The Maltese Islands


Published on

Published in: Technology, Business
  • Be the first to comment

  • Be the first to like this

No Downloads
Total views
On SlideShare
From Embeds
Number of Embeds
Embeds 0
No embeds

No notes for slide

The Maltese Islands

  1. 1. The Maltese archipelago lies virtually at the centre of the Mediterranean, with Malta 93km south of Sicily and 288km north of Africa.
  2. 2. The archipelago consists of three islands: Malta, Gozo and Comino with a total population of 400,000 inhabitants over an area of 316sq km and a coastline of 196.8km (not including 56.01 km for the island of Gozo).
  3. 3. Malta is the largest island and the cultural, commercial and administrative centre. Marsaxlokk Valletta Maltese Flag
  4. 4. Gozo is the second largest island and is more rural, characterised by fishing, tourism, crafts and agriculture while Comino is largely uninhabited. Gozo
  5. 5. With superbly sunny weather, expansive beaches, a thriving nightlife and 7,000 years of intriguing history, there is a great deal to see and do. Here you find captivating places of interest such as the world famous Hypogeum selected as a place of World Heritage by UNESCO, prehistoric temples and grand palaces. Hagar Qim Temples
  6. 6. The long relationship between the Islanders and the various nationalities that occupied Malta over the centuries has created a marriage of styles and traditions, giving the Islands a fascinating eclectic culture. Mosta Mdina Valletta Marsaxlokk Public Transport
  7. 7. The national languages are English and Maltese. The unit of currency is currently the Maltese Lira (Lm), with a central parity rate against the euro of 0.429300. Mdina
  8. 8. Malta and Gozo have been inhabited for the past 7,000 years. The two islands have a long and varied prehistoric period: Neolithic, Copper and Bronze age civilisations lasted more than 4,000 years; one can still admire the stone temples, a unique hypogeum and remains of skilful handicrafts. The first known people to settle in Malta were the Phoenicians, who reached these shores on their trading ventures in the 9th century BC. They were succeeded by their Punic kinsmen, the Carthaginians, who were eventually conquered by the Romans in the 3rd century BC. The Romans governed these islands until the division of the Roman Empire in the 4th century AD.
  9. 9. Arabs from North Africa occupied the Islands from the 9th to the 13th century and when the last Arab rulers were driven out in the year 1249, they left behind them notable imprints of their culture on the language of the Maltese people. After the Norman overlords, Swabian and Angevin dynasties ruled for brief periods. At the beginning of the 14th century, the Islands fell under the Aragonese domination. In 1530, the King of Spain, Emperor Charles V, granted the Islands on fief to the Order of the Knights of St John of Jerusalem. The Knights administered the Islands for 268 years until 1798, when Napoleon Bonaparte drove them from these shores and occupied the country in the name of the French Republic.
  10. 10. Following a brief occupation the French were forced to surrender after two years of a land and sea blockade by combined British and Maltese forces, and in 1800, Malta became a part of the British Empire. In 1964, Malta attained independence and ten years later, in 1974, it was declared a Republic within the Commonwealth. The people of these Islands speak their own tongue - Maltese, a language of Semitic origin. English is the second language, however Italian, French and German are also widely spoken in Malta and Gozo.
  11. 11. Msida
  12. 12. Floriana
  13. 13. Valletta
  14. 14. Valletta
  15. 15. St John's Cathedral in Valletta
  16. 16. Malta surrounded by the sea