Layers of ocean


Published on

Published in: Business, Technology
  • Be the first to comment

Layers of ocean

  2. 2. THE EPIPELAGIC OR THE SUNLIGHT ZONE • Epipelagic or the Sunlight Zone- The very first layer is most commonly called the Sunlight zone but its scientific name is the Epipelagic Zone. This zone starts at the surface of the sea and extends 656 feet deep (200 meters). This zone is the lightest zone, that's why it's called the Sunlight Zone. Since the sun shines on this layer the most the water is very warm. Most plants and animals spend there lives upon this layer. Most sharks are found in this zone as well.
  3. 3. THE MESOPELAGIC OR TWILIGHT ZONE • Mesopelagic or Twilight Zone- The zone below the Sunlight Zone is title the Twilight or Mesopelagic Zone. This zone is 600-3,300 feet. The water temperature is cooler than the twilight zone and can get as cold as 41 degrees F. Very littlie light reaches this zone so it is relatively cold. In this zone we start to see the "twinkling" lights of the bioluminescent creatures. A variety of unusual creatures can be found in this zone.
  4. 4. THE BATHYPELAGIC OR THE DARK ZONE • Bathypelagic or the Dark Zone- This next zone is darker, colder, and scarier than the other two. It extends from 1000 meters to 4000 meters deep!!! The only light that is visible is created by the creatures that live down there. Even though the water pressure down there is massive, a surprising amount of sea animals can be found in this layer. Many Sperm Whales dive down to this layer in search for food. Many animals that live in this layer are black or red due to the shortage of light. This zones temperature is 35 degrees F. little food can be found here.
  5. 5. THE ABYSSOPELAGIC OR ABYSS ZONE • Abyssopelagic or Abyss Zone- The fourth zone is named the Abyssopelagic Zone or the Abyss. It extends from 4000 meters to 6000 meters. The name, Abyssopelagic, comes from the Greek word meaning "no bottom." The water temperature is close to freezing and there is absolutely no light. Not many creatures live in this layer. The few that do live here are invertebrates such as squids. Interesting enough the mud that is on this layer is made from the small skeletons of the sea creatures that used to live here.
  6. 6. THE HADALPELAGIC OR TRENCHES ZONE • Hadalpelagic or Trenches Zone- The last zone that lays at the very, very, very, bottom of the ocean is the forbidden Hadalpelagic zone also called Trenches. This layer extends from 6000 meters to 10,000 meters.. These areas are usually found in deep water trenches and canyons. The water pressure is so high and the temperature is freezing. Despite these obstacles under sea life can be found here. Invertebrates such as star fish and tube worms are able to thrive in this layer. Other animals that may live in this layer must be adapted to the freezing temperature.