Successfully reported this slideshow.



Published on

by Anshika 8C

Published in: Education, News & Politics
  • Be the first to comment


  1. 1. From 1948 to 2013: A brief of the movement
  2. 2. Telangana is a region within the state of Andhra Pradesh in India. It was formerly part of Hyderabad State (Medak and Warangal divisions) which was ruled by the Nizams. Telangana is bordered by the states of Maharashtra to the north and northwest, Karnataka to the west, Chhattisgarh to the north-east and Odisha to the east. Andhra Pradesh State has three main cultural regions: Telangana, Coastal Andhra and Rayalaseema. The Telangana region has an area of 114,840 square kilometres (44,340 sq mi), and a population of 35,286,757 (2011 census) which is 41.6% of Andhra Pradesh state population.
  3. 3. • The region, now being called Telangana, was part of the erstwhile Hyderabad state which was merged into the Indian Union on 17 September, 1948. • The proposal for amalgamation of Hyderabad state with Andhra state came up in 1953 and the then Chief Minister of Hyderabad state, supported the Congress central leadership’s decision in this regard though there was opposition in Telangana region. • An agreement was reached between Telangana leaders and Andhra leaders on February 20, 1956 to merge Telangana and Andhra with promises to safeguard Telangana’s interests. • Eventually, under the States Re-organisation Act, Telugu-speaking areas of Hyderabad state were merged with Andhra state, giving birth to the state of Andhra Pradesh on 1 November, 1956. The city of Hyderabad, the then capital of Hyderabad state, was made the capital of Andhra Pradesh state.
  4. 4. The entire state of Andhra is in turmoil, violence has errupted many times and the political parties are divided about the issue. In 1969, an agitation began in Telangana region as people protested the failure to implement the Gentlemen’s Agreement and other safeguards properly. Marri Channa Reddy launched the Telangana Praja Samiti espousing the cause of a separate state. The agitation intensified and turned violent with students in the forefront of the struggle and about 300 of them were killed in violence and police firing that ensued.
  5. 5. Till 1999, there was no demand from any quarters for division of the state on regional lines. In 1999, Congress demanded creation of Telangana state. Telagana region witnessed a series of agitations like the Million March, Chalo Assembly and Sakalajanula Samme (general strike) in 2011-12. MLAs belonging to different parties quit from the House. Congress made Union Home Ministry to convene an allparty meeting on December 28, 2012 to find an “amicable solution” to the crisis.
  6. 6. Telangana – the 29th State Born •On 30 July 2013, the ruling Congress party resolved to form a separate state of Telangana (the 29th independent state of Republic of India). •The timeline for the creation of the new state involves an elaborate process, which has been allotted 122 days, or at least four months. •The city of Hyderabad would serve as the joint capital of Telangana and Andhra Pradesh for ten years. •The proposal is to be approved by the Parliament of India and The President of India before the formation of new state.
  7. 7. On 3 October 2013, Union Cabinet approved the creation of a new State of Telangana by bifurcating the existing State of Andhra Pradesh. . All the 10 districts which are set to form the new Telangana state erupted in joy. People burst firecrackers, chanted "Jai Telangana" slogans and took out motorcycle rallies.
  8. 8. Telangana On 7th Oct 2013, TDP chief, Chandrababu Naidu began an indefinite fast in the capital against the Congress government's proposal to bifurcate Andhra Pradesh and create a Telangana state. Forcibly evicted to a hospital on the fifth day of his fast.