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The Art & Science of Content Promotion

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Great content marketing is not just about creating the best content. The secret to successful content marketing is being able to promote that content to the right people. Too many marketers think their job is complete once they hit the publish button. For the best marketers, this is when the majority of the work begins. This session is going to be packed full of amazing tips on how you can grow both your traffic and leads by learning the art and science of content promotion. It will include a content promotion framework, a formula to work out the right goals for your content and a whole bunch of content promotion tips.

Published in: Marketing

The Art & Science of Content Promotion

  1. 1. #INBOUND1 4 The Art & Science of Content Promotion Kieran Flanagan Marketing Director (EMEA), HubSpot
  2. 2. #INBOUND14 Content Marketing?
  3. 3. You know what frustrates the #INBOUND14 hell out of me?
  4. 4. “Build it and they will come” #INBOUND14
  5. 5. #INBOUND14 Guess what?
  6. 6. #INBOUND14 No one’s coming
  7. 7. #INBOUND14 and ...
  8. 8. #INBOUND14 “Content is King”
  9. 9. #INBOUND14 There are 27,000,000 pieces of content shared every day
  10. 10. #INBOUND14 There are 27,000,000 pieces of content shared every day
  11. 11. Those phrases are relics from the past #INBOUND14
  12. 12. #INBOUND14 Just “doing content” is no longer your competitive advantage.
  13. 13. #INBOUND14 93% of B2B marketers and 90% of B2C marketers are using content marketing today. Source: http://bit.ly/1njPq0e
  14. 14. Content is proving a struggle for marketers. #INBOUND14
  15. 15. #INBOUND14 Only 42% of B2B and 34% of B2C marketers believe they are effective at content marketing. Source: http://bit.ly/1njPq0e
  16. 16. Content Marketing is Simple Right? Come up with an idea – I’m a marketer, I am an ideas machine Put idea into content – This is easy, it should only take a couple of hours Hit publish – Great, this is all pretty simple #INBOUND14
  17. 17. What actually happens is a lot different. You hit publish You cross your fingers No one cares You look sad #INBOUND14
  18. 18. When it comes to content, the best marketers know that … #INBOUND14
  19. 19. #INBOUND14 … self promotion is good!
  20. 20. #INBOUND14 @Tweet this To be truly effective at content marketing, we need to excel at promotion. #INBOUND14 @searchbrat
  21. 21. The notion that you can simply create interesting content people will magically find is a lie. If you build it, they won’t necessarily come. You have to treat your content executions like a product and launch them the same way you would launch a product. #INBOUND14 @jaybaer
  22. 22. #INBOUND14 The Science
  23. 23. #INBOUND14 The success of your content campaigns starts with creating the right goals. Do you want to generate awareness, inbound links, qualified leads, blog subscribers or grow your social following?
  24. 24. #INBOUND14 We want to generate 200 qualified leads for the sales team. Let’s figure out the right metrics to aim for.
  25. 25. We know that 10% of all leads we generate are qualified. #INBOUND14
  26. 26. #INBOUND14 What’s the total number of downloads we need? Qualified Leads / Qualified Lead Rate = Downloads
  27. 27. #INBOUND14 What’s the total number of downloads we need? 200 / 10% = 2000 downloads
  28. 28. We know the average conversion rate of our landing pages is 50%. #INBOUND14
  29. 29. #INBOUND14 What’s the total number of views we need? Number of downloads / Landing Page Conv Rate = Views
  30. 30. #INBOUND14 What’s the total number of views we need? 2000 / 50% = 4000 views
  31. 31. #INBOUND14 We need a promotion plan to generate 4000 visits to our landing page, which will result in 2000 downloads and 200 qualified leads.
  32. 32. Plan where to get those visits and downloads from. #INBOUND14 Distribution Channels Available Audience Engagemen t (CTR) Engaged Audience Blog 50,000 6% 3,000 Email 10,000 3% 300 Facebook 8,000 2.5% 200 Twitter 1,000 0.5% 5 Co-promote 30,000 1.5% 450
  33. 33. Experiment with ways to add more distribution channels. #INBOUND14 Distribution Channels Blog Email Facebook Twitter Co-promote
  34. 34. #INBOUND14 Grow your available audience on each distribution channel. Distribution Channels Available Audience Blog 50,000 Email 10,000 Facebook 8,000 Twitter 1,000 Co-promote 30,000
  35. 35. #INBOUND14 Optimise conversion paths to improve engagement CTR of each channel. Distribution Channels Available Audience Engagemen t (CTR) Blog 50,000 6% Email 10,000 3% Facebook 8,000 2.5% Twitter 1,000 0.5% Co-promote 30,000 1.5%
  36. 36. The bigger your engaged audience the more successful your content campaigns will be. #INBOUND14 Distribution Channels Available Audience Engagemen t (CTR) Engaged Audience Blog 50,000 6% 3,000 Email 10,000 3% 300 Facebook 8,000 2.5% 200 Twitter 1,000 0.5% 5 Co-promote 30,000 1.5% 450
  37. 37. Segmenting your data like this can help you make better decisions about your promotion plan. #INBOUND14
  38. 38. #INBOUND14 The Art
  39. 39. #INBOUND14 In HubSpot, production and promotion are treated equally. If we spend 10 hours creating a piece of content, we spend at least that amount of time on the promotion of it.
  40. 40. There are 3 key parts in the launch of any content campaign: Prior to Launch Week of Launch Ongoing #INBOUND14
  41. 41. #INBOUND14 Prior to Launch #1
  42. 42. The best promotion plan in the world can’t save bad content. #INBOUND14 Even if you are a distribution ninja, you can’t save content that sucks.
  43. 43. #INBOUND14 You need to ask: Who are we targeting with this content? Why are they going to love this content? What action do I want them to take? How will they find it? Why would they share it with their friends?
  44. 44. #INBOUND14
  45. 45. #INBOUND14 Gather insights to make your content better. There is a lot of data we can use that will help us publish content that is more likely to get shared.
  46. 46. Socialcrawlytics identifies your competitors’ best content and top performing social networks. #INBOUND14
  47. 47. Buzzsumo will show the most popular content for chosen keywords and selected domains. #INBOUND14
  48. 48. It has an alerts feature that will tell you when content from selected domains is getting shared a lot. #INBOUND14
  49. 49. Open Site Explorer will let you see what content from competitors is getting linked to most. #INBOUND14
  50. 50. Quora can help you find questions on relevant topics that have gotten a lot of engagement. #INBOUND14
  51. 51. #INBOUND14 Get Advanced! Using free tools to scrape information from websites.
  52. 52. On average what content categories result in the most social shares on Moz? #INBOUND14
  53. 53. On average what content categories result in the most thumbs up on Moz? #INBOUND14
  54. 54. On average what content categories result in the most thumbs up on Moz? #INBOUND14 If you want to try it, read this post. http://bit.ly/1nbdDp1
  55. 55. #INBOUND14 Consider your promotion plan before ever hitting publish. What can you include in your content that will help it get shared more widely?
  56. 56. #INBOUND14 Have industry experts provide quotes and commentary for your content.
  57. 57. #INBOUND14 This will help it get a lot more shares.
  58. 58. #INBOUND14 Include some unique data in your content.
  59. 59. It will help generate more shares and engagement. #INBOUND14
  60. 60. Co-create content. There needs to be value for all parties. #INBOUND14
  61. 61. Create your outreach lists well in advance of your launch. #INBOUND14 The more time and effort you put into choosing the right people for your outreach lists, the better your results will be.
  62. 62. Find ways to split your bloggers & experts into tiers. #INBOUND14
  63. 63. #INBOUND14 Create a promotional pack for your high priority bloggers. Help them to look awesome.
  64. 64. #INBOUND14 Create a promotional pack for your high priority bloggers. Help them to look awesome.
  65. 65. #INBOUND14 Prepare email templates for your different tiers. Outreach is time consuming. You want to have templates that convert well and can be easily reused by your team.
  66. 66. The Pre-Launch Checklist #INBOUND14 Ask the right questions Gather insights Plan promotion early (quotes, stats, data, co-create content). Create outreach lists (break them into tiers) Create blogger promotional packs Prepare email templates
  67. 67. #INBOUND14 #2 Week of Launch
  68. 68. #INBOUND14 Do a soft launch of your content. Start by seeding the promotional packs to your priority list. Make them look good by letting them leverage the most valuable parts of your content first.
  69. 69. #INBOUND14 Then make your big splash! Your campaign’s main launch should be treated as rigorously as a product launch. All your efforts should be heavily coordinated.
  70. 70. #INBOUND14 Make sure your launch email is successful. Yeah, email is still a really important distribution channel in 2014.
  71. 71. #INBOUND14
  72. 72. #INBOUND14 1. Consistent branding ensures the receiver knows who it’s from.
  73. 73. #INBOUND14 2. Have a clear value proposition.
  74. 74. #INBOUND14 3. Dominant call-to-action (CTA).
  75. 75. #INBOUND14 4. Include a relevant image.
  76. 76. #INBOUND14 5. Make it easy to share.
  77. 77. #INBOUND14 6. The personal touch really helps.
  78. 78. #INBOUND14 Make sure your launch email is successful. 1. Consistent branding 2. Clear value proposition 3. Dominant call-to-actions (CTAs) 4. Include a relevant image 5. Make it easy to share 6. Personal touches really help
  79. 79. #INBOUND14 Launch your content on Facebook. You can only launch the content once on Facebook, so make it good.
  80. 80. Use an image. Photos generate 53% more likes & 104% more comments than the average post. Source: http://bit.ly/ITzLHt #INBOUND14
  81. 81. Keep your post length short. They result in better engagement. Source http://bit.ly/1k8Bomc #INBOUND14
  82. 82. #INBOUND14 Launch your content on LinkedIn. LinkedIn is increasingly becoming a platform that has content and user engagement at the heart of it.
  83. 83. Follow the same guidelines you used to post on Facebook. #INBOUND14
  84. 84. Use LinkedIn groups and blog posts to help promote that update. #INBOUND14
  85. 85. Use LinkedIn groups and blog posts to help promote that update. #INBOUND14 There are 200 conversations taking place per minute in these groups. http://bit.ly/1nwvJCr
  86. 86. #INBOUND14 Organic promotion on Twitter. Unlike other social networks, promoting the same content a number of times is a good thing on Twitter.
  87. 87. The life of a tweet is really short. 18 minutes of potential. Source: http://bit.ly/OdCfTL #INBOUND14
  88. 88. #INBOUND14 Use Followerwonk to analyse when your followers are online.
  89. 89. #INBOUND14 Use a tool like Social Inbox to schedule tweets for those times across the week.
  90. 90. Tweets with visuals have 5x more engagement when compared to text-based tweets. Source: http://bit.ly/1heAEWw #INBOUND14
  91. 91. There is a 17% increase in retweets when you include a stat. Source: http://bit.ly/1lTruRq #INBOUND14
  92. 92. Even better, include an easy way for people to tweet stats from the blog posts launching the campaign. #INBOUND14
  93. 93. There is a 19% increase in retweets when you include a quote. Source: http://bit.ly/1lTruRq #INBOUND14
  94. 94. #INBOUND14 Paid Content amplification Sheeedilnpg cson.tent through paid channels is a great way to get an initial bump in interest. But remember, great promotion can’t save sucky content.
  95. 95. #INBOUND14 For paid Twitter ads the same rules apply. Remember: Visuals in tweets have 5x engagement Stats get 17% more retweets Quotes get 19% more retweets
  96. 96. #INBOUND14 These are real people actually sharing our paid ad.
  97. 97. #INBOUND14 Experiment with your targeting. 1.23% 0.79% 1.40% 1.20% 1.00% 0.80% 0.60% 0.40% 0.20% 0.00% Twitter Engagement Increase by 55% Niche Broad
  98. 98. Find niche topic experts to target, and then target their audience. #INBOUND14
  99. 99. Find niche topical experts to target and then target their audience. #INBOUND14
  100. 100. Facebook has a lot of targeting options. You need to invest a lot of time & effort Test different ad placements & formats Test different audiences to target Yes, that’s a whole lot of testing  #INBOUND14
  101. 101. #INBOUND14 Certain Facebook ads are better for content amplification. Right-Hand Column Low performance & price. Good for retargeting.
  102. 102. #INBOUND14 Certain Facebook ads are better for content amplification. News Feed Highest CTR & Engagement. Far better ad type for content amplification as it can generate additional organic results.
  103. 103. Custom Audiences allow you to get more granular with your targeting. #INBOUND14 [To Add]
  104. 104. Target by interest lists to get your content seen by the right people. #INBOUND14
  105. 105. #INBOUND14 On LinkedIn keep your target audience really tight. Clicks are costly so narrow down your audience Create 8 sets of ads and continually refresh them Like Facebook, keep testing ads & targeting
  106. 106. Keep targeting really tight on LinkedIn, your cost per click tends to be higher. #INBOUND14 [To Add]
  107. 107. #INBOUND14 There are a growing list of options for paid content amplification. StumbleUpon Paid Discovery Reddit’s Self Serve Platform Outbrain & Taboola Content Discovery Platform
  108. 108. Leverage your online web real estate to promote your content. #INBOUND14
  109. 109. Don’t forget there is a good chance your customers already like you and will share your content. #INBOUND14
  110. 110. #INBOUND14 Guest blogging isn’t dead. Look for opportunities to create valuable content for blogs within your industry to help promote your content campaigns.
  111. 111. #INBOUND14 Bufferapp wrote 60 guest posts that helped them generate 100,000 customers.
  112. 112. There is a growing number of platforms you can add valuable content to. #INBOUND14
  113. 113. #INBOUND14 Complete the rest of your outreach for the lists you created in the pre-launch phase.
  114. 114. #INBOUND14 Remember, that’s all to be executed in the week of lYaou uwannt cto hcre.ate as much interest as possible in that first week. The quality of your content will then ensure that interest gathers pace organically.
  115. 115. #INBOUND14 The Week Of Checklist Launch email Launch on social (organic) Content amplification (paid) Promote across online real estate Guest blogging opportunities Complete outreach
  116. 116. #INBOUND14 Ongoing #3
  117. 117. #INBOUND14 Don’t just love your content for a week and never think about it again.
  118. 118. #INBOUND14 There is a whole lot of leverage in re-promoting your content.
  119. 119. Look at content that has performed well and where opportunities to repurpose exist. #INBOUND14
  120. 120. You can leverage existing content that has already proved to be popular. #INBOUND14 Extra leverage from existing content.
  121. 121. #INBOUND14 Look for opportunities to improve the organic performance of that content.
  122. 122. #INBOUND14 The Ongoing Checklist Create content leaderboard Revamp popular content Optimise historical content
  123. 123. #INBOUND14 Now put it all together …
  124. 124. #INBOUND14 Plan for goals & metrics
  125. 125. #INBOUND14 Prior to Launch • Ask the right questions • Gather insights • Plan promotion early (quotes, stats, data, co-create content) • Create outreach lists (break into tiers) • Create blogger promotional packs • Prepare email templates Plan for goals & metrics
  126. 126. #INBOUND14 Prior to Launch • Ask the right questions • Gather insights • Plan promotion early (quotes, stats, data, co-create content) • Create outreach lists (break into tiers) • Create blogger promotional packs • Prepare email templates Plan for goals & metrics Week of Launch • Launch email • Launch on social (organic) • Content Amplification (paid) • Promote across online real estate • Look for guest blogging opportunities • Complete outreach
  127. 127. #INBOUND14 Prior to Launch • Ask the right questions • Gather insights • Plan promotion early (quotes, stats, data, co-create content) • Create outreach lists (break into tiers) • Create blogger promotional packs • Prepare email templates Plan for goals & metrics Week of Launch • Launch email • Launch on social (organic) • Content Amplification (paid) • Promote across online real estate • Look for guest blogging opportunities • Complete outreach Ongoing • Content leaderboard • Content revamp • Optimise historical content
  128. 128. #INBOUND14

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