About Me

410 views

Published on

About Me

Published in: Education, Travel, Business
0 Comments
0 Likes
Statistics
Notes
  • Be the first to comment

  • Be the first to like this

No Downloads
Views
Total views
410
On SlideShare
0
From Embeds
0
Number of Embeds
61
Actions
Shares
0
Downloads
2
Comments
0
Likes
0
Embeds 0
No embeds

No notes for slide

About Me

  1. 1. Contents<br /><ul><li>Who am I?
  2. 2. Where am I from?
  3. 3. Where did I grow up?
  4. 4. What about university?
  5. 5. My family
  6. 6. What do I do in China?
  7. 7. Travel
  8. 8. What are my hobbies?</li></li></ul><li>1. Who am I?<br /><ul><li>My name is Kevin
  9. 9. I come from a small town called Rochdale, near Manchester, England
  10. 10. I’m 26 years old
  11. 11. I’ve lived in Beijing for 4 years
  12. 12. I’ve worked for NHN China for about 1¾ years
  13. 13. My main hobbies are computers, science fiction and the internet</li></li></ul><li>2. Where am I from?<br />Greater Manchester<br />The UK<br />Rochdale & surrounding area<br />
  14. 14. 3. Where did I grow up?<br /><ul><li>I lived near Rochdale until I was 18, but my school was in Oldham (another nearby town)
  15. 15. When I was young, I liked to go sailing and canoeing on Hollingworth Lake (about 30 minutes from my house on foot)
  16. 16. I went to an all-boys school from the age of 11 to 18
  17. 17. Rochdale and Oldham were both major industrial towns in the 19th century</li></li></ul><li>4. How about University?<br /><ul><li>I studied Physics at Birmingham University
  18. 18. While I was studying, I worked on the university’s computer helpdesk
  19. 19. I moved to China as soon as I finished my Masters degree, because my girlfriend (now wife) is from Beijing</li></li></ul><li>5. My family<br /><ul><li>My father is a physicist; my mother is a university lecturer.
  20. 20. My family moved to Belgium after I finished high school – when I was in University, my brother and sister went to school in Holland
  21. 21. My brother works in a call centre, is 24, and lives in Leeds, England
  22. 22. My sister graduated from University in July, and recently moved to Stockholm, Sweden. She is 21.</li></li></ul><li>6. What do I do in China?<br /><ul><li>I moved to China in 2005
  23. 23. For the first 6 months, I was a technical assistant for a research group at Tsinghua University (the professor was the husband of my supervisor in England)
  24. 24. From 2006-2007 I worked for a telecom consulting company
  25. 25. Since December 2007, I’ve worked for NHN China on projects including nciku
  26. 26. My Chinese is still far worse than it should be (but I’m trying to improve it)</li></li></ul><li>7. Travel<br /><ul><li>When I lived in England I visited a lot of places in Europe countries, but since I came to China I haven’t done as much travelling as much as I’d like
  27. 27. Of course I’ve been to some other places in China, such as Shanghai, Hangzhou, Sanya and Hong Kong
  28. 28. I’ve also travelled to South Korea
  29. 29. I’ve never been to Taiwan (but I want to at some point)</li></li></ul><li>8. What are my hobbies?<br /><ul><li>Most of my hobbies are pretty geeky:
  30. 30. I love computers, programming and mobile phones
  31. 31. I like to read and watch science fiction (currently reading Accelerando, by Charles Stross).
  32. 32. When I was in university, I watched an excessive amount of Japanese animation
  33. 33. I like to go walking in the countryside – my favourite places in England are the Lake District and the Yorkshire Dales</li>

×