Exploring English Language Resources for Mexican Elementary and Middle School ESL Teachers

7,171 views

Published on

Published in: Education
0 Comments
3 Likes
Statistics
Notes
  • Be the first to comment

No Downloads
Views
Total views
7,171
On SlideShare
0
From Embeds
0
Number of Embeds
2
Actions
Shares
0
Downloads
22
Comments
0
Likes
3
Embeds 0
No embeds

No notes for slide

Exploring English Language Resources for Mexican Elementary and Middle School ESL Teachers

  1. 1. Jesus Alonso-Regalado Exploring English-Language Resources for Mexican Elementary and Middle School ESL Teachers July 21, 25, 2013
  2. 2. Workshop Outline 1. Digital Libraries/Archives 2. Searching Tools & Repositories 3. Useful Websites: National & International 4. Images, Sounds, Video 5. ESL Websites 6. Webquests 7. Free English Dictionaries 8. Databases Specialized in Education 9. Learning Standards. American Association of School Librarians
  3. 3. Digital Libraries/Archives  World Digital Library http://www.wdl.org/en/  Digital Public Library of America http://dp.la/  International Children’s Digital Library http://en.childrenslibrary.org/  StoryPlace. The Children’s Digital Library: http://www.storyplace.org/storyplace.asp  Digital Comic Museum http://digitalcomicmuseum.com/
  4. 4. Library of Congress Major Digital Libraries/Archives  Teacher Resources http://www.loc.gov/teachers/  Classroom Materials http://www.loc.gov/teachers/classroommaterials  Other Useful LC Resources:  America’s Story http://www.americaslibrary.gov/  Everyday Mysteries http://www.loc.gov/rr/scitech/mysteries/  Hispanic Division http://www.loc.gov/rr/hispanic/
  5. 5. Searching Tools & Repositories  Kidrex http://www.kidrex.org/  KidsClick http://www.kidsclick.org/  Internet Public Library. Ipl2 for Kids http://www.ipl.org/div/kidspace/  Wikimedia Commons http://commons.wikimedia.org  Search Creative Commons http://search.creativecommons.org/
  6. 6. Useful Websites National & International  EDSITEment! National Endowment for the Humanities http://edsitement.neh.gov/  New York Public Library. Websites for Kids http://kids.nypl.org/websites-for-kids  Smithsonian Kids http://www.si.edu/Kids  Cyberschoolbus. United Nations http://www.un.org/Pubs/CyberSchoolBus/
  7. 7. Images, Sound, Video  REALIA project http://www.realiaproject.org/  Panoramio http://www.panoramio.com/  Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection http://www.lib.utexas.edu/maps/  Smithsonian Folkways http://www.folkways.si.edu  Tell Me a Story. Fingerplays, Rhymes and Songs http://wiki.kcls.org/tellmeastory/index.php/Fingerplays,_Rhymes_and_Songs  PBS Kids http://pbskids.org/
  8. 8. Specialized ESL Websites (I)  Learn English Kids (British Council) http://learnenglishkids.britishcouncil.org/en/  Teaching English (British Council/BBC) http://www.teachingenglish.org.uk/  English Central http://www.englishcentral.com/  Colorin Colorado http://www.colorincolorado.org/
  9. 9. Specialized ESL Websites (II)  Internet TESL Journal Links Page http://iteslj.org/links/  ESL Gold http://www.eslgold.com/  Randall’s ESL Cyber Listening Lab http://www.esl-lab.com/  English as a Second Language Online http://www.usingenglish.com/  EverythingESL.net http://www.everythingesl.net/  Learn English Using Online Resources. NYPL http://www.nypl.org/help/community-outreach/immigrant-services/learn-esol-online- resources
  10. 10. Webquests  Zunal http://www.zunal.com/
  11. 11. Free English Dictionaries  Learners Dictionary – Merriam Webster http://www.learnersdictionary.com/  Forvo http://www.forvo.com Offers pronunciations for over 1 million words in many languages  Pronny http://www.rightpronunciation.com Pronny gives you the right pronunciation of important names belonging to the major languages of the world  Rhyme Zone http://www.rhymezone.com/  Visual Dictionaries
  12. 12. Databases Specialized in Education  By Subscription: Education Full Text, PsycINFO, ERIC, Education Research Complete, OECD iLibrary, Education Source  Free: ERIC (Limited full text availability) http://www.eric.ed.gov/
  13. 13. Learning Standards American Association of School Librarians (AASL)  AASL Standards for the 21st-Century Learner http://www.ala.org/aasl/standards-guidelines/learning-standards  Lesson Plan Database http://aasl.jesandco.org/  English Language Arts http://www.ala.org/aasl/guidelinesandstandards/commoncorecrosswalk/english The following page include tables that help school librarians learn how the AASL Standards for the 21st-Century Learner and the Common Core State Standards align for English Language Arts.  Best Apps for Teaching & Learning http://www.ala.org/aasl/standards-guidelines/best-apps  Best Websites for Teaching & Learning http://www.ala.org/aasl/standards-guidelines/best-websites/2013

×