The life cycle


Published on

Published in: Health & Medicine, Technology
1 Like
  • Be the first to comment

No Downloads
Total views
On SlideShare
From Embeds
Number of Embeds
Embeds 0
No embeds

No notes for slide

The life cycle

  1. 1. The Life CycleBrittany Robisnon
  2. 2. Childhood Development• There are 8 stages of life• Each stage is defined by a developmental task: events that need to happen in order for a person to continue growing toward becoming a healthy, mature adult – If one stage is not completed it can be made up at another stage
  3. 3. 4 Stages of Infancy and Childhood• Infancy: birth-1year• Task: develop trust• the period of fastest growth – Height by 50% – Weight may triple
  4. 4. 4 Stages of Infancy and Childhood• Early Childhood: 1-3 years• Task: to develop ability to do tasks themselves• Child develops sense of autonomy: the confidence that a person can control his or her own body, impulses, and environment• Overprotection may cause child to lack sense of autonomy
  5. 5. 4 Stages of Infancy and Childhood• Middle Childhood: 4-6 years• Task: to develop responsibility, take initiative, to create one’s own play• Ask many questions, learn to express and read emotion, be creative in developing something• Impatient parents may cause their child to have a low self-esteem
  6. 6. 4 Stages of Infancy and Childhood• Late Childhood: 7-12 years• Task: to develop an interest in performing activities• Develop a conscience, learn appropriate social roles, and get along with peers
  7. 7. Adolescence• The period from childhood to adulthood• Puberty: the time when a person begins to develop certain traits of adults of his or her own gender; the beginning of adolescence – Occurs sometime between the ages of 12-18; determined mainly by heredity
  8. 8. Adolescence• Puberty – Develop sex characteristics: traits related to a person’s gender – Secondary sex characteristics: • Female: breasts, hips widen, waistline narrows • Males: facial hair appears, voice deepens, shoulders broaden, muscle develops
  9. 9. Adolescence• Developmental Tasks: – Establish emotional and psychological independence – Develop a personal sense of identity – Adopt a personal value system – Establish adult vocational goals – Develop control over your behavior
  10. 10. Moving Toward Adulthood• Physical maturity: the state at which the physical body and all its organs are fully developed• Emotional maturity: state at which the mental and emotional capabilities of an individual are fully developed
  11. 11. The Stages of Adulthood• Young Adulthood: 19-40 years• Task: to develop close personal relationships• Four major focuses: – Personal independence – Occupational choices – Intimate relationships – Contributions to society
  12. 12. Personal Independence• Self-actualization: developing one’s capabilities to the fullest• Move from parent support to friend support to self-sufficient
  13. 13. Occupational Choices• Influences may include: – Part-time job – Role model – Amount of education towards a certain occupation
  14. 14. Intimate Relationships• Emotional Intimacy: ability to experience a caring, loving relationship with another person whom you can share your innermost feeling• Romantic relationships, marriage ABSTAIN!!!!!
  15. 15. Contributing to Society• Developing political views• Developing religious views• Taking part in community programs
  16. 16. Marriage• Commitment: a promise or pledge that a couple makes to one another• Marital adjustments: how well a person adjusts to his or her spouse – Good Communication: need to share feelings and express concerns; demonstrating affection – Emotional Maturity: understand their partners needs and can compromise – Similar Values and Interests: spending more time together strengthes the relationship
  17. 17. Resolving Conflicts• Can reduce conflicts by having good communication and conflict resolution skills• Possible Conflicts: – Difference in spending habits – Conflicting loyalties involving family and friends – Lack of communication – Lack of intimacy – Jealousy, infidelity, lack of attention – Decisions about children – Abusive tendencies