Youth Employment    Workshop       Presented by   Petaluma City Schools
Why do teens need a work              permit?    California labor laws require that all people     under the age of 18 ha...
How long can teens work?Ages 14 & 15:   7am to 9pm (June 1 through Labor Day)   7am to 7pm (Labor Day through June 1)  ...
How long can teens work?Ages 16 & 17:   5am to 10pm when school is next day   5am to 12:30am when no school is next day...
What are teens rights on the           job? By law, your employer must provide:    A minimum wage of at least $8.00 per h...
Your employer must also       provide:   Work without discrimination   Work without harassment   Join or organize a uni...
California labor laws protect            teens  No worker under 18 may:     Drive a motor vehicle on public streets     ...
California labor laws protect            teens No worker under 15 years old  may:    Work in dry cleaning or a commercial...
How can teens work safely?     Follow all safety rules and instructions     Use safety equipment and protective clothing...
Can teens get hurt at work?   Every year 70 teens under the age of 18 die    from work injuries   Every year 84,000 teen...
If you are injured at work:   Tell your supervisor immediately   Contact your parent(s) or guardian(s)   Get emergency ...
Workers’ Compensation             Benefits   Full-time and part-time employees receive    workers’ compensation if injure...
Sexual harassment      is against the law!Sexual harassment is defined by law as: unwanted sexual advances visual, verba...
Visual Sexual Harassment  Staring or leering  Sexual gestures  Display of pornographic materials  Display of sexually ...
Verbal Sexual Harassment Sexual advances or propositions Requests for sexual favors Sexually suggestive jokes Sexually...
Physical Sexual Harassment   Touching   Assaulting   Forcible rape   Impeding or blocking movement
What to do if you are            harassed:   Say “no” clearly   Document the harassment in writing   Get support from f...
Are you ready to work?Sonoma County employers want these skills:   Good written and verbal communication skills   Demons...
Work Permit Process   Pick up application in    College & Career Center H4   Provide all required info:       Social Se...
Before you can leave…Tell me one thing you learned todayMake sure you signed in!
Youth Employment Workshop
Youth Employment Workshop
Upcoming SlideShare
Loading in …5
×

Youth Employment Workshop

1,186 views

Published on

The Petaluma City School District requires students to attend a Youth Employment Workshop within 30 days of obtaining a work permit. The workshop aims to educate students on youth worker rights and safety.

0 Comments
0 Likes
Statistics
Notes
  • Be the first to comment

  • Be the first to like this

No Downloads
Views
Total views
1,186
On SlideShare
0
From Embeds
0
Number of Embeds
3
Actions
Shares
0
Downloads
12
Comments
0
Likes
0
Embeds 0
No embeds

No notes for slide

Youth Employment Workshop

  1. 1. Youth Employment Workshop Presented by Petaluma City Schools
  2. 2. Why do teens need a work permit?  California labor laws require that all people under the age of 18 have a permit to work  Work permits are specific to a job  Work permits are renewed at the beginning and the end of each school year  You must maintain a minimum 2.0 GPA and have good attendance to keep your permitCalifornia labor laws protect teens from working too long, too late or too early
  3. 3. How long can teens work?Ages 14 & 15: 7am to 9pm (June 1 through Labor Day) 7am to 7pm (Labor Day through June 1) 40 hours per week when school is not in session 18 hours per week when school is in session
  4. 4. How long can teens work?Ages 16 & 17: 5am to 10pm when school is next day 5am to 12:30am when no school is next day 48 hours per week when school is in session 48 hours per week when school is not in session
  5. 5. What are teens rights on the job? By law, your employer must provide:  A minimum wage of at least $8.00 per hour  A safe and healthy workplace  Protective clothing and equipment  Safety training for health and safety hazards  ½ hour meal period after 5 hours of work  10 minute rest period after each 4 hours of work  Worker’s compensation if you are hurt on the job
  6. 6. Your employer must also provide: Work without discrimination Work without harassment Join or organize a union Refuse to work if the job is dangerous Report safety problems to Cal/OSHA
  7. 7. California labor laws protect teens No worker under 18 may:  Drive a motor vehicle on public streets  Drive a forklift or other heavy equipment  Use power equipment such as a saw or slicer  Work in demolition, excavation, or roofing  Work in logging activities or in a sawmill  Prepare, serve or sell alcoholic beverages  Work where there is exposure to radiation
  8. 8. California labor laws protect teens No worker under 15 years old may:  Work in dry cleaning or a commercial laundry  Work in construction or manufacturing  Load or unload a truck, railcar, or conveyer  Work on a ladder or scaffold  Work in any baking or cooking activities (with some exceptions)
  9. 9. How can teens work safely?  Follow all safety rules and instructions  Use safety equipment and protective clothing  Look out for fellow workers on the job  Keep work areas clean and neat  Know what to do in an emergency  Report safety hazards to the supervisor  Ask questions if you do not understand
  10. 10. Can teens get hurt at work? Every year 70 teens under the age of 18 die from work injuries Every year 84,000 teens need emergency care for work injuriesKnow your rights and speak up!
  11. 11. If you are injured at work: Tell your supervisor immediately Contact your parent(s) or guardian(s) Get emergency treatment if necessary Get a claim form from your employer to complete and return for compensation
  12. 12. Workers’ Compensation Benefits Full-time and part-time employees receive workers’ compensation if injured on the job Employees receive compensation benefits no matter who was at fault for the job injury Employees do not have to be legal residents to receive compensation benefits Employees cannot sue their employer for a job injury in most cases
  13. 13. Sexual harassment is against the law!Sexual harassment is defined by law as: unwanted sexual advances visual, verbal or physical conduct of a sexual natureWhat are the different types of sexual harassment?
  14. 14. Visual Sexual Harassment  Staring or leering  Sexual gestures  Display of pornographic materials  Display of sexually suggestive objects, pictures, or cartoons
  15. 15. Verbal Sexual Harassment Sexual advances or propositions Requests for sexual favors Sexually suggestive jokes Sexually suggestive or obscene language Derogatory sexual comments or slurs Verbal comments about a person’s body
  16. 16. Physical Sexual Harassment  Touching  Assaulting  Forcible rape  Impeding or blocking movement
  17. 17. What to do if you are harassed: Say “no” clearly Document the harassment in writing Get support from friends and family Find witnesses and other victims File a complaint with your employer File a complaint with a government agency
  18. 18. Are you ready to work?Sonoma County employers want these skills: Good written and verbal communication skills Demonstrated reliability and promptness Demonstrated integrity and accuracy in work Appropriate personal grooming and hygiene Appropriate personal behavior and language
  19. 19. Work Permit Process Pick up application in College & Career Center H4 Provide all required info:  Social Security #  Employer’s signature  Parent’s signature Bring to Ms. Mace in H4  Drop off @ TUTORIAL, pick up @ LUNCH  Drop off @ LUNCH, pick up next day
  20. 20. Before you can leave…Tell me one thing you learned todayMake sure you signed in!

×