 – Really Interesting Database… Swiss Refugee Database 1942- 1945 (Switzerland; http://etat.geneve.ch/dt/archives/a_votre_service-liste_ ) – FREE
  19. 19. “By Record Type” – continued Local/Family/General Histories  Heritage Quest - $ (FREE access through RPL)  Our Roots (Western Canada; http:// ourroots.ca) - FREE  Canadiana (http://www.canadiana.ca/en/home ) - FREE  Google Books (http://books.google.com/) - FREE  Internet Archives (http://archive.org/index.php) - FREE
  20. 20. “By Record Type” – continued Maps  Canadian County Atlases (Ontario; http:// digital.library.mcgill.ca/countyatlas) - FREE  Getty Thesaurus of Geographic Names Online (global; http://www.getty.edu/research/tools/vocabularies/tgn) - FREE  Perry-Castaneda Library Map Collection (global; http://lib.utexas.edu/maps) – FREE  David Rumsey (global; http:// www.davidrumsey.com/) – FREE
  21. 21. Tip # 7 – Really Cool Map!!! Atlas of the German Empire by Ludwig Ravenstein (Europe; http:// library.wisc.edu/etext/ravenstein) – FREE
  22. 22. “By Record Type” – continued Military Records  Saskatchewan Virtual War Memorial ( http://www.svwm.ca) – FREE  Commonwealth War Graves Commission (British Commonwealth; http://www.cwgc.org/) - FREE  National Archives & Records Administration: Military Resources (US; http://www.archives.gov/research/alic/reference/militar ) – FREE War of 1812 Resources  Olive Tree Genealogy: War of 1812 (http://www.olivetreegenealogy.com/mil/1812/) - FREE
  23. 23. War of 1812 resources – continued Fold3 (http://www.fold3.com/) - $ except for War of 1812 pension files which are free!!!
  24. 24. War of 1812 resources - continued The War of 1812 at Library and Archives Canada ( http://www.bac-lac.gc.ca/eng/Pages/war-1812-library ) – FREE
  25. 25. “By Record Type” – continued Newspapers  Google News Archives (US & Canada; http://news.google.com/newspapers) - FREE  Chronicling America (US; http://chroniclingamerica.loc.gov/) - FREE  British Newspapers, 1800-1900 ( http://newspapers.bl.uk/blcs) - $  Trove – National Library of Australia (http://trove.nla.gov.au/newspaper) - FREE  International Coalition on Newspapers (ICON) (global; http://icon.crl.edu/digitization.htm) - FREE
  26. 26. Tip#8 – Handy Leader Post indexes Saskatchewan Newspapers Index (http://library.usask.ca/sni/) – FREE SaskObits (http://www.saskobits.com) - FREE Regina Leader Post Index (1992-2007) – FREE but in-house use only at Regina Public Library!
  27. 27. “Crossing the Pond” English Genealogy  FindMyPast (http://www.findmypast.co.uk/) - $ (available through SGS)  Origins Network (http://www.origins.net) – $  UK National Archives ( http://www.nationalarchives.gov.uk) - FREE  The Genealogist (http://www.thegenealogist.co.uk) -$  The National Library of Wales ( http://cat.llgc.org.uk/probate) - FREE  Genuki (http://genuki.org.uk) – FREE  London Lives 1690-1900 ( http://www.londonlives.org) - FREE
  28. 28. “Crossing the Pond – continued” Scottish Genealogy  Scotland’s People ( http://www.scotlandspeople.gov.uk) - $
  29. 29. “Crossing the Pond – continued”Irish Genealogy  The National Archives of Ireland ( http://nationalarchives.ie) – FREE  Find My Past (Irish version; http://www.findmypast.ie) - $  Ireland Gen Web (http://irelandgenweb.com) – FREE  Irish Family History Foundation (http://www.rootsireland.ie/) – $
  30. 30. “Crossing the Pond – continued” Scandinavian Genealogy  Digital Archives of Norway (http://arkivverket.no /eng/Digital-Archives) – FREE  Swedish National Archives (http://www.svar.ra.se ) – FREE  Genline (Sweden; http://www.arkivdigital.net) – $  Finnish Family History Association (FFHA) (http:// www.sukuhistoria.fi/sshy/index_eng.htm) – FREE  Danish Demographic Database ( http://www.ddd.dda.dk) - FREE
  31. 31. “Crossing the Pond – continued”Eastern European Genealogy  HalGal (Western Ukraine & Galicia; http://www.halgal.com) – FREE  EastEuropeGenWeb ( http://www.rootsweb.com/~easeurgw) – FREE  Federation of East European Family History Societies (http://feefhs.org) – FREE  PolishRoots (http://www.polishroots.org/) - FREE
  32. 32. “Crossing the Pond – continued” Western European Genealogy  German Roots (Germany; http:// www.germanroots.com/) – FREE  The German Genealogy Network (http:// www.genealogienetz.de/genealogy.html) - FREE  GeneaNet (France; http://www.geneanet.org/) – FREE  Genelias (Holland; http://www.genlias.nl/en/page0.jsp) – $  Italian Heritage and Home Page (Italy; http:// www.daddezio.com/) - FREE
  33. 33. “Handy Research Tools”Search Engines  Mocavo (http://www.mocavo.com/) - FREE  One-Step Web Pages (http://stevemorse.org/) – FREESoftware & Hardware Reviews  GenSoftReviews (genealogy software; http:// www.gensoftreviews.com) – FREE  CNET (software and hardware; http:// www.cnet.com/) - FREE
  34. 34. “Handy Research Tools” Message Boards  Roots Web (http://www.rootsweb.com) - FREE Tech Tools  Google Translate (http://translate.google.com/) – FREE  Google Earth (http:// www.google.com/earth/index.html) - FREE  Evernote (online notes ; http:// www.evernote.com) – FREE  XnView (screen capturing & basic photo editing; http://www.xnview.com/) - FREE
  35. 35. “Handy Research Tools”Staying Up-to Date  Dick’s Eastman’s Newsletter ( http://blog.eogn.com/) – FREE  Dear Myrtle (http://blog.dearmyrtle.com) - FREE  Ancestry Insider ( http://ancestryinsider.blogspot.com/) - FREE  Genealogy Blog Finder ( http://blogfinder.genealogue.com/) – FREE  Genealogy Guys (http://www.genealogyguys.com) - FREE
  36. 36. Tip #9 - Canadian-based Newsletter!!! GenealogyinTime Magazine (http://www.genealogyinti me.com/index.html) – FREE • Offers Genealogy Search Engine and a Family Tree Search Engine • Updates on new genealogical resources • Archives of handy research articles

×