UN Main Bodeis


Published on

Published in: Education
  • Be the first to comment

  • Be the first to like this

No Downloads
Total views
On SlideShare
From Embeds
Number of Embeds
Embeds 0
No embeds

No notes for slide

UN Main Bodeis

  1. 1. UN Main Bodies Info From: http://www.un.org/aboutun/mainbodies.htm
  2. 2. The General Assembly <ul><ul><li>Established in 1945,the General Assembly occupies a central position as the chief deliberative, policymaking and representative organ of the United Nations.  </li></ul></ul><ul><li>  </li></ul><ul><ul><li>The General Assembly provides a unique forum for multilateral discussion of the full spectrum of international issues covered by the Charter. </li></ul></ul><ul><li>  </li></ul><ul><ul><li>  It also plays a significant role in the process of standard-setting and the codification of international law. The Assembly meets in regular session intensively from September to December each year, and thereafter as required. </li></ul></ul>
  3. 3. The Security Council <ul><li>Functions and Powers </li></ul><ul><ul><li>To maintain international peace and security in accordance with the principles and purposes of the United Nations </li></ul></ul><ul><li>  </li></ul><ul><ul><li>To determine the existence of a threat to the peace or act of aggression and to recommend what action should be taken </li></ul></ul><ul><li>  </li></ul><ul><ul><li>To call on Members to apply economic sanctions and other measures not involving the use of force to prevent or stop aggression </li></ul></ul>
  4. 4. Economic and Social Council <ul><ul><li>ECOSOC was established under the UN as the principal organ to coordinate economic, social, and related work of the 14 UN specialized agencies, functional commissions and five regional commissions. </li></ul></ul><ul><li>  </li></ul><ul><ul><li>They serve as the central forum for discussing international economic and social issues, and for formulating policy recommendations addressed to Member States and the United Nations system. </li></ul></ul>
  5. 5. The International Court of Justice <ul><ul><li>The Court is the principal judicial organ of the United Nations.  It was established by the United Nations Charter, signed in 1945 at San Francisco, and began work in 1946 in the Peace Palace, The Hague (Netherlands). </li></ul></ul><ul><li>  </li></ul><ul><ul><li>The Court has a dual role:  </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><ul><li>In accordance with international law, settling legal disputes between States submitted to it by them  </li></ul></ul></ul><ul><ul><ul><li>Giving advisory opinions on legal matters referred to it by duly authorized United Nations organs and specialized agencies. </li></ul></ul></ul>
  6. 6. The Trusteeship Council <ul><ul><li>The Trusteeship Council suspended operation on 1 November 1994, with the independence of Palau, the last remaining United Nations trust territory, on 1 October 1994. By a resolution adopted on 25 May 1994, the Council amended its rules of procedure to drop the obligation to meet annually and agreed to meet as occasion required </li></ul></ul><ul><li>  </li></ul><ul><ul><li>The Trusteeship Council is authorized to examine and discuss reports from the Administering Authority on the political, economic, social and educational advancement of the peoples of Trust Territories and to examine petitions from and undertake periodic and other special missions to Trust Territories </li></ul></ul>